We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Weeks Was Not Enough Time!”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2011

This was our 3rd stay at the Cabo Azul Resort. We hosted our family (12 people), and could not have had a better time! The service, the cleanliness, the food, the spa, the beautiful villas, pools and surrounding areas all contributed to making this the most wonderful Christmas! Our family could not believe what a spectacular property this was when they arrived. When we asked family members if they would like to go on excursions or go fishing, they said no, they didn't want to leave the resort! The Cabo Azul had so many fun activities - cookie decorating and kid's club, beach party, themed restaurant nights, etc. for the holidays. This resort prides itself in it's attention to detail. At all times (including 2:00 in the morning, when I went outside to look out over the balcony!) there is staff maintaining the property - from the landscaping to washing and replacing the 100 terry cloth lounge covers, to making sure there is not one piece of paper or a leaf lying on the ground. We have made so many friends because of the warm nature of each employee - maids, food and towel service, bartenders, etc. all go out of their way to make sure you have what you need while staying at the resort. We have stayed at other places in Mexico, but none compare to the Cabo Azul. We are scheduling dates already for our next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goingtoahukilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
There are newer reviews for Cabo Azul Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,488 - 1,494 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

I just spent a week at Cabo Azul Resorts and all I can say is AWESOME!!! Fantastic location on the beach with an unobstructed view of the Sea of Cortez. The amenities were superb--zero complaints. i can NOT wait to get back!!! My family stayed on an additional week. The Spa (Paz) was perfect, the pools are incredible and the service is aces! It is worth the time and money! Go and enjoy, you can completely slip away into a vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATCTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abeyta_CLD, Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Thank you for the wonderful / glowing review of Cabo Azul Resort. We are certainly thrilled that you enjoyed your holiday vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Just got back from Dec 18 to Dec 25. Service is great. Pool manager walks the poll decks and beach like a hawk. Before a leaf drops, he has someone picking it up. We had a blender that blew up, got replaced in 2 minutes, Maid was there every day to change sheets and sweep. We took the tour for $250 off bill. Free internet if you bring a computer, but also has internet cafe open 7am-11 pm. Got room on ground floor with no view since we had 3 kids, so pool access was key. Loved the quiet court yard area for kids to play. Get to pool early if want one of 4 king size beds in the pool area. Pods at pool side are best things since oxygen. Most use for kids cribs. Memory foam beds inside pods. Unreal idea. rooms are dark as lighting is minimal. Bus cost is 7 pesos to get into town of San Jose. Great food in town such as Don Sanchez and Mia Casa. Mega mart is "walmart" right up the road for all food booze and boogie boards. Ocean is good to swim in at low tides. We swam three times a day in the ocean for a week. Juts use common sense and respect the size of the waves. No real undertow, or rip tides. Safer at low tide than high tide due to slope of beach. Go for a horse ride on the beach. Cheap and friendly. Food is expensive and so are drinks. Happy hour is 3-5 for 2x1. You can get dollar beers all day in town. case of beer at Mega is about $15. Take bus to Mega (bus picks you up outside hotel gate, just raise hand when the school bus goes by). You can take cab back or bus back with food and drink. Units have full kitchens with oven microwaves, and dishwasher. Refrigerator and freezer are big. We had 7 people and food for a week fit. We had breakfast and lunch in the room and saved a bundle. Very safe town and resort. The have caldrons of fire at night all over the resort. Enjoy. Taxi to airport is $20.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank a11tre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We were so excited to stay at this 5 star resort and read all the great reviews. We arrived December 4, 2010 for 1 week of bliss. We woke up to cockroachs in our kitchen the first night. My wife and I freaked as we had never seen them before. I requested to talk to Sean the General Manager and was promised he would contact me. We received no response from Sean. If I was manager of this resort and heard a guest had cockroachs in their room, I would be the first person there to investigate. Sean did not even give us a phone call. For the amount of money you pay for room, drinks, and food, you can do alot better at other resorts. Until there is new management we will not stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrmuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abeyta_CLD, VP of Corporate Marketing at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2010

Cabo Azul Resort, as well as all fine resorts in the area, are very cognizant of the local inhabitants (roaches). As the warm and dry climate of Los Cabos is where they thrive, we do everything we can to minimize their impact on a guest's vacation experience. Every once in a while, roaches, and other insects will appear in the room and on the grounds. We encourage all guests to contact housekeeping if there are any issues with their room.

Pacific Monarch Resorts, Cabo Azul Resort, and our resort General Managers empower all levels of staff and management to address issues judiciously so the guest are inconvenienced for the shortest amount of time. As to this particular complaint, our team was proactive with the client and tried to appease the unpleasant situation when it arose.

Thank you for posting a candid review. This will help us in better servicing our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

This hotel is quite beautiful and the suites are spacious. We stayed in a 1-bdrm suite and really enjoyed it. Very comfortable room, nice appliances, balcony, and very quiet. My complaint is the food- I was not impressed with the restaurants at all. But it's easy to go out. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trixie064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We had never been to Mexico and were a little worried; but for nothing. We went down for a four-day wedding celebration and the resort was everything and more that the website pictures portray. Our King room was huge and had a big flat screen TV, which was important to my husband.
The staff was very warm and friendly and there was no pressure to look at the time-shares; in fact, they didn't even mention it, which surprised us.
The 3 pools flow into one another and people laid around on the big platform beds and were able to eat, drink since the bar and restaurant is right there.
We walked down the beach for miles and watched the surfers and no one bothered us.
The best thing I can say is that it's Paradise and we're planning on going back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaMiaCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I was here for a wedding and had shared a 1 bedroom suite villa with my spouse and a friend. The location was perfect for a destination wedding and most guests stayed at the resort, which is mainly a time share. The 3 tiered pool is amazing and proximity of the beach is convenient. It was a great sunny getaway, especially away from the northeast cold. Room service and concierge was average. The first night we were there we asked for bottled water to purchase at 11pm and the front desk didn't have any! We had to boil tap water. Also, since I was there for a wedding the bridal party made reservations for a bachelorette party at a club in the main area of Cabo. We arrived at the club and it was actually closed. The hotel had thought the reservation was the day after, even though we had a confirmation email saying the day we went. So, customer service wasn't 100% on point. Overall though, I would definitely stay again. The hotel accommodations were beautfiul and staff was hospitable as can be. Although be prepared to deal with salespeople to try to sell time shares or activities.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdlphn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,157 reviews
14.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,218 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
636 reviews
2.6 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,343 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £131 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing