We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GRAND Mayan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just returned from two weeks at the Grand Mayan Los Cabos. We absolutely loved it. All rooms there have a beach/pool view. The town of San Jose is just a short walk up the street from the Grand Mayan. There you will find lots of shops and restaurants. The staff and service at the Grand Mayan are second to none. The only disappointment was there were no chairs/palapas on the beach. We were told the the riptides were too strong so swimming in the water was not recommended. However, the pools were fantastic. The Mexican Fiesta was a great time. The staff at the activity stand made sure to keep people involved in all sorts of activities. Highlight of our trip was the sunset cruise on the Cabo Rey.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor or higher have a better view over the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spkinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

great resort expensive food,cold pool, but nice rooms and grounds.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chet1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at the Grand Mayan in San Jose in early September and had a wonderful stay. Check-in was quick and easy -- we did get asked to go to a timeshare presentation, but declined. During the week, we were asked several more times by various staff, but a simple "no gracias" brought no additional pressure. The room we booked via an RCI exchange through our Worldmark membership was a beautiful 1-bedroom suite with an enormous bathroom, comfortable bedroom with adjacent whirlpool tub, full living room, dining area and kitchen with stovetop, microwave and smallish, but more than adequate refrigerator. We stocked up with groceries from the nearby Mega store and prepared about half our meals in our suite. We ate a couple meals at the "OK, but not exciting" cafes (can't really call the restaurants) and enjoyed a number of San Jose's wonderful dining choices. Our second-floor balcony/patio also had a private plunge pool. It was in the shade almost entirely throughout the day so it never warmed up enough to be comfortable for a leisurley soak. The outdoor pool complex, however, is incredible. There are three large pools, linked together -- from the giant pool closest to the main building, with a giant fountain (the spray is high enough and full enough to provide shade from the sun during the day), the middle pool which often offered water activities and a swim-up bar, and the infinity pool by the beach. We never felt crowded by the pool -- always plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas in any section you wanted. Comfy covered lounging bed cabanas for the ultimate in luxurious relaxation. Pool attendants and waiters were always available to take a drink or snack order. Pool bar had a couple of 2 for 1 happy hours each day and drinks were very good! Nothing like leaning on the edge of the infinity pool with a double mojito, watching and listening to the huge waves crashing on the shore. Maid serviice was excellent throughout and very unobtrusive, Tip them well because they do a great job! Really no complaints -- the only thing I'd do better if I owned the place would be to get at least one or two good "fine dining" restaurants on site. The quality of the rooms and the gorgeous pools would rank the Grand Mayan among Los Cabos' bests if there were first-rate meal options. I'm just sorry that with our RCI exchange, we can't go back for another 3 years.

Room Tip: The higher the better view of the pools and ocean. We were on the second floor and view was juct OK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank OregonJohn97338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The Grand Mayan is delightful. Suites are spacious and well-appointed. The staff is helpful, friendly, and attentive. Pools are lovely and the view of the ocean and beach are spectacular. The town of San Jose is quaint and easily accessible. Restaurants there are excellent and prices are quite reasonable. Excursions to nearby Las Cabos include whale watching and boat tours of the breathtaking Lands End rock formations, complete with thriving sea lion colony. Weather is warm and pleasant with cool evening breezes. Well worth the trip!

Room Tip: Definitely go for ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We spent a week at the Grand Mayan in December during Christmas week. We really enjoyed our time here.

We booked a 2 bedroom using RCI and we were thrilled to see the large rooms and updated kitchen. We had a huge balcony with a pool too. The beds were a little hard and the pillows were a little flat, but hey, we were on vacation in Mexico. The bathrooms were huge and beautiful. We were on the 3rd floor and had a nice view of the pool and ocean. The Grand Mayan is on a lovely beach that is great for walking. They said it was unsafe to swim in the ocean, but we saw many local people doing it. You would just have to be aware and check it out before going in.

We went to the Mega store to buy groceries. It is about a 15 - 20 minute walk to the Mega. The kitchen has a smaller refigerator, but it worked out fine. We would cook breakfast and have snacks during the day. We would walk in to San Jose Del Cabo for dinner. We enjoyed the 15 - 20 minutes walk in to town and back. You can take a cab for 50 pesos or $5 USD. The hotel staff will send you to restaurants that are mainly for gringos, so look in to the other options for dining on your own.

The staff works all the time cleaning and repairing. They will always stop to say " hola" and give you a smile. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful too. The check in and check out was quick and easy. They only talked to us once about taking the timeshare tour.

The spa was nice too. You can use the hydrotherapy area even if you don't get a spa treatment.

The only negative thing was that the pools were unheated and it was too cold to go in to the water. We were warned about this before we left, so we were prepared for it. It was still nice to sit beside the pool and relax.

We would go back to the Grand Mayan in the future. We liked that it was a smaller resort and you didn't have to walk for miles back to the room, if you forgot something.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isoyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We spent a week at the Grand Mayan in Spetember/October 2011 for our honeymoon. The resort is beautiful and very well kept. The hotel staff were friendly originally and very welcoming.

We were already member of a time share company so thought we would not have any problems with going to presentations, however we were very much mistaken. The customer service rep when we checked in invited us to a free breaky with some great specials if we went to a "quick" presentation about the resort. She said quick because she knew we were already member and were on our honeymoon so we agreed. Once we got to the presentation we advised our presenter we were not intersted in buying and that we were on our honeymoon. He assured us he wouldnt keep us long. After two and a half hours we were still there and had spoken to 3 reps from the Vida vacation company. We were told that because we werent buying that we had to work for them for 6 months and that we were "Stubborn Aussies". I had to stand up and tell them we were not interested in buying and that i was leaving. I had to storm out to get away from the arrogant stuck up representatives.

This ruined our stay at the Grand Mayan. To top it off when we checked out there was over $500 worth of room service and pool bar drinks on our bill that were not ours. They assured us that the money would be refuned within 2 days. It took 4 weeks and 3 phone calls from Australia to get them to refund the money!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmclac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The two giant statues that greet you at the entrance are impressive. The rest of our stay continued in the same fashion.

The rooms were spacey and comfortable. A lot of balcony to spend as much time as possible soaking up the wonderful weather.

Staff is very friendly and attentive to any questions or needs that arise.

Thank you to the activity staff to have kept our little ones smiling!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,800 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#18 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,417 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,400 reviews
8.3 mi away
Grand Velas Los Cabos
Grand Velas Los Cabos
#1 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing