We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishermen Beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Broomfield, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fishermen Beware!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We spent a week at the Grand Mayan in San Jose del Cabo recently. Let me start with the good stuff: lovely, clean, comfortable, well maintained accommodations. Friendly staff, close proximity to variety of good restaurants and town too. Relaxing pool area.....it goes on and on.

The problem? They charged us 990 pesos $99 US at their exchange rate to store our freshly caught, filleted, frozen fish in their kitchen freezer for the week we were guests. We have traveled to the Baja area many times over a number of years. We have stayed in several different hotels and most of the time have fish to store in the freezer. Never before have we been charged to store fresh fish.

Despite all the positives of the Grand Mayan, we have NO plans to ever return there. Fishermen beware!

Room Tip: The spa though small is luxious. Rooms all seem to have some ocean view. They turn down the beds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JP R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    332
    104
    50
    74
See reviews for
315
470
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osceola, WI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Spent four weeks at the Grand Mayan in San Jose del Cabo. Easily the nicest Grand Mayan we have been to. Very plush. Fantastic views of the beach, surrounding town, mountains, and ocean. Wide decks where you can sit outside and enjoy meals-sunsets-sunrises, etc. The staff was great. Very friendly. The rooms were great. Very clean. Loved the decorating.

Loved San Jose del Cabo. If you want to see more of Mexico and its people and culture come here. It is quieter than its neighbor Cabo San Lucas. Loved the weather. Many people from the West Coast of the US commented on it being cool. My wife and I are from Wisconsin and could not believe how nice it was. Mostly in the high 70's and low 80's.

There are also great volunteering opportunities in Los Cabos. If you want to help with your time or donate funds please find the Cabo English Church in Cabo San Lucas. This church has a food ministry in the barrios. Great people - great staff. There is also a school in San Jose del Cabo called, Instituto Internacional Libertad that works in the local barrios as well. Both are great places.

Looking forward to coming back next year for a longer period of time. Adios Los Cabos!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Retiredreviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We own a two bedroom grand bliss, which is not built yet in Cabo. We tried to get a one bedroom, and ended up with a studio. There are no amenities in a grand Mayan studio. No coffee maker, refrigerator or microwave. So do not book one if you are expecting to have those things. It has a wonderful location and is easy walk to restaurants in San Jose. The property is lovely. The timeshare presentations are never 90 minutes. This is a small resort and well suited for adults rather thanks likes with little ones. Not much for kids to do. San Jose is not a party town. If that is what you want to do San Lucas is much better suited for partying. Weather is cooler than usual right now. Since we were here last they have added a heater to the pool bar swimming area. It was 88 degrees yesterday in that pool. Much warmer than it used to be.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Another great time at the Mayan resort. This was our third Mayan resort visited and we were not disappointed. Beautiful clean facility with excellent service by all staff. Everyone was so freindly and helpful especially Oscar & Moises. They made our stay that much better. The only issue for folks staying there in winter months is the cold water in the pools. One of the things we enjoyed at other Mayan Resorts was hanging in the pool bars meeting other people. Just couldn't do it regardless of how many margeritas. Still highly recommend the resort it is high class and the local town was fun to visit. Dollar beers at Shooters if anyone is interested. About a 20 min walk from GM. Thanks again for a great time especially O&M.

Room Tip: This is a smaller Mayan so every room is convenient to pools and beach. Higher rooms have better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora Springs, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just returned from two weeks at the Grand Mayan Los Cabos. We absolutely loved it. All rooms there have a beach/pool view. The town of San Jose is just a short walk up the street from the Grand Mayan. There you will find lots of shops and restaurants. The staff and service at the Grand Mayan are second to none. The only disappointment was there were no chairs/palapas on the beach. We were told the the riptides were too strong so swimming in the water was not recommended. However, the pools were fantastic. The Mexican Fiesta was a great time. The staff at the activity stand made sure to keep people involved in all sorts of activities. Highlight of our trip was the sunset cruise on the Cabo Rey.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor or higher have a better view over the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spkinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

great resort expensive food,cold pool, but nice rooms and grounds.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chet1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
376 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at the Grand Mayan in San Jose in early September and had a wonderful stay. Check-in was quick and easy -- we did get asked to go to a timeshare presentation, but declined. During the week, we were asked several more times by various staff, but a simple "no gracias" brought no additional pressure. The room we booked via an RCI exchange through our Worldmark membership was a beautiful 1-bedroom suite with an enormous bathroom, comfortable bedroom with adjacent whirlpool tub, full living room, dining area and kitchen with stovetop, microwave and smallish, but more than adequate refrigerator. We stocked up with groceries from the nearby Mega store and prepared about half our meals in our suite. We ate a couple meals at the "OK, but not exciting" cafes (can't really call the restaurants) and enjoyed a number of San Jose's wonderful dining choices. Our second-floor balcony/patio also had a private plunge pool. It was in the shade almost entirely throughout the day so it never warmed up enough to be comfortable for a leisurley soak. The outdoor pool complex, however, is incredible. There are three large pools, linked together -- from the giant pool closest to the main building, with a giant fountain (the spray is high enough and full enough to provide shade from the sun during the day), the middle pool which often offered water activities and a swim-up bar, and the infinity pool by the beach. We never felt crowded by the pool -- always plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas in any section you wanted. Comfy covered lounging bed cabanas for the ultimate in luxurious relaxation. Pool attendants and waiters were always available to take a drink or snack order. Pool bar had a couple of 2 for 1 happy hours each day and drinks were very good! Nothing like leaning on the edge of the infinity pool with a double mojito, watching and listening to the huge waves crashing on the shore. Maid serviice was excellent throughout and very unobtrusive, Tip them well because they do a great job! Really no complaints -- the only thing I'd do better if I owned the place would be to get at least one or two good "fine dining" restaurants on site. The quality of the rooms and the gorgeous pools would rank the Grand Mayan among Los Cabos' bests if there were first-rate meal options. I'm just sorry that with our RCI exchange, we can't go back for another 3 years.

Room Tip: The higher the better view of the pools and ocean. We were on the second floor and view was juct OK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank OregonJohn97338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,314 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Property: The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing