We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We went to the Grand Mayan Los Cabos from 5/23-5/28 and loved loved loved it.
They said they were 90% booked, but like everyone has already mentioned, it didn't seem too crowded. I loved the fact that it was intimate, small and you could always find a cabana. We stayed at the Grand Mayan in Cancun and loved it too, but you had to get to the pool early to find an empty cabana and it was really really big and crowded. I actually liked this one better.

We did do the timeshare presentation and it was totally worth it. Breakfast was good. The credit and 10% discount was nice. The presentation only lasted about an hour since we were very sure we would not be upgrading at this time.

And the hostesses were very informative and nice. Melissa and Barbara are the best! Not too pushy, but helpful instead.

The food here is EXCELLENT. The buffets are sooo worth the expense. Not cheap, but I found that San Jose was just as expensive if you add salads and dessert. Italian night was awesome. For 27 pesos, you got all you can eat filet mignon that was excellent, pasta, good dessert, salads and fruits. We found that at the end, the cost was about the same as eating out.
We went to Habaneros, Los herrandes, and Tropicana, and the total bill was similar. We didn't have dessert and shared one appetizer. Of course, ordering drinks added to the total cost..but we decided to do without the drinks and just have the buffet for the same price. Plus, none of us enjoyed the food at Habaneros and Las Herranderas(sp?). Tropicana was good though.

All in all, I highly recommend the Grand Mayan and their restaurants~

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank luvethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2008

My husband and I travel extensively and would not hestitate to recommend this resort. The food at PeriQ was top notch - the pools were beautiful and huge and the rooms were very upscale. Never once did you feel cramped or like you were in a large resort.

A bit of warning though... stay away from the people trying to help you right off the plane (just after customs) they are Timeshare folks. Also, after registering at the front desk we were sent to another greeter who gave us the low down on the resort and then afterwards tried to get us to go to the Timeshare breakfast in the morning. We said no - but other people we talked to said they did it and it lasted 4 hours (however, they were compensated for their time with a $300 coupon in the hotel). If this time away from your vacation is worth it - then get ready to bargain. We also ran into Timeshare people at the car rental place and the Mega. It almost became comical after a while!

My husband and i also rented a car and explored some very beautiful "swimmable" beaches.... check out Santa Maria, Chileano and Cabo Pulmo. All very nice - Cabo Pulmo is a 4wheel drive away but very worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nptucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Stayed at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos from 05/12-05/16 for my honeymoon. I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know. It was always clean the staff works 24/7 to maintain it that way. The food is pricey but excellent. The pool is huge and clean. We had a great view of the ocean from our room. I saw some reviews were people said that walls were thin. We never heard our neighbors and there were people staying there. When you do check in they do send you to someone that tells you about everything around town but they do try to make you go to a seminar and offer you $100 credit for going. We decided not to go because someone told us it was over 4 hours which they tell you is only 1 1/2 hours long and they try to presuade you to buy a timeshare. But, other than that it is was a incrediable time and would definietly stay there again. P.S when you get to the airport and are ready to exit to get a cab someone will stop you while your still inside and ask you if you need a cab and then they will direct you to someone else who will act like your friend and tell you about Los Cabos and thats when they try to get you to go to seminars etc. They will try to persuade you heavy. Just walk away. Outside is where the real cab drivers are.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank wifeyinluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

Stayed at the Grand Mayan 5/4-5/11. Rented a car at the airport. Look for the rental car kiosks. Check out the prices from them. We rented from Budget. $199 including tax for 1 week. Was cheapest. Used credit card and we declined rental insurance. Parking at the hotel is done by the valet. It's free, just tip them. Walked into a dark lobby with 2 gigantic statues of mayan gods and tribal drums playing in background. Quite a shock for your eyes going from bright sunlight to very dark area. I thought it was cool and unusual. You make a right and go to another large lobby for check in. Standard check in but then they hand you over to a "hostess" for hotel orientation. She'll try to have you attend timeshare presentation but we expressed no interest and she was actually wasn't that persistent. Actually was very nice (her name is Melissa and she will even give you a coupon for free appetizer at Habanero's restaurant). Our room was up on the 3rd floor, thus above the palm tree line. Great view of the pool and ocean. Stayed at a hotel room- no kitchenette. Room was beautiful- flat screen TV, jacuzzi tub, spacious sitting area and a very large balcony. No coffee maker though ("big complaint" since we are huge coffee drinkers) Have read comments about thin walls. We didn't hear our neighbors at all (we had neighbors on one side). Hotel ground beautifully maintained. 3 large pools- water temperature was not bad at this time of the year. Gym was free- has nautilus machines, dumbbells up to 50 lbs, 2 stationary bikes, 1 elliptical, 1 stairmaster and 3 treadmills. Free use of the steam room, hot tubs and sauna (separate facilities for men and women). Was planning on getting a massage at the spa ($100 for 50 minutes) but saw an open tent at the beach right by the lifeguard station. Got a massage there instead ($45 + tip for 1 hour, $40 pp for 2 people). That was AMAZING! Nothing like getting an open air massage with the waves lapping 20 feet from you. Very relaxing and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. The masseuse was great too. Beach is beautiful but we were warned against swimming due to the strong undertow. Dipped our feet- ocean water was cold. We stuck with the pool instead.
In San Jose, ate at Tropicana's (located right hand side of the road about a block from the plaza). Food was very good and band was great. Ate at Habanero's. Mexican Fusion cuisine. Also very good. Both restaurants were reasonably priced. Entrees around $15-20. Small cafe next to Habanero's also offer breakfast. Breakfast also available at Habanero's. It's located about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Located on left hand side of the road in a small strip mall that also has a bank and a pharmacy.
There is a big store called MEGA (think Superwalmart) that is not too far from Grand Mayan. I wouldn't recommend walking there from the hotel since you'll be lugging around bags of groceries and gallons of water.
Check out the view from the food court at that mall- overlooks the ocean! We bought our water, snacks and pastries at MEGA. Try the Tres Leches cakes--very delicious. They also sell prepared food. For lunch one day, we bought bbq chicken wings, spanish rice and whole fried fish for $6 total! Quite cheap! MEGA was clean and we didn't get sick, so that was good! We also bought a coffee maker there for $15- was so worth it for us! (We left it in the room for the maid)
Drove to Cabo San Lucas almost every night. Fairly easy drive, about 25 minutes away from San Jose. Parking by the marina is quite a [--] but we always lucked out in finding street parking. There were also parking lots for $2 only. Very active nightlife in San Lucas. Lots of restaurants/bars/clubs. (Cabo Wabo is owned by Sammy Hagar) Check out restaurant called Marisco Mazatlan. Was recommended by couple of workers at the hotel. Very delicious seafood platter for 2. Supposed to be more of a local place. Located about 2 blocks from Puerto Paraiso Mall. Look for the small statue of the Arch and head up 2 blocks inland. Restaurants right on the marina were a little pricey. Great to walk around the marina after dinner.
Drove up to town of Todos Santos about 1 hour north of Cabo. Drive up wasn't bad but I wouldn't do it at night. Very cute small town. Ate at the restaurant at the Hotel California (yes...THE Hotel California that was the inspiration for the Eagles song!!!). Food was great. Had the steak arrucheta (sp???)- very tender and tasty. Good margaritas too.
Booked a sunset catamaran cruise with the activities desk at the Mayan. Brochure said $39pp but we got billed $40 for 2 people. Wasn't sure if it was a mistake but we weren't gonna ask! Tour company was called ?spin doctor, and the catamaran was called "La Princesa". Booze included. Suppose to have "mexican snacks" but that's an overstretch for a bag of tortilla chips and some salsa! Cruise was great however. Great music, fun people, up close view of the Arch, seal colony and Lover's Beach. Was definitely worth $20 per person! Don't sit up front otherwise you'll get soaked and inadvertently be in an impromptu wet T shirt competition!
Overall, had a great time in Cabo. Grand Mayan was beautiful. Make sure you put a do not disturb sign before you go to bed (maid knocked 8:30 am one morning!!) Also, place the "maid service" sign in the evening so you get turned down service. There was some construction but we really didn't hear them pounding around until past 10am, which was very reasonable.
Pool service was spotty. Takes a while for you to find the waiter. Fairly expensive poolside. 1 can of beer and 1 ice tea cost us $10 and it wasn't even a long island ice tea! What can you do, you're in a resort, you pay resort prices! You can bring your orwn drinks but be discreet. They weren't that strict about it though. You can get lots of towels at the towel kiosk by the pool. Lots of lounge chairs available. Hotel never seemed like there were a lot of guests, so that was nice. Overall, very happy with the hotel.
Sorry for the long review. Hope this will help some people

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank AJCVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

The resort was beautiful and clean.

The resort also will email you a free transfer voucher from the airport to the resort if you ask them. Unfortunately, they don't have one for going back to the air port.

The staff was excellent and attentive.

The pools were warm now due to the sun. Everyone was in them. Even the plunge pools were warm enough to use.

The rooms and furniture were fine. We had a one bedroom. I did notice that the matress was extremely firm. I would have liked a softer matress. We did notice that the lock off (which were weren't using) wasn't sound proof and you could hear everyone's conversations.
We were the first unit on our floor, so we only had that problem on one side and that was next to the kitchen and dining/living room.

I liked the concept of the plunge pools on the balconies but I noticed that 1 out of every 3 units (not the top floors) had water drops leaking from the floor above. That could lead to a structural problem I would think.

The PeriQ restaurant had a wonderful meal. It was a little expensive but we are from New York City area and it was about the same prices as any fine restaurant in NYC.

We ate in San Jose a few times and enjoyed it. Habanaro's a few minute walk from the resort was very good and reasonably priced. Zipper's and Havana's were good and reasonable. They are close to San Jose on Highway 1.

We did one meal at the Westin Regina - a little expensive but up on the mountain over the water. Wondeful views. Breathtaking.

We rented a car as we were visiting a friend in the Cabo San Lucas area and the taxi fare was $35 each way. So it wound up cheaper to rent a car. Driving wasn't too bad. Cars are expensive because of the insurance requirements.

I didn't like the time share people. We weren't going to do any timeshare presentations as we have no intention of buying a time share. We have three and that is more than enough. BUT
the woman in the Grand Mayan talked us into it as she was from NYC also and asked us to do it.

They were very respectful but they are RELENTLESS. The 90 minute presentation turned into 3 hours. The cost went from
60,000 for a two bedroom to a $1,200 program that insured getting into a good resort. We were handed off to about three different sales persons - and we told each one up front we did not want to buy anything. Finally my husband told the woman that he would buy her a drink if only she would stop trying to sell us something.

I don't know if it was worth the "gifts". Probably not.

What was worse, was that every place you go - the mega store, The wharf, the street, the town, gift shops etc. the time share sharks are there and approach you. The airport had another pack of time share sharks.

There was one other problem that I noticed was that there were the children roaming the restaurants in Cabo San Lucas selling flowers and trinkets. If you bought from one, ten more appeared.
Nursing mother's sitting on the wharf selling trinkets. The last time I saw this was a few years ago in Tiajuana. We were in Cabo about four years ago and I didn't see any of this then.

San Jose is for people like us who are older and enjoy the quiet.
Cabo San Lucas is nice to visit a litle bit, but it's more for the young partyers.

We enjoyed it but probably won't go back becasue of the time share people. They evenutally become very very annoying.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank GreatGarloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

The resort was nicely landscaped and well maintained. The pools were not heated as previously stated by other reviewers. The hotel was fully booked but it didn't seem crowded at all. I liked the numerous pool-side lounge-beds and there were always availability.
The resort location was great since it is within walking distance to the town of San Jose del Cabo and the Mega store where we got some drinks, pastries and snacks.
The spa area was very nice and the gym was well equipped. I especially liked sitting by the firepits outside of the lobby area in the evenings.
The resort offers free use of lap top computers to access internet to check emails etc. (30 minutes time limit) Very convenient!
Overall, a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wander2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

The property is stunning. I stayed in a suite. Housing keeping was always on point. The Mayan restaurants were fantastic. Convenient to Grocery store by bus or taxi or walk. Must try local restaurant Habeneros for dinner get there early. Enjoyed the sunset dinner cruise Cabo Rey. Tip contact property to arrange courtesy airport transfers prior to arrival. This is a terrific place for a romantic getaway. Loved the cabanas by the pool and fire pits at night. Entire staff was terrific. There is a laundry room for your convenience. Will definitely stay there again.

The property next door Cabo Azul has a spa to die for. must try.

note: pools are not heated. and tide on beach dangerous.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onyourmark-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,803 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#18 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,426 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,402 reviews
8.3 mi away
Grand Velas Los Cabos
Grand Velas Los Cabos
#1 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing