We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property in Awesome Location with Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent Property in Awesome Location with Great Service”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Loved our recent vacation at the Grand Mayan which is not only located directly on the Sea of Cortez beaches but also an easy walk from the wonderful town of San Jose del Cabo. San Jose is charming with interesting restaurants and little shops. The Art District is thriving and the local residents are friendly and welcoming. We were treated extremely well by all staff members at The Grand Mayan. The pools are beautiful but neither the pools or the hot tubs are as warm as they should be for guest comfort. Other than the pool temperature, the only negative we noted was that for a resort of its caliber, the pool lounge chairs & cushions plus the unit deck furniture really needs to be replaced and upgraded.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the Sea of Cortez.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitravel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    342
    117
    57
    78
See reviews for
337
481
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Always on Vacation
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

At first glance, everything looks new and nice. Then you see the doors that don't close properly, holes and cracks in drywall and rooms that don't have dishwashers or ovens. The tiles and tubs are old, dated and warn out but the cabinets and sinks are nice. My favourite in the room is the 27" tube tv!!!! Real classy!!!

The grounds are nice and the servers are friendly, but the pools are unswimmable due to being too cold and not being cleaned. All pools and "hot tubs" drain into each other and the hot tubs are not even luke warm.

I feel bad for the owners of this timeshare because it is obvious their fees are being used properly. I would stay away and look elsewhere in cabo.

The only plus was that the beach was swimable about 150m east. The waves were not too big.

Room Tip: Not the first floor. Bugs enter under the door and security is an issue being by an alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Westhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just came back from a week at the Grand Mayan! Service was excellent, staff was very helpful and courteous. Grounds were immaculate. I have seen some previous complaints that the pools are not heated. That is true, excluding the pool closest to the ocean which is heated to a comfortable level. The city is working on the street near the resort with a sewer upgrade project; however, the noise level is not really objectionable. You just have to hike around the project in some areas on foot. The atmosphere is basically quiet and uncrowded, unlike party city when we used to stay in Cabo! The previous reviewer is correct regarding the disc type music jockey by the pool. He plays music and runs a bingo game for those that wish to participate for prizes. Didn't really bother us. The only noise complaint we had was a wedding and reception that went to Midnight with loud music. We were notified of the event; however, stopping the event around 10:00 pm would have been nice for those that needed sleep before the next days outing. We only ate one time at the breakfast buffet which was really good. Not sure of the price as it was a free for us. We also went to the Mexican Fiesta at the resort which was great! All the food and drink was included in the price of about $45.00 each. A large selection of foods to suit all tastes and a personal waiter at your table to make sure you didn't run out of drinks. Includes entertainment of dancers and singers and audiance participation if you like. Dining is pricy at the resort so we ate out most of the time at many excellent places. You have to try Habanero's!! It is a short walk from the resort and we went back almost every day. 25% of on Taco Tuesdays and Hamburger Wednesdays. These are not your run of the meal dishes. There is something different and great about all of them. Delicious!! The chef has been at it for 13yrs! One last tip about getting around. Most taxis around the city can get you were you want to go for about $ 5.00. We also used the buses. $ 1.00 each to get around town and $ 3.00 each to go to Cabo. Taxi is about $ 25.00 to Cabo. As we are owners and have bought and sold several Time Shares over the years we are familiar with presentations that have been a nightmare and ones that have been ok. If you are not interested in buying or upgrading, DONT GO! The freebees are not worth the stress. Just say NO! We had a purpose for going and really didn't have a problem with the presentation. Free breakfast and $100 credit to our bill.
Ok, this is rather lengthy so I will close saying we definitely will go back!

Room Tip: Just try and get a room on a higher floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FolsomBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We have been coming to this property for years as we have a timeshare at the Grand Mayan. That being said I would recommend to anyone that is thinking of staying at The Grand Mayan that they chose a different property as this resort although in a great location the rooms and especially the pool furniture ( lounge chairs and lounge chair cushions as well the pillows are 5 years TO OLD. So until they spend some of the money that they do a great job of extorting out of all the people they sell their timeshares too- stay elsewhere. The Cabo Azul property next door is fantastic and a much better choice.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank DanielleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at the Grand Mayan December 8 - 15. Below is a description of our experience:

First Impressions - We were greeted at the door by a few employees, ready to do anything they

could to service us. This was the case every time we arrived or left the building. After being

directed to check out, our bags were taken to later be delivered to our room. Check-in was

very quick and simple. After check-in, we were led to the other desk where the girls put on your

bracelets. They also went over many activities at the resort and the surrounding area. The girl

doing most of the talking asked us if we were interested in attending the presentation for the

free breakfast. We of course declined, because this is my fifth visit to a Mayan property (so I

am aware of what this entails) and if you were to do 5 minutes of research you would know not

to do this if you weren't interested. It amazes me to see the reviewers that complain about how

they were treated at the presentation, but failed to do a few minutes of reading before-hand. IF

YOU ARE NOT INTERESTED, DON'T GO. We were asked once at check-in, and never

bothered again. We were offered complimentary margarita's at a nearby table in the lobby,

which were perfect to start winding down.

The room - Our room was beautiful, very clean, nice view of the pool and ocean. You could

even hear the waves crashing. The bathroom has a nice frosted door for the toilet / shower

area, as well as a two person hot tub. The tv had about 30 channels total, maybe five english

channels, however we didn't watch much tv. The balcony was very large, with plenty of room

for multiple people, and two lounge chairs.

The Pool Area - The pool, like other Mayan properties, was very nice and large. It was a little

cool, however it is December, and living in FL I know the cost of heating the entire pool of that

size would be astronomical, thus driving the prices way up. The pool closest to the beach is

heated, and maybe 10 degrees warmer. I used the non-heated pool everyday, because it was

very refreshing. The "hot-tubs" aren't very hot, but once again, it's hard to keep something that

large, hot.

The Resort - The resort itself is stunning, especially the lobby. They have put so much time

and effort in to making this an exquisite resort. The staff also make's certain the entire grounds

are spotless. The staff here makes the resort what it is, they are all extremely courteous and

helpful.

San Jose - The town of San Jose is very quiet and relaxing, boasting many restaurants, bars,

etc. We preferred San Jose, over Cabo like many others have said. CSL was very nice as well,

just more fast-paced and loud.

Overall - We can say this was one of our most favorite and memorable trips. Between us both

being all over the world, that says a lot! When we return to the Cabo area, we will definitely be

back to the Grand Mayan. For me personally, I can say this is my most memorable trip

because this is where I proposed to the girl of my dreams, which we will both never forget!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swaptrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary,canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Checked in from Dec 1- Dec 8/13,very luxuriuos and private resort,walking distance to shopping and restaurants across the street from the resort,"PRICEY FOOD AND DRINKS",most leave the resort to dine elsewhere in the evening,dumb management on their part,very nice rooms with spacious balconies and jetted tub,very clean resort,WATCH OUT FOR THE TIME SHARKS,they will try to invite you to a presentation,a day wasted if you do,not just an hour as they say,try habeneros for dining easy walk from the resort,great food and prices

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jack123156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

As original Mayan owners, this was our first trip to the Grand Mayan in Cabo San Jose. This is probably one of the smaller Mayan Palaces with only 87 rooms, but it is amazing! All the rooms face the ocean and have nice sized balconies …but the upper floors (3 and up) give you a better view. The resort is about 30-40 minutes from Cabo San Lucas where all the action is. If you prefer a more relaxed , quiet vacation, this is definitely the place to stay. The staff was both friendly and very helpful and the resort is immaculate and beautiful. Jeannette checked us in and out…and she was so sweet and so accommodating as I was hoping for a room on the 5th floor with a kitchen. She got us the most amazing room.
The beach, like most of Cabo is not swimmable, but very clean.. Being from AZ we found the weather to be a little cooler than anticipated…we were there Thanksgiving week. And the pool water was cool!
There are lots of restaurants within walking distance…and it is totally safe to walk day and night. This is an example of how safe the area is. I left my credit card at the computer in Boutique Jade and about one hour later they called the room to let me know I forgot my credit card while printing my boarding pass, and they were holding it for me.
We ate at the restaurant by the pool “Periq” when we first arrived…food was good, drinks were on happy hour price and food was priced typical for a resort. If you walk out of the hotel and go left about ½ a block, across the street is the Plaza del Pescador with several restaurants. The Italian restaurant on the corner (La Forchetta) was excellent! We actually ate their twice. There is Gloria Bean (good for coffee and muffin and you can also purchase coffee there for your room), Ten2Tacos, a Sushi restaurant, La Galeria (a little pricey for size of portions but good Lobster Bisque soup), and Rock and Brew …all within Plaza del Pescador.
If you walk out of the hotel and go right you will see people walking up the hill to the little town of San Jose. There are several restaurants and shops. You can also take a taxi for $5-7 depending on how far you go into San Jose. Habanero’s was excellent for breakfast…we actually ate there every day. Any breakfast was 100 pesos and Mimosas and Bloody Mary’s were 40 pesos. Further up the street is Retro Bar…it is upstairs from Don Sanchez ($7 cab ride)…fun sports bar with excellent coconut shrimp and also fish and chips. I also heard their shrimp tacos were excellent, but didn’t get a chance to try them.
Like all they Mayan’s Happy hour rotates throughout the day. Pool Bar was 12:00 – 1:00 and again 3:00 -4:00…with drinks 2 for 1. When you check in they will give you a copy of the Mayan Times with times of all the Happy Hours and the waiters will remind you when happy hour is beginning and ending.
We did not go to the Mega store, but did purchase some beer and chips at a local market across the street from Rock & Brew. The resort store (Boutique Jade) is smaller in comparison to the other Mayan resorts with limited items…but they do have beer, wine and souvenirs.
Definitely request transportation from the airport to the Grand Mayan by sending an email to: concierge01.sjd@grandmanay.com.mx and follow the instructions they give you. After you pass customs the timeshare sharks are like flies…just walk past them. The transportation to the Mayan is free, but you will need to request a taxi to return to the airport…approximately $25-35.
We did not attend any presentation, and they did not bother us. Just called every day to see if we changed our minds…but no pressure as we are already owners. As Mayan owners I have never been pressured into attending a presentation and we knew enough not to eat breakfast at the resort as that is when all the timeshare sharks are out.
I did tour the spa and gym, but did not find time to use them. Both were very nice and the staff soo friendly. There are plenty of lounge chairs and cabanos…so we there was never a problem finding someplace to sit. We did brave the cool pool water and enjoyed sitting at the pool bar and socializing.
Because the weather was not always sunny and warm, we opted not to go on any of the boat excursions…as the surf was rather rough by our resort.
Definitely will be returning again soon. Highly recommend Grand Mayan Los Cabos if you want a quiet relaxing vacation with incredible views of the water.

Room Tip: Higher floor will give you a better view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JoAnne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5,515 reviews
2.5 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Property: The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing