We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GORGEOUS PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Laramie, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS PLACE”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife, I, and another couple recently returned from a week at the Grand Mayan San Jose del Cabo. The decor and grounds are exquisite and beautiful. It looks exactly like the pictures on the website! The grounds are impeccable; the rooms are huge and perfectly clean. Staff is constantly working, picking up, service is amazing, and gratuity is added to every ticket. Remember that!
This is our fifth trip to Mexico in the past few years and this resort is just breathtaking compared to many others.
We stayed in adjoining rooms (suite) that connected to a kitchen that was stocked with dishes and pots, a small refrigerator, but NO dishwasher. You will notice a sign on the counter stating that you will be charged if you leave dirty dishes after you checkout, or use the paper towels and or the bottle water. They put thought into things like granite countertops and mosaic backsplash, but no dishwasher. Our room had a jacuzzi in the bathroom that was connected to the bedroom with sliding doors, while our friends had a plunge pool on their deck (our deck also, as they have a sliding door that slides up when both rooms our rented).
The food and drinks are VERY EXPENSIVE, so we never ate at the resort, but did have a two for one drink around the pool at Happy Hour (after 12:00 pm) every day. San Jose and Cabo San Lucas are filled with amazing food of all kinds. Do not stay in the hotel; go into the towns and explore!! The "Urbano" bus for about $.80 goes to downtown San Jose or to the Mega for grocery shopping. Don’t be afraid to take the bus, the bellboys helped us the first time, then the locals would always ask where we were going and when to get off. On the way back to the Grand Mayan, tell the driver when you get on “Grand Mayan”, he will then automatically stop at the hotel.
If you are reading this review, then you can look up restaurants in both Cabo San Jose and Cabo San Lucas. A couple of places not to miss are Fiorenza (we ate there twice - have the concierge make reservations and you will need a cab), and Flora's Field Kitchen (once again, you will need reservations and will need to take a cab). The restaurants in both Cabos that are listed in Trip Advisor are expensive, so look at the prices on the web site. Some suggestions near the Grand Mayan are Habanero’s (3 long blocks north of the hotel), El Herradero (4 blocks north at the street where the fire hall is located then 500 feet to the West), or Don Sanchez Restaurante (6 - 7 blocks north of the hotel). If you do not want to walk, take the Urbano for all three restaurants.
The Mega shopping center (located the opposite direction of downtown San Jose) is a Huge grocery store that is dirt-cheap and is full of fresh fruit, vegetables, a bakery, a seafood market, and anything you would need. We walked to the Mega store the first day – bought groceries – and took a cab back. For trips from the hotel to the downtown area and back or to near the Mega it is a flat rate of $5 US or $50 Peso. You can get from San Jose to Los Cabos and back by taking a Subercabos bus, which runs perhaps every 15 minutes from a spot across the highway from the Mega just south of the traffic circle. A one-way fare is $27 pesos per person; I think they only take pesos. These busses are air-conditioned. The Concierge can provide you more information on the Subercabos bus. The hotel shuttle is another option, but it costs $16 US /$160 pesos one-way) and runs at 5 fixed times per day– but does not run on Sunday.
There are some negatives to the Grand Mayan that are covered well in other reviews: pool water is cold (in eight days, we never saw a person at the swim-up bar), no swimming in the ocean, no beach chairs and umbrellas to lay on in the sand, Time Share sales (we were very firm at check-in that we were not interested and they left us alone, although we did unplugged our phones the second and third mornings in order to miss the “invitation” (around 9:00 am because they know if you attended the breakfast that day) to the free breakfast where they pitch the time shares.
The Grand Mayan is very beautiful, but it should not be the place where you spend your entire vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank highjpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    347
    122
    61
    80
See reviews for
345
487
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband I recently returned from a week at the Grand Mayan San Jose del Cabo! I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews but very happy on arrival. Check-in was a breeze and we had the two bedroom suite. The room offered a full kitchen, two bedrooms, living room and a huge balcony with a small pool.

This was our first time to the area so we were unsure what to expect. It’s a very quiet location, the resort meals are pricey (as most resorts are) but across the street has a shopping center with some great options! You can also walk 10 minutes into town for more authentic cuisine. Our favorite stop was Gourmet Cabo that had a great wine and cheese selection. If you like American football then head to Shooters or the Retro bar in town! Great drink specials and they have all the games, including college.

This resort is great if you are “pool” people and enjoy just hanging out in the sun. The pool is really cold as other people have mentioned and you cannot swim in the ocean at this location. We are divers so we took a taxi to the new marina (about $15 us each way) to meet up with a dive shop for the trip. Look up East Cape Explorers-they are new and fantastic!

Overall it was a great relaxing vacation and we will plan on returning! Next time we will come later in the whale season as we are told the entire harbor fills with whale pods.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly_Evans13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The staff were excellent, especially at the pool where David runs a tight ship, Fernando and Mimi were attentive and friendly. This hotel sits on the marina so book a marina room for the views and quieter sleeping since the town can be lively. Wyndham is improving the hotel which also has timeshares - the restaurants were empty even over Christmas break and the food was great.

Room Tip: Choose the marina view as the clubs can go into the wee hours of the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Spent the X'mas week with my family here. 3 adults, 3 kids, and a baby. We had a great time. The service is top notch. In fact, I am writing this review after they replaced our Surf and Turf at PeriQ as we told them the lobster was not cooked fully. They not only replaced a new lobster but also a new steak. Above and beyond.

Food is actually pretty good at both PeriQ and Grand Cafe. There were some comments about them being pricy. Get the meal coupon, a very good deal. On average, each meal costs only $24.

We used the coupon on their Christmas dinner buffet and brunch. Each dinner coupon gets a 3 course meal, includes choice of steak, surf and turf, and jumbo shrimp.

Timeshare presentation is just that. Been through 20+ with different companies, theirs were actually on the nicer end. Pablo, the assistant manager was very thorough and made sure everything promised got taken care of. In addition, the discounts they gave you for just sitting through the presentation is really cheaper than what one would get if purchased directly with the vendor.

All of my family is happy with the trip.

The only complaint would be lukewarm water at their outdoor pools. Higher temperature would make this trip perfect.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelpeopleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Loved our recent vacation at the Grand Mayan which is not only located directly on the Sea of Cortez beaches but also an easy walk from the wonderful town of San Jose del Cabo. San Jose is charming with interesting restaurants and little shops. The Art District is thriving and the local residents are friendly and welcoming. We were treated extremely well by all staff members at The Grand Mayan. The pools are beautiful but neither the pools or the hot tubs are as warm as they should be for guest comfort. Other than the pool temperature, the only negative we noted was that for a resort of its caliber, the pool lounge chairs & cushions plus the unit deck furniture really needs to be replaced and upgraded.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the Sea of Cortez.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitravel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Always on Vacation
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

At first glance, everything looks new and nice. Then you see the doors that don't close properly, holes and cracks in drywall and rooms that don't have dishwashers or ovens. The tiles and tubs are old, dated and warn out but the cabinets and sinks are nice. My favourite in the room is the 27" tube tv!!!! Real classy!!!

The grounds are nice and the servers are friendly, but the pools are unswimmable due to being too cold and not being cleaned. All pools and "hot tubs" drain into each other and the hot tubs are not even luke warm.

I feel bad for the owners of this timeshare because it is obvious their fees are being used properly. I would stay away and look elsewhere in cabo.

The only plus was that the beach was swimable about 150m east. The waves were not too big.

Room Tip: Not the first floor. Bugs enter under the door and security is an issue being by an alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Westhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just came back from a week at the Grand Mayan! Service was excellent, staff was very helpful and courteous. Grounds were immaculate. I have seen some previous complaints that the pools are not heated. That is true, excluding the pool closest to the ocean which is heated to a comfortable level. The city is working on the street near the resort with a sewer upgrade project; however, the noise level is not really objectionable. You just have to hike around the project in some areas on foot. The atmosphere is basically quiet and uncrowded, unlike party city when we used to stay in Cabo! The previous reviewer is correct regarding the disc type music jockey by the pool. He plays music and runs a bingo game for those that wish to participate for prizes. Didn't really bother us. The only noise complaint we had was a wedding and reception that went to Midnight with loud music. We were notified of the event; however, stopping the event around 10:00 pm would have been nice for those that needed sleep before the next days outing. We only ate one time at the breakfast buffet which was really good. Not sure of the price as it was a free for us. We also went to the Mexican Fiesta at the resort which was great! All the food and drink was included in the price of about $45.00 each. A large selection of foods to suit all tastes and a personal waiter at your table to make sure you didn't run out of drinks. Includes entertainment of dancers and singers and audiance participation if you like. Dining is pricy at the resort so we ate out most of the time at many excellent places. You have to try Habanero's!! It is a short walk from the resort and we went back almost every day. 25% of on Taco Tuesdays and Hamburger Wednesdays. These are not your run of the meal dishes. There is something different and great about all of them. Delicious!! The chef has been at it for 13yrs! One last tip about getting around. Most taxis around the city can get you were you want to go for about $ 5.00. We also used the buses. $ 1.00 each to get around town and $ 3.00 each to go to Cabo. Taxi is about $ 25.00 to Cabo. As we are owners and have bought and sold several Time Shares over the years we are familiar with presentations that have been a nightmare and ones that have been ok. If you are not interested in buying or upgrading, DONT GO! The freebees are not worth the stress. Just say NO! We had a purpose for going and really didn't have a problem with the presentation. Free breakfast and $100 credit to our bill.
Ok, this is rather lengthy so I will close saying we definitely will go back!

Room Tip: Just try and get a room on a higher floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FolsomBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,823 reviews
2.5 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,296 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Property: The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing