We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good the bad the???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The good the bad the???”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We read a lot of reviews from people that had good and bad things to say about the resort. First about the bad timeshare presentation reviews. We did not take the Presentation, but we were asked to do so upon check in and a phone call. We were never hassled by anyone about not taking the tour. People that took the tour seemed to be OK with the presentation. The staff was amazing, very accommodating. Loved Dora in the store, she went above and beyond to help us with our boarding passes. Rooms were cleaned daily and a nightly turned down service with chocolate. Pools were very clean, a little warm but still fun. Many activities to keep you busy. This resort is one of the best we have been to, five star! Take the three dollar bus a crossed from mega into town, much cheaper then taxi. So have fun at the Grand Mayan. We used Los Cabo guide vouchers on this trip. We save about $700 dollars on tours and dining. There was no bad, just wanted to have you read the post.

Room Tip: Try to get on floors higher than the second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Doug O :
thank you for taking the time to provide us your detailed feedback about your recent stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We will gladly share your feedback with the staff mentioned, as working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us. The same way, it is pleasing to find out you liked our pools and the activities.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    334
    109
    52
    76
See reviews for
321
475
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

You say peninsula, I say ocean. Potato. Potatoe let's just get in and enjoy. The hotel is beautiful; am in love with whatever scent they use in the hotel lobby. I can't say enough good things about the people that really make sure you are taken care of such as: the maid service, bellman, wait and pool staff. They truly made our stay wonderful. Cons: our room (1103) had a septic smell penetrating through our bedroom vent 4 out of our 5 days, We paid wi-fi for two devices and only one worked (not in the room but in the lobby) and a couple of other mishaps. The Concierge was very professional and apologetic and asked me to fill out an incident report for management. I asked to have a Manager contact us to discuss the major issues but never received a call or note from the GM. We did receive compensation for the wi-fi service and a plate of fruit. Fruit in Cabo is not that expensive and does not by any means make up for sleeping in a room that smells like sewer leakage or my sister and I getting hit in the head with an umbrella pool that was not securely fastened onto the base.

I am giving them 4 stars on service due to the operational staff, they were superb; I just wish their senior management staff had operated with the same level of service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwr5374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

One of the best places I ever stayed..it was great..and the people working there were GREAT....They we're warn and friendly...The food by the pool was great and so was the breakfast buffet...my Grandson is already to so back...Besides swimming...he loved the bingo game each day...PS...the pool was fabulous ...

Room Tip: We were lucky to stay on the ground floor with a child...any floor would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jasper7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Jasper7777 :

Thank you so much for choosing The Grand Mayan for your vacation and for sharing your review with us. We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff, as they are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing service excellence. It is pleasing to learn that you also enjoyed our food options.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal,Quebec
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

As timeshare owners at Grand Mayan, this resort is small and a little out of date compared to the others. We usually go to the Mayan Riviera resort which is beautiful and much better value. One of our reasons for trying the San Jose Del Cabo resort was there previously was no beach at the Mayan Riviera and we wanted to be at a beach. There is a beautiful beach at this location , 200 yards deep and miles of beautiful beach however the entire beach is prohibited to swim due to the undercurrent. That information could have been helpful in advance. To go to a swimmable beach, you have to take a minimum 20 minute taxi ride to a beach with limited or no facilities.
As well, the pool was as hot as the air and no more than 3 ft deep anywhere which was no relief from the heat. As it turned out, we spent more time at another hotel( El Ganzo) where the pool had some cold water running in it for some degree of refreshment and a nice relatively private beach in a cove.
The food was better outside the resort as well. The rooms were clean and nice, living up to expectation. .A short walk to some restaurants was convenient as well and getting to town was a short taxi ride.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaycap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear jaycap :

Thank you for choosing The Grand Mayan for your vacation and for sharing your review with us. We are very pleased to learn you have been faithful owners of our brands and you continue to enjoy our tropical paradise.

Your feedback will be taken into consideration as our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

With all good wishes,

The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The service at the Grand Mayan was excellent! The staff was helpful, friendly and very attentive towards their guests. The pool area was well kept and clean. There were pool activities, but not too many to be annoying. There were usually enough loungers for the number of hotel guests where you didn't have to scramble to get seats early. We ate at the breakfast buffet once, which was pretty good, but mostly, we ate at the pool snack bar for lunch. Our only complaint was that the food and drinks in the pool area was rather expensive. The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk away from town ($6 taxi ride), but any of the restaurants closer by were not appealing. There were several good restaurants in town, more reasonably priced. The weather was hot and humid, so walking into town was often quite miserable. Overall, we had a nice vacation there with our 9 year old son, however, we would probably not stay there again if we wanted to be in a more lively area. Cabo San Lucas was $35 taxi ride each way, We only went there once in the week, but prefer to be where there is more action.

Room Tip: All rooms were ocean view and the 1 & 2 bedroom units have private splash pools on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Karen K :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, our facilities, the accommodations, the pools and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a first class property in a great location but they devalue it. First of all they try to charge $60/week for internet access for one device which is outrageous, but made even worse because the quality of their wifi is probably worse than most developing countries. I had to go down the street to Mi Ensalada where I got great internet for free. They also devalue their property by employing sales people who are completely devoid of integrity. These sales people will tell whatever lie they think will endear you to them so they can sell you a Private Residency Ownership (the new name for timeshare) at an outrageous price. This is a property that could be first class if only the owners and managers knew what that really meant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy59717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Cindy59717 :

Thank you so much for choosing The Grand Mayan for your vacation and for sharing your review about your stay.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacation experiences for our guests; however, after receiving your remarks it appears this was not the case with your stay. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services.

Your comments are always appreciated.

Warm regards,

The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is an amazingly beautiful hotel with a wonderful staff! Friends and I had a great time just relaxing at the pool where we were waited on by a very friendly and accommodating staff. The food and cocktails were perfect, never disappointed. My favorites, the fish tacos and chocolate monkey cocktail! Yum! The cleanliness of the hotel, rooms, pool area and beach was to perfection. The staff keep this hotel in beautiful and clean condition 24/7.

Everything about our vacation was perfect. I would highly recommend the Grand Mayan for a romantic getaway, for families and or friends as a resort to go to. Thank you staff for a relaxing and wonderful vacation

Room Tip: Request an ocean front room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklyntori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,377 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Property: The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing