We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Lovely!”
Review of Lantern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lantern Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We first visited Lantern Lodge last year and we loved it so much we went back again this year! We weren't disappointed. The quality of accommodation is very high. Lovely clean and comfortable. The choice and quality of food is very hard to beat. We went bed, breakfast and evening meal and could not fault it, - loved it all!
I'm sure we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandpaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Lantern Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

Spent four days here in May. Everything was superb.The hotel is absolutely charming,the staff are really helpful and friendly and the FOOD is wonderful. The hotel is in a lovely location, overlooking the bay, I can see why people visit year after year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy503837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Excellent three day stay. Sea view overlooking beautiful coastline. Food is of high quality, matched by excellent service from the polite and caring staff. Surrounding countryside is lovely and the cliff path walk to Bantham, via Thurlestone is awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This hotel is in a perfect location, right next to the cliff path. Our sea view room had a stunning view. All the staff were very friendly and provided us with excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was varied and good and the hotel had such a relaxed atmosphere that we slept very soundly. After 3 days we felt we had had a very relaxing and enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We had a very relaxing 3 day break in this small friendly Hotel.
Our room had a beautiful sea view.
The Hotel is situated on the cliff top within easy walking distance of the beach.
The service at the Hotel was very good, nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff.
The food was excellent and the chef who is also the manager catered for our 16yr old daughter who is a vegetarian.
We will definetely return to the Lantern Lodge Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaside1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We've just recently visited the Lantern Lodge Hotel, We had a wonderful stay, the hotel and surroundings are beautiful. The food is traditional with large portions and very well cooked!.
The hotel and staff are all excellent, would definitely reccomend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thorntons581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

2star price but 4 star experience. Lovely private hotel in one of the prettiest spots in
Devon. Very comfortable accomodation and immaculately kept. Definitely better than
many 4star hotels that we have stayed in,can only assume the lack of stars is due to
the lack of a 24hour reception and a lift, neither of which bother us at all. What it does
have is a position to die for, attractive gardens, a super indoor swimming pool,easy
parking etc. The breakfasts and dinners are superb with a superb choice and
always beautifully presented. The Manager and his Wife can't do enough for you,
the staff are all lovely (with a special mention for Sue). It must be good because
everyone we spoke to were on their umpteenth visit and were all full of praise.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebrowns187063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
4.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
870 reviews
2.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
405 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Lodge

Address: Grand View Road, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range: £77 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lantern Lodge, Hope Cove, Kingsbridge. The Lantern Lodge is a small privately run B&B situated on the cliff top right next to the South Devon Coastal path and overlooking the secluded fishing village of Hope Cove with its Devon thatch cottages, clean, sandy and safe beaches. Nearby are the old traditional towns of Kingsbridge, Salcombe and Dartmouth all offering their own individual character and all offering that little extra to make your stay in the South Hams that extra special and unique. Also close by are Thurlestone, Bigbury and Dartmouth golf courses all with stunning views of the area and fantastic and challenging courses. The Lantern Lodge has its own special extras to offer including an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, double, twin and four poster rooms all with en-suite facilities and some with sea views. 9 hole putting green and plenty of car parking. There is a dining room where breakfast is served. The Lantern Lodge is so named after its attractive leafily-clad 'Lantern window.' Local folklore would have us believe that this type of window was specially designed to hold and display an illuminated lantern which could be seen from all three aspects far out to sea, acting as a beacon to safely guide home all their boats. Nowadays, our Lantern window serves very much the same purpose in welcoming back our contented guests year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Lantern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Hotel Hope Cove
Lantern Lodge Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing