We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“26th visit”
Review of Lantern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lantern Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“26th visit”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

fantastic hotel overlooking hope cove. C an see Eddystone lighthouse across the sea at night from bed. Glorious sunsets dip below the cliffs. walks along coast path beautiful whatever the season. Have stayed all months from march to november, only sorry they dont open for xmas. Food is great, johns soups are legendary. staff always helpful and friendly. swimming pool, indoors added bonus. also no children under 12 yrs. Took our two twenty years ago and will take grandaughter when old enough. have travelled all over the world but always go back to lantern lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenys71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    33
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
132
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nristol, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a three-night break in July.

Position is fantastic - right on the cliffs overlooking Hope Cove, which is an idyllic spot in the South Hams. It is like stepping back in time to a golden age; children playing in the rock pools, families playing cricket on the beach, completely unspoiled.

Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Many guests return year after year. Most guests seem to be middle-aged or retired. It is a very traditional hotel - do not expect modern boutique style decor - think floral curtains and matching bedspreads. Breakfasts and dinners very generous and with a good choice.

The hotel is right on the coastal path which makes it a wonderful base for walking.

We also enjoyed the indoor swimming pool, which is very attractive and nicely kept.

Overall, very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our second visit this year and as good as ever. Our only complaint would be that the food is so good that we need to diet when we go home! Laura, John and Brenda made sure our visit was perfect and we had our favourite room 10. The weather could have been better but you can't gaurantee the weather even in July.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenloverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

At last we've found our ultimate retreat...Lantern Lodge Hotel has everything you could wish for. After days enjoying mouth-watering menus to challenge our waistlines with happy attentive staff to hand, we relaxed in our comfortable bedroom in peaceful surroundings amidst spectacular scenery. With the coastal path leading to the beaches at Hope Cove and Thurlestone running past the hotel, and nearby Salcombe and Bigbury Bay, we were spoilt for choice.
John and his family are so proud of their hotel, they go out of their way to persuade you to post a review with Tripadvisor.

Superlatives abound in the visitors' book, one happy guest lapsing into poetry. We're trying to think of a new word to suggest to the 'Oxford English,' to adequately portray this little corner of god's heaven. Hopefully, we'll have conjured one in advance of signing the visitors' book after our next planned visit in September.
I nearly forgot! Car parking - the scourge of many coastal hotels - isn't a problem at this hotel..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Wonderful location overlooking Hope Cove and great for walks along the coastal path.
Excellent rooms - go for the ones with the sea view. Meals are well cooked & breakfasts are enormous. Very friendly, easy going service. A great little hotel that we are already planning to go back to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arby27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We have stayed in and around Hope Cove for over forty years but never in the Lantern Lodge. During the last two weeks we have discovered what we have been missing, excellent food and service, almost from a bygone era, if only other local establishments, particularly the Hope & Anchor could follow suit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianrossini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We first visited Lantern Lodge last year and we loved it so much we went back again this year! We weren't disappointed. The quality of accommodation is very high. Lovely clean and comfortable. The choice and quality of food is very hard to beat. We went bed, breakfast and evening meal and could not fault it, - loved it all!
I'm sure we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandpaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
4.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
829 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Lodge

Property: Lantern Lodge
Address: Grand View Road, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lantern Lodge, Hope Cove, Kingsbridge. The Lantern Lodge is a small privately run B&B situated on the cliff top right next to the South Devon Coastal path and overlooking the secluded fishing village of Hope Cove with its Devon thatch cottages, clean, sandy and safe beaches. Nearby are the old traditional towns of Kingsbridge, Salcombe and Dartmouth all offering their own individual character and all offering that little extra to make your stay in the South Hams that extra special and unique. Also close by are Thurlestone, Bigbury and Dartmouth golf courses all with stunning views of the area and fantastic and challenging courses. The Lantern Lodge has its own special extras to offer including an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, double, twin and four poster rooms all with en-suite facilities and some with sea views. 9 hole putting green and plenty of car parking. There is a dining room where breakfast is served. The Lantern Lodge is so named after its attractive leafily-clad 'Lantern window.' Local folklore would have us believe that this type of window was specially designed to hold and display an illuminated lantern which could be seen from all three aspects far out to sea, acting as a beacon to safely guide home all their boats. Nowadays, our Lantern window serves very much the same purpose in welcoming back our contented guests year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Lantern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Hotel Hope Cove
Lantern Lodge Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing