We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.”
Review of Lantern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lantern Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Certificate of Excellence
st just
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had an amazing 3 day stay with family for parents 60th wedding anniversary. Very quiet and relaxing a perfect place to unwind with good food and friendly and helpful staff. The bedroom was lovely and never cold even thpugh outside was. Hopefully be back soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank janelaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    32
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
130
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay and I can't praise this Hotel highly enough. It is in a beautiful peaceful location. I would recommend a sea view room, the views are stunning. The SW coast path runs past the front of the hotel.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is very good. Our room was spacious and comfortable, I had a little chair and footstool where I could sit and watch the sea. We also enjoyed our daily swim in the pool.

All in all we came back feeling thoroughly refreshed and were looked after very well indeed.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea view room, it's worth the bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneandJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here one night for dinner bed and breakfast as the Cottage Hotel was full. Friendly staff and good food, pleasant surroundings and lovely views. Not outstanding, a bit expensive for what you get, but very homely and a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just had three days at this lovely hotel; good selection for breakfast all cooked to order; superb four course dinners, every comfort in en suite rooms; dedicated and friendly staff and some lovely places to visit nearby. The indoor pool is an added bonus. All makes for a wonderful holiday and we would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good but, if you want a seaview, then have Rooms 1, 2, 3,10,11 or 12. This i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LambieSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

we have stayed at this hotel three times and each time as been excellent, the food is superb, staff friendly. the hotel is old fashioned in its decor but this only adds to its charm. A plus to this hotel is its indoor pool. We go to Salcombe every year if only for a few days and there are fewer and fewer places to stay, so glad we found this one

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I have recently enjoyed a wonderful stay at the lantern lodge.We had not visited this part of Devon for very many years and chose the hotel on the basis of comments from previous guests.These very favourable comments mirrored our own experience and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing break with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have been staying at Lantern Lodge for many years and it always surpasses expectations.The old saying that you should never go back is proved wrong by this welcoming, comfortable and superbly run hotel.We were there when the person responsible for the one poor feedback here was staying. Suffice it to say that he was in the wrong place for his age and attitude and very unfair in his remarks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
4.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
8.1 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Lodge

Property: Lantern Lodge
Address: Grand View Road, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lantern Lodge, Hope Cove, Kingsbridge. The Lantern Lodge is a small privately run B&B situated on the cliff top right next to the South Devon Coastal path and overlooking the secluded fishing village of Hope Cove with its Devon thatch cottages, clean, sandy and safe beaches. Nearby are the old traditional towns of Kingsbridge, Salcombe and Dartmouth all offering their own individual character and all offering that little extra to make your stay in the South Hams that extra special and unique. Also close by are Thurlestone, Bigbury and Dartmouth golf courses all with stunning views of the area and fantastic and challenging courses. The Lantern Lodge has its own special extras to offer including an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, double, twin and four poster rooms all with en-suite facilities and some with sea views. 9 hole putting green and plenty of car parking. There is a dining room where breakfast is served. The Lantern Lodge is so named after its attractive leafily-clad 'Lantern window.' Local folklore would have us believe that this type of window was specially designed to hold and display an illuminated lantern which could be seen from all three aspects far out to sea, acting as a beacon to safely guide home all their boats. Nowadays, our Lantern window serves very much the same purpose in welcoming back our contented guests year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Lantern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Hotel Hope Cove
Lantern Lodge Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing