We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lukewarm...”
Review of Lantern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lantern Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Kent
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lukewarm...”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A bit like sitting in a lukewarm bath - someone else's.

The hotel smells of fried bread throughout. Not entirely unpleasant. It's cosy.

My room was over the kitchens. Stuffy and past its sell-by with faded prints on the walls. The decor throughout is dated and a touch tatty, the carpets well trod. The staff were pleasant if a little indifferent and a bit put out when it came to changes in breakfast numbers. The clientele were jolly, older, and seemed to enjoy the 1950's style taciturn breakfast room and playing by the rules (with a brandy and ginger before supper - strictly 7.30 to 8.30pm!). One funny moments:

'Hello, how do I dial another room?'
'It's in the guide book to the hotel.'
'Yes, I've read that carefully and it says 'lift the handset and dial the room number' but that doesn't work.'
'Well it is all explained in there.'
'Ok, but could you just perhaps maybe tell me?'
'Put a 2 before the room number.'
'Thank you.'

It's charming in a way, as a trip down memory lane and comparisons to Fawlty Towers are fair, in terms of feel but the staff were certainly competent!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview or be a bit glum!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    33
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
132
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just spent 3 days at the Lantern Lodge. We have been visiting the hotel for 25 years and it is always excellent. Friendly, helpful staff and great food cooked by the manager chef John.
We look forward to our next visit every time we leave!
Sadly, we gave just seen that the hotel is on the market so maybe we won't be able to make it next year.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenloverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location, friendly staff and good food are the pros. The cons are:- dated decoration in the rooms, our shower didn't work very well at all and although the hotel is advertised as having wifi, the signal is so weak throughout the property that it just isn't usable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This small hotel is situated in the small and peaceful village of Hope Cove in South Devon. For those looking for a de stress and peace it's an ideal location. Forget about your mobiles and laptops because there is little if any reception here. Unfortunately this also seemed to extend to the hotel Wi Fi.

The hotel is located high above Hope Cove and there are stunning views to be had. I believe the the hotel has been there for a number of years and looking at the guest book there do seem to be many customers who come year after year. I suspect that these customers do not like change and I would guess that little indeed has changed in the Lantern Lodge for some time. To be blunt it's old fashioned and it attracts a mature customer. There is nothing wrong with that but you may want to bear in mind that it is not really a family hotel ( children 12 and over only).

We had a room with a fantastic view both out to sea and also overlooking Hope Cove village. If you can get room 1 then make sure you do. Nice size room and bathroom and very cosy and kept very clean.

The hotel also has a small swimming pool which is unusual in a hotel of this size.

We were on a DBB tariff so dined each night in the hotel. This is where I may upset the regulars who claim that the food is wonderful. In our view it was average at best and seemed to be stuck in something of a time warp. Many dishes seemed to involve cream in the menu which after a while became a bit much. Breakfast was fine with food cooked to order.

The problem ( hence my title) is the future of this hotel. On our last morning the estate agents arrived as the hotel is up for sale. I suspect on their current business model that profits are modest at best. To make money the hotel needs to move into the 21st century. You can still retain the good level of service ( and it was good) but also make the most of the location. In addition update the menu to attract non resident trade and also do something with the bar like good draft beer and fancy modern things like diet drinks.

I fear for the future of this hotel as it may end up in the hands of developers which would be a great shame. I would suggest that you visit this year as it may be your last chance.

And yes we would go back to recharge and wind down.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 or at least a sea view. It's worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Well! What can I say. What an absolutly fabulous place. This was our first visit. The location of this hotel is nothing short of perfect for those looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of working life. The first thing you notice when you get out of your car in the car park is the sound of silence. Bliss.
We stayed in room 16 which had a little corner window which looks out over Hope Cove harbour and beyond to Bolt Tail. We sat in the two chairs provided in the corner and drank a bottle of wine every night as the sun went down. Perfect.
The room was of adequate size and the bath/shower even had a power shower which I love. The rooms complementary tea and biscuits were replenished every day and the room was made up during breakfast.
Breakfast was enormous and lasted us all day. A choice of cereals, juice or grapefruit segments followed by a fry up of egg, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, beans, fried bread and tomatoes and as much toast as you want.
We only ate in for dinner on two occasions and wished we has done it more often. The food is out of the this world and for the price you pay is fanatastic value for money. We are definately thinking of returning for another break.
The only down side to the room was the bathroom was really hot as it's above the range in the kitchen and a lot of heat comes through the floor. You'll notice it under your feet when your sat on the loo. Just thought I'd mention it but in no way did it put a downer on the week we spent there hence why I gave it an excellent rating.
All those staying there in the near future who haven't been before are in for a treat if you like the quite life.

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view are definately worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1938TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wittering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I took two friends with us a couple of years ago to the Lantern Lodge Hotel
Each year since the we have all returned for a 6 day break. There is a special relaxing ambience about the hotel and the views are timeless from a sea view room.
The food continues to be excellent with little room for any lunch between a hearty breakfast and a four course dinner, both served by polite and friendly staff. Even with a daily changing dinner menu the chef will provide an additional choice if you give him time.
No doubt we will all return next year .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBERT H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just spent 2 nights at Lantern Lodge. The staff were very friendly, the place was clean, the food was good. We just felt, at age 41 and 45 respectively, like we should have waited another 10 years....not exactly aimed at our age group, and indeed we were the youngest there. The swimming pool was never too busy and a good temperature/size. If we go back in 10 years, we would probably book a room with a view and balcony, as our room (7) had a view of precisely nothing but more walls.....and I felt unsafe to leave the window open as there was access to a rooftop just outside and other windows near our own. Warning: don't go there if you hate being cut off from it all....there was no mobile signal anywhere in Hope Cove. The hotel does have WiFi but it is an unsecured server which made me a bit nervous of using my laptop, so I felt very isolated. The menu was heavy on fish dishes, which I don't eat, so I felt limited. One other thing: there was an 'open day' for prospective purchasers whilst we were there, so it may be under new management soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
4.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
829 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Lodge

Property: Lantern Lodge
Address: Grand View Road, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lantern Lodge, Hope Cove, Kingsbridge. The Lantern Lodge is a small privately run B&B situated on the cliff top right next to the South Devon Coastal path and overlooking the secluded fishing village of Hope Cove with its Devon thatch cottages, clean, sandy and safe beaches. Nearby are the old traditional towns of Kingsbridge, Salcombe and Dartmouth all offering their own individual character and all offering that little extra to make your stay in the South Hams that extra special and unique. Also close by are Thurlestone, Bigbury and Dartmouth golf courses all with stunning views of the area and fantastic and challenging courses. The Lantern Lodge has its own special extras to offer including an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, double, twin and four poster rooms all with en-suite facilities and some with sea views. 9 hole putting green and plenty of car parking. There is a dining room where breakfast is served. The Lantern Lodge is so named after its attractive leafily-clad 'Lantern window.' Local folklore would have us believe that this type of window was specially designed to hold and display an illuminated lantern which could be seen from all three aspects far out to sea, acting as a beacon to safely guide home all their boats. Nowadays, our Lantern window serves very much the same purpose in welcoming back our contented guests year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Lantern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Hotel Hope Cove
Lantern Lodge Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing