We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
123
37
15
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
37
15
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool the cliff sea view corner window mini break fabulous break steep path customer care short break hotel is situated second to none b and b decor is dated breakfast was delicious set you up for the day bed and breakfast three nights
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Looking for a short break, my husband found Lantern Lodge.It is an older property, but clean and comfortable. We had a beautiful sea view, with floor to ceiling windows. There is a heated indoor pool, which on nicer days lead out to a sheltered terrace. A sauna is also available, but we did not use it. Breakfast was from a decent selection, and freshly made, very tasty. You didn't really see the staff except at check-in and breakfast, but that wasn't a problem.
Breakfast is the only meal available, but would recommend the Hope and Anchor pub, a few minutes walk downhill.

Room Tip: We had room 2, which came with a great sea view. Worth the small extra charge.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alimholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Please be very clear, this is not a hotel. There is no bar, no evening meals or service of any kind beyond an excellently cooked and presented breakfast in the morning. It is spotlessly clean and well situated, but during the daytime it is painfully empty and lacking in all atmosphere. Those staff who are present, in the mornings to serve breakfast and to clean, were extremely helpful and pleasant, but for much of the time this is a very empty shell of a place. Furnishings and decor all sound but in need of updating. Useful swimming pool, largely unused. At 125 per night per room, in Summer Season, this may seem a lot but Hope Cove is pretty expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Theocsbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Over priced bed and breakfast! Stayed in room 5 which had the Most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, lumpy, saggy in the middle and could have made an advert for time to buy a silent night from Bensons for beds! Time slot for breakfast.. 1 hr between 8:30 and 9:30. Swimming pool open between 8 and 6... as no atmosphere at hotel ( sorry b&b) during day, no reason to hang around in the hotel. 6 nights costing £640 for b&b will be booking abroad in future!
Will not be returning or recommending for the lack of sleep.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank lekalorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

We were here for five nights. The position of this B and B is fantastic. On the edge of several coastal walks and minutes away fromHope Cove. The room was large. Breakfast was a treat, always cooked to order. All the staff we saw were helpful friendly and knowledgeable about the area. I would totally recommend this accommodation. A large free car parking space on site is another bonus.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a lovely couple of nights for a nearby wedding. We booked through booking.com and upon arrival to check in there was no record of us making a reservation. Luckily a room was available still and the owner was fantastic about it. If you book this B&B phone them to book a room as it seems booking.com have messed up quite a few reservations before.
We stayed in room 16 which is above the main door with a corner window view of the sea which is fantastic. The room was dated in decor but spotlessly clean with tea/coffee/bottled water in the room.
The breakfast was lovely and set you up for the day with a great service from all staff members. There is free parking to the rear for guest use.
This B&B has a great view of the cove and we fully enjoyed our stay. It just needs a bit of modernisation with the decor and fixtures. If we're in the area again I would definitely book again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank timspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews