We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and relaxing days”
Review of Sand Pebbles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hope Cove B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had a couple of wonderful relaxing days in South Devon. Bright sunshine, very nice accomodation and very good breakfast. Just a stone-throw from the beaches and the restaurants. Had some beautiful strolls along the coastal path. A nice place to come back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SWGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We enjoyed a lovely week in Hope Cove staying with Nick and Mel at Sandpebbles. We stayed three days in room 8 with its balcony which was perfect for sitting and enjoying the Devon sunshine with a glass of wine and a good book, then Mel gave us the chance to move up to room 11 with its picture window offering beautiful views of Hope Cove and the sea.

The breakfasts are served in the large dining room and were a choice of prunes, grapefruit and cereal followed by a large full English or eggs or beans on toast. We were always offered more tea, coffee and toast, but these were never needed as the breakfasts were always very satisfying.

Nick and Mel are welcoming hosts and always ask you what your plans are and offer suggestions and advice to help you enjoy your visit to the beautiful
South Hams area of Devon.
We have no hesitation in recommending this guest house for your stay in Hope Cove.

Room Tip: Room 8 for balcony, Room 11 for sea view picture window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thornnhill-Parry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My parents stayed 3 nights and found that this stay was one of the more disappointing stays they had in the west country. The lady of the house were not very chatty during the stay while he was very kind in carrying their suitcase upstairs. The room was basic but very clean and looked a little tired. Sadly it lacked a table to write either in the room or in the communal area. Bathroom was small but very clean. The breakfast was OK but no extra tea or toast were offered which would have been very welcomed as a cooked breakfast might not be every bodies choice. Overall it felt a little overpriced for what was on offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dockolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Travelling as a couple, we were looking for a small and quaint B&B and this is exactly what we got. Room was more than adequate for our requirements, with tea and coffee making amenities to wake me up in the morning and a flat screen TV to help me sleep at night. The staff were very welcoming upon our arrival and showed us around our room and the dining and lounge areas.
Nothing was too much trouble for the family who run this guest house, they were always polite and courteous , welcoming at breakfast and very knowledgeable of the surrounding areas for places to visit and to eat and drink.

Me and my partner would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atitlikerabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Had a wonderful week at the Sand Pebbles guest house, in the beautiful village of Hope Cove. Our balcony room had stunning views; ahead and left to farmland, and to the right the picturesque village with the sea beyond. The room was comfortable, with a huge bed, pleasant bathroom and plenty of hot water. The owners, Melanie and Nick, were really welcoming and friendly, and provided us with a lovely fresh cooked breakfast each morning. Hope Cove itself is wonderful, and the coastal path provides stunning views in both directions. Switch your mobile off (you probably won't get reception anyway!), put on your walking boots and step back in time and immerse yourself in this unspoilt seaside resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights .......cut short our stay due to cold wet weather.

Guest house ok, stayed in room 8 , a little tired looking and not very cosy. Bathroom needed an upgrade. The bed although large was very hard and uncomfortable.
Breakfast each morning was lovely , cooked by the lady of the house.
We felt it a little pricey for what was on offer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizziej206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We can thoroughly recommend this lovely guesthouse in Hope Cove. My wife and I spent 4 nights at the end of May and stayed in Room 8 - a good sized en suite room with a super king sized double bed and a small balcony from where you can see the sea. It is just a short walk to the cove where there is a restaurant and pub, a tea shop and general store.

The welcome we had from the owners was warm, and we were very pleased with our choice. There is ample parking and we enjoyed a wholesome Full English breakfast each morning. The guesthouse is clean, tidy and just what we wanted for our break in South Devon.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Stagman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
3.9 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
895 reviews
2.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Hotel

Address: Hope Bypass, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hope Cove
Price Range: £46 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Pebbles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully situated in its own grounds only 250 metres from the safe, sandy beaches and village centre of Hope Cove. Sand Pebbles overlooks the sea and countryside and some of the most delightful coastal walks are just around the corner or, for guests simply wishing to take life a little easier, the hotel patio is ideal for relaxing and soaking up the sunshine and fresh Devon air.Our accommodation consists of 11 en-suite bedrooms comprising kings/doubles and a twin all comfortably furnished most with sea or country views and one with its own balcony and a family suite. All guest rooms have a Freeview LCD TV, beverage tray, toiletries and hairdryer. Newly refurbished for 2012 guest bar and restaurant with views over the village and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Sand Pebbles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing