We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully appointed, perfectly situated cottage...”
other travellers have booked this property
Yards from the beach and slipway in Hope Cove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yards from the beach and slipway in Hope Cove
First floor vaulted kitchen, with window seat, views of the beach. 
First floor vaulted sitting room with smart tv and stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Yards from the beach and slipway in Hope Cove
First floor vaulted kitchen, with window seat, views of the beach.
First floor vaulted sitting room with smart tv and stove.
Snug, off sitting room, with toys and books for children
Glass balustrade view to the left of terrace to beach. All weather seating and dining table + chairs
Large master bedroom with shower room ensuite and double wardrobe
Master bedroom with hairdryer and straighteners
En-suite shower room to master bedroom
Double bedroom with en-suite bathroom and double wardrobe
Full size twin bedded room with en-suite shower room and double wardrobe
En-suite shower room to twin bedded room
The Moorings with it's discreet solar panels!
Large first floor decked terrace, glass balustrade,views to beaches, seating and dining furniture.
Terrace with views to beaches
Beautiful Hope Cove with two beaches.
The glass balustrade allows wonderful sea views
Kitchen dresser
Master bedroom
Kitchen
Back lobby
Top of stairs
Beach for sailing, paddle boarding
The gulls enjoying the fruits of the ebbing tide.
Sandy beach just yards from the door
Wonderful sunsetsover the beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hope Cove, Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sean F
1 review
“Beautifully appointed, perfectly situated cottage with the beach and pub on your doorstep.”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Beautifully appointed, perfectly situated cottage only yards from the beach and the local pub restaurant. Who could want more? Comfortable and intelligently designed bedrooms, kitchen and sitting room allow for a wonderful family feel - a real 'home from home'. Thoroughly recommended and looking forward to our next stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Thanks Sean.
I appreciate the ‘intelligently’ designed bedrooms comment!
We sincerely hope that you will stay at The Moorings again
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianesmyt...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend away”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We arrived at Hope Cove and I felt like I had walked on to the set of Doc Martin! It is a beautiful spot with the most gorgeous views and The Moorings is perfectly placed just across from the beach. We were extremely lucky with the weather and when we opened the door the house was just stunning, beautifully decorated throughout and the deck enabled us to sit in the sunshine with a glass of wine admiring the fabulous view .... perfect! The bedrooms were all extremely comfortable and bathrooms too, just like a 5* Hotel to be honest! The kitchen was great as there were 6 of us and we could gather round the large table and cook and chat but my favourite spot was to sit at the kitchen window just looking out to the beach and sea beyond!
The lounge too was stunningly decorated and lovely to relax in after dinner.
The 2 pubs were only a short distance away - we had a meal in The Hope and Anchor which was lovely and we went on some beautiful walks which were very accessible and nearby.
Salcombe is very close and worth a visit too .... we will return as it was just a perfect weekend away and we had such fun - The Moorings has everything .... location, style, comfort and star quality! Oh and we took our chocolate Labrador Cocoa and she just loved it too ... doggie heaven!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Thank you, Diane.
I also love the window seat in the kitchen, especially on a summers morning when the kayaks and boats are getting ready to head out. It’s a busy beach on those occasions.
We would love you to come back to The Moorings, as would Cocoa!
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy G
1 review
“Absolute perfection, a beautiful house in a stunning location”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I absolutely loved the week I spent at The Moorings with my Parents and their Chihuahua , Milly.
They say Location, Location, Location and this is certainly true here.
Lie in bed (which by the way is extremely comfortable) and listen to the sound of the waves on the shore (with the window open), walk out the door and you are on the beach, look out the windows and you see the sea and from the terrace you get far reaching views along the coast in two different directions!
It is only a hop, skip and a jump from the Post Office/Shop, which has all the essentials and does the best hot Pasties, the pub, where the service and food is excellent whether it is a small bite or full blown restaurant dinner and the cafe/bistro that did the best crab sandwich that I have ever had.
The house itself is beautifully furnished in a way that is a cross between a 5 star hotel and a home. The kitchen has all the gadgets you could possibly need to lavishly entertain and you really feel Caroline has gone out of her way to try an think of every little detail that will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible.
Perfection

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
Thank you Kate for a wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying in the house and appreciated the location so much. Hope Cove is a very self-contained village, with tge Post Office/shop and pub/bar. Not having to leave is a major feature that our guests feedback.
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyRobe...
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed here in August with our parents and daughter and it was excellent. Perfect location for both beaches in Hope, nice and close (but not too close) to the pub, cafe and shop. Do a supermarket shop before you arrive and you don’t need to leave the village at all. Loved sitting out on the terrace watching the sea and people going by. House was really nice, all mod cons, would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thanks. The Moorings is a great place for multigenerational families. I am glad you found it worked for you.
The beach side location plus pubs and shops is handy, isnt it?
You are welcome to stay again
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaretb...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic Costal Retreat”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Perfect Location for Beauiful Scenery and Costal walks. Well equipped Spacious light and airy Accommodation. Beds are so comfy, large well equipped kitchen and large living area. Nice Balcony which has views of the sea. Like home from home. Two Pub restauarants near by, although it is still peaceful and quiet. We ate in both which were lovely, but we preferred the Cove, food was amazing in the Cove and Staff were friendly. Nice Costal walks, we visited Dartmouth and Salcombe which were not too far to drive. The owner Caroline left a book with some very useful information regarding where to visit, eat and general information. All in all had a very lovely time in Devon and will definitely be visting the Moorings again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Margaret, thank you for this review. We will welcome you back at any time.
I am glad that you got out and about, and enjoyed the beautiful coastal walks. Hope Cove is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty for good reason.
You are one of many who enjoyed The Cove - so handy as next door but one!
Hope to see you back soon,
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Gorgeous cottage and a super relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed for week in August - 4 adults, 2 children and a sea loving terrier. The Moorings is a lovely cottage every bit as gorgeous as its photos. The sun deck is the perfect place to relax in the sun and watch the waves. The ice cream parlour, great pubs and sandy beaches could hardly be any closer. The freshly baked croissants from the village shop are delicious. All in all a brilliant holiday in a lovely location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thanks, Helen, as an owner, it's always pleasing to know that our guests have enjoyed the cottage and their holiday. The terrace is a definite plus to the house, private but right in the thick of the action! My favourite spot to people watch!
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abelia201...
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage to chill out in with glorious views.”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent a wonderful week in this lovely cottage delightfully decorated with beautiful textiles and quirky items. Very well equipped and comfortable, with a deck to enjoy the view and make the most of the last of the evening sun.
The two beaches are gorgeous - one with rock pools for exploring, and the other one nearest the cottage is flatter and good for paddling, or if brave enough, to swim in.
I would definitely recommend The Moorings to my friends and would love to come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
It's really nice to have guests who appreciate the small touches in the property, thanks Patricia. I like to put a touch of humour into a room, something unexpected!
The deck does give wonderful opportunities for viewing the sunsets, which seem to be vibrant in Hope Cove.
We would welcome you and your family back at any time.
Thank you
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing