We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, dog friendly, beach location”
other travellers have booked this property
Yards from the beach and slipway in Hope Cove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yards from the beach and slipway in Hope Cove
First floor vaulted kitchen, with window seat, views of the beach. 
First floor vaulted sitting room with smart tv and stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Yards from the beach and slipway in Hope Cove
First floor vaulted kitchen, with window seat, views of the beach.
First floor vaulted sitting room with smart tv and stove.
Snug, off sitting room, with toys and books for children
Glass balustrade view to the left of terrace to beach. All weather seating and dining table + chairs
Large master bedroom with shower room ensuite and double wardrobe
Master bedroom with hairdryer and straighteners
En-suite shower room to master bedroom
Double bedroom with en-suite bathroom and double wardrobe
Full size twin bedded room with en-suite shower room and double wardrobe
En-suite shower room to twin bedded room
The Moorings with it's discreet solar panels!
Large first floor decked terrace, glass balustrade,views to beaches, seating and dining furniture.
Terrace with views to beaches
Beautiful Hope Cove with two beaches.
The glass balustrade allows wonderful sea views
Kitchen dresser
Master bedroom
Kitchen
Back lobby
Top of stairs
Beach for sailing, paddle boarding
The gulls enjoying the fruits of the ebbing tide.
Sandy beach just yards from the door
Wonderful sunsetsover the beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hope Cove, Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jimmychoo...
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect, dog friendly, beach location”
Reviewed 25 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We booked The Moorings at the beginning of the year after visiting Hope Cove for the first time. What a great place to stay! Very relaxed and comfortable dog friendly property with pretty much everything you could think of for a perfect break away from home. Lovely outside upper terrace which was really beautiful to sit out on during the late afternoon, We visited The Hope & Cove pub (hotel) and The Cove (both again dog friendly) on a number of occasions and had great food in both. Can't wait to come back next year, but please, don't tell anyone about this little gem, we don't want to spoil it x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2018
Thank you Max, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay so much.
The pub and bar are great - especially as they are dog friendly. We like breakfast in both - delicious!
The terrace is brilliant if weather allows. Great to sit and look at both beaches!
We would welcome you back, as you were great guests!
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillmiaWa...
walsall
1 review
“Fab break at the Moorings Hope Cove”
Reviewed 23 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Just returned from a fab break with family & 2 dogs at the moorings. Very high standards which is unusual when the propert is dog friendly. Property clean & well equipted. Couldn't wish for a better location & excellent views. Lovely walks & lovely food at the cove. Will definately visit again as didn't have time to visit the lobster pod.xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2018
You were perfect guests! Welcome any time. The ‘pods’ at The Lobster Pod are fun to try out. Very glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explore77...
1 review
“Cozy comfortable, lovely views and extremely convenient”
Reviewed 18 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

The Moorings was extremely comfortable and had a lovely feel about it. The location was fantastic, with the beach on the doorstep. No need to go anywhere else, unless you wish as there is everything within yards, good eating places, the shop, lovely harbour and great cliff walks. The owner has given a lot of thought to the decor and the balcony is great for watching the world go by and relaxing. Everyone seemed to be looking up enviously when we were there. Thank you so much for sharing the property with ourselves and our 3 small dogs. We all had a great time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2018
How lovely to hear that you were all comfortable, especially the dogs. Our dog , Rollo, loves being there, and I think the dogs enjoy the passing parade views from the terrace as much as the humans!
It is ideal to be in the centre of everything, too. No one has to be a designated driver with great pub and bar so close.
Thank you
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelleyey...
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer beach holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Just had a wonderful week in Hope Cove at The Moorings. We have been to this beautiful beach for many years and by far my favourite holiday let in the village. The outdoor balcony really makes the house extra special. Highly recommend it and hope to hire it again next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2018
Thank you, Shelley. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in The Moorings so much.the decked area is a real bonus, isn’t it? Guests can be ‘in the thick of it’ but distanced from the throngs passing by.
We will welcome you back at any time as easy, appreciative guests.
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAMES F
1 review
“The Moorings, is everything one could wish for , except parking.”
Reviewed 17 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The coast and harbour area, great for all holiday activities with family and dogs, restaurants very convenient too.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2018
Thank you James.
Yes, in an ideal world, it would be perfect to park outside the house, but luckily the car park is only 100yds away, could be worse!
The rest is exactly as you say, everything you could wish for. So glad it fitted the bill for you.
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedents2...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Paradise in Devon!”
Reviewed 21 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just spent another May half term in The Moorings and it's not our last! This house and the location is just brilliant for our family of 5. With 3 beds, all with en suite bathrooms, it gives us room to spread out and enjoy a week by the sea with no need to get in the car .. unless you haven't ordered enough food with Tesco delivery!
Caroline has tastefully decked the house beautifully, 'a little stool here and a tray table there', scattered cushions and woolen throws if you want to sit out late listening to the sea. The decking area is absolutely brilliant - an area to sit and chill and have a glass of something looking out to sea, an area for eating the perfect bbq or paella in our case, and an area to get the wetsuits dry and keep the kayak safe.
Nothing has been missed! And on a rainy day, the living accommodation has been well thought out - an area for the kids to sit, chill out and play a game and an adjoining sitting room for the adults to watch tv or read!

It is the nearest we will get to paradise I think for a holiday in the UK.

Offering 2 restaurants/pubs and another 'crab pot' opening soon, a local post office with pasties, ice-creams, newspapers and any other beach item you might have forgotten, I can't think of any reason why I wouldn't go back.... so I've booked a week in 2019 and one in 2020, happy days!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2018
Very happy to hear that you had yet another great holiday at The Moorings. It’s wonderful having guests such as you, and we are really delighted that you are booked in for the next 2 years! Thank you, Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShellyH12...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful House in perfect location”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We visited over the festive break with friends. The house is in a perfect position by the beach and looks are deceiving as it is very spacious. The house is beautifully decorated with very tasteful furnishings etc.
There is everything you need in the house with plenty of everything. We cooked a special meal whilst staying and couldn’t believe how well appointed the kitchen is
The beds are very comfortable with great pillows.
As it was the festive period the owners had added lovely Christmas decorations.
The house is next to the beach and meant great walks with the children & dog. There are two really nice pubs yards away both did good food, had entertainment and everyone was very friendly.
The local shop is open everyday and stocks all the basics as well as great bakery items.
Our friends rented next door which was also very lovely and very large for two people
Can not wait to return in the Summer so we can make use of the large terrace and go swimming etc
Would highly recommend this House

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
We are so glad that your festive break was succesful, and that the house suited you all. It’s great that you could all be together, using Sandy Nook as well as The Moorings.
Hope Cove seems to have everything necessary for a relaxing holiday - great pub/bar, shop, beach, gift shop, coastal path! We welcome you back at any time
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing