We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value.”
Review of B & B Tanfield

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B & B Tanfield
Ranked #3 of 4 Hope Cove B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We visit the Cottage Hotel twice a year and also stayed at the Tansfield. Clean en suite rooms.. Excellent breakfast at Tansfield and evening meal at the Cottage. This all makes us want to return every year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tkyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2010

I stayed at the Tanfield B & B with my mother, who is in her nineties, for a few days at the beginning of June.
Everything was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were delicious. They catered for every taste with fruit juices, water, fruit, cereals, yogurts, etc. Cooked breakfasts were freshly made to order and you could make your own toast, coffee and tea as and when you wanted. This suited us particularly well as I like my coffee with my breakfast and my mother likes a hot cup of coffee when she has finished eating.
The staff couldn't have been more attentive and friendly but were not intrusive. We could come and go as we pleased, a bonus for my mother who could not stay out all day.
My only slight criticism is that the television was positioned too high up in the bedroom for small people and my mother ended up with a crick in her neck every time she tried to watch it. Also a towel rail or hook on the bathroom door would have been helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thickwitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Good location, efficent and friendly housekeeping, excellent fresh food at the Tanfield and The Cottage Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvdpant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We spent a week at Tanfield. Comfortable bedroom with pleasant outlook, clean and a good bathroom en suite. The breakfast offered good variety and was very professionally served. We enjoyed sitting out in the well tended garden and terrace. Car parking was always available. We have recommended Tanfield to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank help_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

There's a limited choice of accommodation along this stretch of the south west coastal path, and they milk it. A persistent drip on your head from a leaky drain as you open the front door, that is once you've walked to get your key at the hotel 10 mins away and proffered your £20 deposit for the privilege. Then you're welcomed by an array of old people's home specials - from the upright velvet chairs to the 'caution - hot' sign slapped on the toaster next to the bag of bread. Definitely get the feeling that profit is the motivating factor here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonAnanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novabeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muoses05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hope Cove hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sand Pebbles Hotel
Sand Pebbles Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hope and Anchor
The Hope and Anchor
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Tanfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Tanfield

Address: Hope Cove, Salcombe, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hope Cove
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
B & B Tanfield Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing