We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's closed!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour Light - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Harbour Light
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: When in Hope Cove early October thisp lace was so good we went back twice more wihtin the same week
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's closed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We called in for lunch earlier today, after having read previous reviews. Unfortunately we were disappointed; the place was deserted and the place where the name board had hung was empty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed in Hope Cove for a short break this summer - our first visit to the area. The Harbour Lights restaurant looked lovely and, unable to get a table on the first evening, we reserved for the next day. What a good decision! We had a fabulous evening - excellent, beautifully presented food with such warm and friendly service. The restaurant is intimate and prettily decorated. We would not hesitate to return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

An absolutely fantastic restaurant with great food, friendly service and a real big welcome. The Harbour Lights was so good we dined here 3 nights during a week's stay in Hope Cove. The mussels and the monkfish were some on the best I've had anywhere in the world. The 2 ladies serving were warm, friendly friendly and professional. Our 3 meals were topped off on the final night when a broken local cashpoint meant we had no cash and were disappointed that we may not be able to enjoy our final meal at the restaurant. This was not a problem at all and we were asked to pop by with the money the following day. Try this restaurant you will not be disappointed at all !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DefrainePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lovely, well decorated fish restaurant. Delicious food, well presented.
A particularly tasty crab starter and perfectly cooked scallops.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't be disappointed !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I have worked as a waiter in an expensive seafood restaurant for more than 15 years. Customers do complain about their order. By and large these complaints came from people who only ate at expensive restaurants on special occasions or were spending more than they would usually pay. They were more likely to be disappointed that a seasoned diner. Their expectations were very high and can be disappointed because they had made an event of the night. I understand, but that’s life !
I have only dined at The Harbour Light once (May 2013). I can’t remember what I ate but the restaurant, the food and the service were very very good and I still remember that. The owners attended our table and the chef came to see us after dinner. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone. I’m sorry for the disappointed diners, but they will get over that with time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ErnestoAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Harbour Light also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing