We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope Barton Barns”
Review of Hope Barton Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hope Barton Barns
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Having a lovely time at Hope Barton. Cottages are fantastic as are the staff. This is a great place for a family holiday. Children and adults have a lovely time. We have been coming to Hope Barton for a number of years both with our family and now on our own and every time we are not disappointed. Come and enjoy all aspects of The Hope Barton experience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Caroline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

As well as being the best location to holiday in the UK, in our opinion, we absolutely love this family friendly complex. It has everything you need and provides the most relaxing holiday. The cottages are lovely (we have stayed in lots of different ones over the years!)- very traditional farmhouse type decor. The pool is great, although can be a little cold. There is a good bar area with fireplace for warm and cosy nights! Our children love all the animals (ducks, goats, pigs etc) and the play areas. It is ideally situated about 20 min from Hope Cove beaches and local pubs so you can do lots of lovely scenic walks. The management are all extremely friendly and will always help with any problems. There is a great little shop for essentials such as bread and milk or you can order meals to have in. We love going back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorinneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hope Barton barns is a very well kept secret. Anyone who discovers it - like us - returns again and again. So much to do for all ages. But you can also spend a very happy week doing absolutely nothing. Self catering cottages but you can order in food if you like it. The Monday night BBQ or buffet is a must. Cliff top walk to salcombe is breath taking. Friendly management team. Babysitting if you need it. Perfect for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m1ssmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Hope Barton Barns is a managed complex providing serviced holiday lets, the site is nestled within stunning countryside and is within easy walking distance of Hope Cove, a good local pub, village store and a restaurant. Salcombe and Kingsbridge are both a short drive away as are numerous picturesque beaches, coves and coastal walks. We stayed at the Linhay, a two bedroom family sized single storey converted coach barn with disabled access, it has all the facilities needed for a relaxing break and includes Sky TV and WiFi. Milk, bread and other fresh produce are available at Reception and the Pool Bar provides evening entertainment and food served with a smile. We thoroughly enjoyed the Monday night buffet and highly recommend the excellent food.

Room Tip: The Linhay is one of the few single storey barns and is situated in the heart of the complex; it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Real_Ale_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Visited Hope Barton Barns for the first time for a week from 31/5/13 and would like to say how wonderful it is. You can arrange for basic food essentials to be in the property for your arrival which is useful as it is a few miles to the nearest supermarket. We stayed in the Tackroom which was a 2 bedroomed accommodation. It was beautifully converted with solid comfortable furnishings and just felt like home. My husband and myself needed a peaceful holiday, where we could do as much or as little as we liked and that is exactly what we enjoyed. The facilities offered were excellent for couples or families alike and the location was perfectly situated close to the coastal path. Lots of things to do in the area and lots of lovely National Trust properties nearby too. We managed to get a bargain as well but this is a quality complex and we will be recommending it to anyone who will listen to us. We love Devon and Cornwall and this area has now become a firm favourite. We hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: The Tackroom was spacious and had a family bathroom and an ensuite. Rooms were all good sized and ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The English countryside is undoubtedly mesmerizing and this is yet another place on the list. The cottages are just so well done...you just need to pack your bags and come. Everything is available which should be in a self-catering cottage. The kitchen is well stocked. The rooms are cosy and neat. The welcome was very warm by the owners and their adorable chow-chow, Amber!
The views are so lovely that you can't get enough of it for your eyes or your camera. It's just about 10 mins from the beach and about 15 mins drive to Salcombe & Totnes rare breed farm. So, basically there are a couple of plces to visit around if you get bored of relaxing at this gorgeous farm.
There is table tennis and other games around the bar. The limited staff is very friendly and helpful.
It was a fantastic experience staying here...one can just sit @ a bench and stare @ the landscape or climb hills around and feel even better!
A must visit place for nature lovers! A good break from the city life!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kushika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I have just returned from a week's holiday at Hope Barton, I first visited when i was about 8 years old and this is my first time back in 6 years. Well it didn't disappoint, it was just as wonderful as I remember, peaceful, serene with beautiful views just a short walk from the beach of Hope Cove. Just what I needed for my week away from work.

The cottages are in need of slight modernising but are just full of country cottage charm.

I also found there were activities and dinners on in the evenings to bring all the people staying on site together to socalise. The monday night buffet and skittles on a wednesday (which is wonderful fun!). I will be back as often as I can get away from work! It was just a perfect week away, and just as good as I remember!!

You must try Britannia at the Beach in Beesands if you get a chance but remember to book - it gets very busy - the best local fresh seafood around and their fish pie is to die for!!

Can't wait to be back at Hope Barton again very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
3.5 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
819 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hope and Anchor
The Hope and Anchor
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Barton Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Barton Barns

Address: Hope Barton Barns Bolberry Road, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hope Cove
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering - Do you long for a break in beautiful South Devon? You’re not the only one. Each year thousands long to rediscover the quaint rural dwellings of England, from Devon to Scotland, and that’s why we’ve made it our mission to provide an out-of-bounds country haven, just a stones throw from the beautiful beaches of South Devon. Featuring handcrafted self-catered holiday cottages and apartments, converted by local craftsmen, Hope Barton Barns prides itself on providing traditional country-cottage living in a modern setting, with all associated comforts. All of our pet-friendly cottages are available for rent or, from time-to-time, purchased. We have 19 cottages on site and 3 apartments, all equipped with self-catering equipment. On site features an onsite shop/reception, bar, tennis court and swimming pool plus more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hope Barton Barns Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing