We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hope Barton Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hope Barton Barns
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just back from February half term break. We have visited many times and delighted each and every time. The staff are lovely and obliging particularly John who seems to be everywhere and all things. We turn up and the key is waiting in the door.
Don't miss the Monday night feast and the skittle evening. What a beautiful spot! You can walk down to the sea following a stream and go to the Hope & Anchor (Blazing log fire) or use many footpaths that surround the Barns. Lovely for kids lovely for adults.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirGuyGisborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
519 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Had a week on an exchange at Hope Barton Barns. The property itself is nice - quite spacious and well-equipped kitchen. However, it is quite a distance from anywhere & to get anywhere, it is along narrow single-track lanes. As it was a cold winter, walking and outdoor activities were limited. The Monday supper is worth it, & happy hour drinks reasonable. Electricity charges not cheap. Reception & staff very helpful & friendly. A tip - don't follow the GPS directions, follow the directions given by the resort. Our GPS took us down lanes so narrow that the branches were hitting the windscreen - not joking. If we come back, it would be in the summer.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank yss97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Having a lovely time at Hope Barton. Cottages are fantastic as are the staff. This is a great place for a family holiday. Children and adults have a lovely time. We have been coming to Hope Barton for a number of years both with our family and now on our own and every time we are not disappointed. Come and enjoy all aspects of The Hope Barton experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

As well as being the best location to holiday in the UK, in our opinion, we absolutely love this family friendly complex. It has everything you need and provides the most relaxing holiday. The cottages are lovely (we have stayed in lots of different ones over the years!)- very traditional farmhouse type decor. The pool is great, although can be a little cold. There is a good bar area with fireplace for warm and cosy nights! Our children love all the animals (ducks, goats, pigs etc) and the play areas. It is ideally situated about 20 min from Hope Cove beaches and local pubs so you can do lots of lovely scenic walks. The management are all extremely friendly and will always help with any problems. There is a great little shop for essentials such as bread and milk or you can order meals to have in. We love going back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorinneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hope Barton barns is a very well kept secret. Anyone who discovers it - like us - returns again and again. So much to do for all ages. But you can also spend a very happy week doing absolutely nothing. Self catering cottages but you can order in food if you like it. The Monday night BBQ or buffet is a must. Cliff top walk to salcombe is breath taking. Friendly management team. Babysitting if you need it. Perfect for families.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m1ssmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Hope Barton Barns is a managed complex providing serviced holiday lets, the site is nestled within stunning countryside and is within easy walking distance of Hope Cove, a good local pub, village store and a restaurant. Salcombe and Kingsbridge are both a short drive away as are numerous picturesque beaches, coves and coastal walks. We stayed at the Linhay, a two bedroom family sized single storey converted coach barn with disabled access, it has all the facilities needed for a relaxing break and includes Sky TV and WiFi. Milk, bread and other fresh produce are available at Reception and the Pool Bar provides evening entertainment and food served with a smile. We thoroughly enjoyed the Monday night buffet and highly recommend the excellent food.

Room Tip: The Linhay is one of the few single storey barns and is situated in the heart of the complex; it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Real_Ale_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Visited Hope Barton Barns for the first time for a week from 31/5/13 and would like to say how wonderful it is. You can arrange for basic food essentials to be in the property for your arrival which is useful as it is a few miles to the nearest supermarket. We stayed in the Tackroom which was a 2 bedroomed accommodation. It was beautifully converted with solid comfortable furnishings and just felt like home. My husband and myself needed a peaceful holiday, where we could do as much or as little as we liked and that is exactly what we enjoyed. The facilities offered were excellent for couples or families alike and the location was perfectly situated close to the coastal path. Lots of things to do in the area and lots of lovely National Trust properties nearby too. We managed to get a bargain as well but this is a quality complex and we will be recommending it to anyone who will listen to us. We love Devon and Cornwall and this area has now become a firm favourite. We hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: The Tackroom was spacious and had a family bathroom and an ensuite. Rooms were all good sized and ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
0.3 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.8 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.1 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Barton Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Barton Barns

Property: Hope Barton Barns
Address: Hope Barton Barns Bolberry Road, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hope Cove
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Hope Barton Barns Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing