We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Day Break at the Sun Bay Hotel”
Review of The Sun Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sun Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have been returning to the Sun Bay Hotel for many years now and fully recommend it.
Set in a wonderful location in Inner Hope next to the sea, it offers great views, and has many footpaths from the hotel, so there is no need to drive once you have arrived.
Michelle and her team offer great customer service and this year the food was just amazing, The Head Chef should go on Master Chef, he would win hands down! Thank you for making our 15th Wedding Anniversary so special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normaleppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for The Sun Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at the Sun Bay last summer, I am pleased to say that once again we had a wonderful stay. The food was excellent - breakfast really set us up for the day ( smoked haddock and poached egg was just superb!). Lots of great walks along the coastal path which gave me the perfect excuse to indulge in a cream tea in the afternoon! Lovely evenings spent in front of the wood stove and relaxing. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DillyDog95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have just returned from an Easter break at the Sun Bay Hotel and can't wait to return for another visit! Everyone was very warm & friendly & the food was fantastic. The views looking over the Cove are lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyB116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Me and my wife took a weeks holiday in the UK and despite the rain we had a fantastic time exploring the quaint villages and relaxing in the hotel with breathtaking views of the ocean. The food we had was excellent, fresh penne pasta with local seafood. The owners were very warm and friendly, this place is a must for any north American wishing to explore the English countryside.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our family visit to this hotel and restaurant was not our first, having enjoyed a Christmas day lunch and a previous family dinner. On this occasion we had lunch on a Sunday.
The welcome was warm and sincere, the service friendly but efficient and the food quite excellent. There was no hurry to leave the table nor indeed the hotel and, as before, the atmosphere throughout was relaxed and as comfortable as the deep chairs and settees in the lounge.
he bill. Pleasingly modest for such a great mealtime.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank properjob929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Just returned from a short break at this lovely hotel! This was our second visit to the Sun Bay Hotel and the warm welcome and friendly staff took the edge off the chilly weather!! I love it here - the position over looking the cove is just beautiful. Will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

we stayed here last week and had such a fantastic time. The food was great. we were well looked after really friendly atmosphere and not to mention the stunning view's from the hotel. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone else, friend's and family. See you again soon thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
4.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
166 reviews
3.5 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
404 reviews
2.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
792 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Bay Hotel

Address: Inner Hope Cove, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range: £72 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 bedroomed family run hotel 50 yds from the golden sandy beaches of Hope Cove. Dog friendly, we are on the world famous South West Coast path, the hotel was refurbished in 2009 and boasts a spacious sun terrace from which to enjoy breath taking views out to sea. Our restaurant is rapidly becoming the destination of choice for all those who love fresh locally produced fare and our speciality is locally caught sea food which is landed daily.We hope you will come and stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sun Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun Bay Hotel Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing