We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful trip to Devon”
Review of The Sun Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sun Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful trip to Devon”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We arrived in Hope cove and were warmly welcomed by the reception staff. We were shown to our rooms which overlooked the beautiful beach. the staff were kind and helpful and offered great advice on walking routes in the area. the sun bay served breakfast lunch and dinner which was divine from dawn till dusk!
will certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rufus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    127
    40
    31
    22
See reviews for
93
242
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A very warm welcome on arrival, a card and fresh flowers had been arranged in our room on behalf of the staff. Our experience of the food was second to none, we had arranged to stay B&B, but ended up eating no were else, the puddings are very much recommended. The service provided by the staff of The Sun Bay Hotel was warm, friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much effort.

We will be returning soon....

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 it had a fantastic view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We arrived at around 7 in the evening. To say we were welcomed would be an over statement. Receptionist/waitress told us we were late and the last to check in gave us a piece of paper to sign and told us our room number then disappeared. Upon finding room it was better than we expected from the reviews (room 9) bathroom ok very clean, bedroom ok bit dated view of a grass bank. The bed was comfortable but consisted of two single quilts one was very thick and the other thin. But we slept ok. We ate in the restaurant that evening, a few language difficulties with the waitresses food ordered and then told not available so reordered. Food was beautifully presented, but completely tasteless, don't have the chicken a strange boil in the bag taste. Waitress assured me the haddock was fresh - it wasn't. Breakfast the next morning was ok, toasters take forever. Waitress very nice but a bit too matey, when I commented on how long the toasters took she said they should get new ones because they liked to get rid of everyone by 9.30!! Up until this point the weekend was ok. Saturday evening we returned (ourselves and my brother and his wife) at approx 9.30 car park chaos, cars blocked in no care given to anyone who may want to leave and no one answering bell to any queries. On our return there was an apparent halloween disco, fine if you wanted to go to it we didn't. Three hours later and no sleep the disco continued, and let me say it wasn't as though it was a hotel disco in a separate room this was directly under your bedrooms. Tolerated for another hour, official DJ ended approx 1.15 (sigh of relief) but then they put on their own music. After complaining they did turn it off at approx 1.30 we then had an hour of people leaving (it seemed to be an disco for neighbours) which didn't really make you want to cooperate with the signs asking you to be quiet for the sake of the neighbours. What should have been a relaxing weekend made us feel tired, stressed and very upset. The response when we complained in the morning was, 'we sent you an email most of our guests are here just for the disco' It goes without saying that there was no email, and as we only booked a week before we arrived why were we not told about this when we booked i.e. before they took our money. The main problems here are that there is no presence from any owners or management you only dialogue is with the waitresses/receptionists who are not paid enough to have to deal with the obvious dissatisfaction. We had our breakfast interrupted several times because the waitress had to run out to do check outs, the only presence is waitresses/cleaners and they do their best. The owner/manager is obviously very hostile to criticism as demonstrated on this site but saying you are waiting for rubbish to be collected and that is why it is at the front of the hotel isn't acceptable, store it in a different place. I think the owners should be prepared to be present to accept complaints not leave it to their minimum wage workers. A shame I would go around the corner to outer hope the the pub there which does B & B much better

Room Tip: go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Summertime37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our intention was to use this hotel as a base, visiting my son & his family who live a few miles away. Having booked, we had an e-mail saying it was their Halloween party, & did we mind? Not only did we not mind, we altered the booking so that my family could all stay; they put a z-bed in our room for one child, & the others in a family room upstairs; both rooms (7 & 12) had sea views. We arrived early with the children, checked in, & sat in the window seat cheering as the waves pounded over the sea wall & soaked passing people & cars! A bit later, we went down to get closer to the action.

The party was brilliant - serious latex make-up & costumes; clearly the place is run by an extended family, & many guests were obviously their friends, but everyone was made to feel most welcome. The food (with an imaginatively themed menu) was excellent, & the disco & dancing afterwards were great fun, especially for the children. Next morning was interesting, matching 'normal' faces to the costumes from the previous night!

The room was basic but comfortable; the howling gale outside was kept more or less at bay; everything worked. The best feature of the hotel was the warmth & relaxed friendliness of the staff - you really felt part of the family and its celebrations. We asked if we could come back next year (my birthday is actually Oct 31st) with more family & a dog. We were shown into the conservatory, where we would be able have the dog with us to eat - perfect!

On the second day we consulted the very useful map in reception, and did the short but exhilarating walk round the headland - delightful & varied. Next time we'll do the long one, along the coastal path to Salcombe, highly recommended by the staff.

Chris & Liz

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at The Sun Bay Hotel. Great location, very friendly and infomal atmospere and excellent food. We loved it. The staff are very friendly and really made us welcome. Hope Cove is a stunninngly beautiful place and the hotel is in a very position.
The room we had was very adequate although the decor was a little tired.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We arrived in pitch dark and could hear the sea but couldn't see it so it was a wonderful surprise to wake up and see how close we really were. The evening food was excellent and the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Chose out of season when you are most likely to get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

well what can i say, the title says it all. Arrived mid day at the hotel and were able to check in straight away. We had requested a sea view room and this is what we got(room 6).The room is clean and tidy and yes the bathroom is rather small, but we didnt intend to spend to much time in there.The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable when we asked about walking routes.We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening. Breakfast was very good, plenty to choose from with the added bonus of being able to "do your own toast", so could have as much or as little as was wanted.We then asked for advice on where to visit for the day as the weather was a bit hit and miss, again local knowledge was very helpful.We were advised via email weeks before we travelled that the hotel was hosting a Halloween party and were given the option to change our dates if we wanted. We opted to join the fun of the party, and can honestly say it was one of the best Halloween parties we have been to.A three course meal with a choice of starters, main and sweet was delicious and served by staff who entered into the (spirit) of the night.We reluctantly checked out the next day after another hearty breakfast. I Would most definitely recommend this hotel and would like to thank the owners and lovely staff for all there hard work in making our weekend fantastic. We will be back.

Room Tip: room 6, faces the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scratchglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
4.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
165 reviews
3.5 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
774 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
593 reviews
8.4 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Bay Hotel

Property: The Sun Bay Hotel
Address: Inner Hope Cove, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 bedroomed family run hotel 50 yds from the golden sandy beaches of Hope Cove. Dog friendly, we are on the world famous South West Coast path, the hotel was refurbished in 2009 and boasts a spacious sun terrace from which to enjoy breath taking views out to sea. Our restaurant is rapidly becoming the destination of choice for all those who love fresh locally produced fare and our speciality is locally caught sea food which is landed daily.We hope you will come and stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Sun Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun Bay Hotel Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing