We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”
Review of L'Orri de Planes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Planes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Orri de Planes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“We will be back”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Ideal place to stay on a walking trip (we had just finished one) or just to relax. Great walking from the site, superb food, well arranged and comfortable accommodation - a bit more expensive than some, but well worth the difference - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    15
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
43
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed at L'Orri for two nights whilst completing sections of the GR10 - Pyrenees Way. Marta and Arif run a fantastic Gite, clean, comfortable, a pool, well thought out, a pleasure to rest tired legs after a long days walk. Everyone sits down at meal times to experience conversation, excellent local food, wine - an authentic French meal time - far beyond the expectation of the usual Gite experience. L'Orris offers accommodation in separate rooms or a spacious hostel building with great kitchen, washing and sleeping facilities - the bed was very comfortable and welcoming after long days and good food!

Perhaps the highlight of the place is the owners commitment to establishing a high quality, highly sustainable property which gives travellers a real taste of the Pyrenees - Highly recommended for families, walking groups, or anyone who wants to relax and enjoy the Pyrenees.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophandjono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IDAHO FALLS
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Talk about the right mix pf place, people, & food! Arif & Marta run a unique eco-lodge that has so many neat things operating at so many levels that it impossible to detail in a small space, you must experience it for yourself! The setting is incredible, the lodging is super clean, very well thought out and very friendly to the environment. Their commitment to local foods is incredible and extremely tasty! The dinner conversation is the renewal of a lost art.

If you are in this part of the world then you must stop here and experience what life used to be like and what we need to strive to make it once again. Slow down and enjoy life, people, and food!

Room Tip: A wide variety of rooming options, including handicapped accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdaPole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Marta and Arif run a welcoming place in Planès, where everyone participates in the common meal in the evenings and exchanges experiences over the good, local food, wine and quiet surroundings.
An ecological approach for a relaxing gite d´etape, including a swimming pool, lots of hiking possibilities and a warm and friendly treatment full of "caliu".
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at L'Orri for 4 nights and enjoyed every moment of our stay. Marta, Arif and Paulina made us instantly welcome (even though we'd arrived before check-in time) and coped admirably and uncomplainingly with the revelation that we are both vegetarians (we had, inexcusably, forgotten to warn them). We'd come to walk and they gave us excellent and carefully-tailored advice on where to go for each of our 3 days there - they know all the local trails (GR, PR and others) very well indeed. The house is a beautiful modernisation and conversion of an older building: elegant and distinctive, and extremely comfortable. The cosy sitting room is very well supplied with reading matter in several languages, including novels, guide books, flora and fauna guides, children's books and children's toys. Bedrooms are simple but comfortable and although bathrooms are shared, during our stay when the house wasn't full they had spaced everyone out so we had a bathroom to ourselves. Food: simple breakfasts with superb ingredients, delicious and sustaining packed lunches on request, and wonderful dinners, all eaten communally (including the hosts) at large tables with conversation in a splendid mixture of languages (the hosts speak perfect French, Catalan, Spanish, English and goodness knows how many other languages). Everything organic and so far as we could tell, everything possible came from known local suppliers/producers (for example there is a wonderful dairy and cheese maker in the village which produces what is undeniably the world's best yogurt). And you have the satisfaction of knowing that there are very high-tech solar heating and electric systems plus clever design to keep you warm or cool: reliable and sustainable, but with no fuss whatsoever.

Our overall impression was of a clear and distinctive philosophy, which we found entirely congenial. This is not a typical hotel and the guest is not automatically always right, which may explain the odd negative review. Marta and Arif are running an establishment on strong ecological principles - you won't get a clean towel every day (but you can have one if you need it), dinner is served once only at a fixed time (but if you do arrive late you will be forgiven), and they have opinions on how to live which they won't conceal from you. For us, this was not only sensible but delightful and we can't wait to go back.

Oh, and the view from the terrace and the solar-heated swimming pool is just stunning, as is the landscape. There are marmots and chamois to be seen just up the nearest valley, and the wild flowers in July made the Alps seem boring.

One tip - have a look at the little shop / office in good time before you leave: we only discovered it as we left to catch the train and didn't have a chance to fully browse the jewellery and other gifts available. Even so, we found some good presents for family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver_eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We had a wonderful stay at L'Orri (10 days). The eco-kitchen of Martha (& Megan), the great location to start all sorts of hiking, the swimmingpool to relax tired leg-muscles, pastis in the eveningsun, advice off all sorts by Arif,...
If u don't like hiking in the mountains, if u don't like good eating, if u don't like quiet places, if u haven't got a bit of an ecological mind, stay away. Otherwise, don't doubt, it's one of the best places to spend a holiday in the mountains.
If it isn't in 2011, it'll be in 2012, but we'll come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatLeuven_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We have stayed 4 or 5 times in this house and we recommend it to all the people who enjoy with healthy meals from high quality products. Meats, cheeses, yoghurts, bread, juices, mermelades, "llonganices i fuets" and wine are delicious.
You can go walking to the St Thomas thermal springs, Mont Lluis or simply follow the GR 10 or GR 36 paths near the house..
Finally, I don't recommend this house to the families with kids that not eat properly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgilrincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to L'Orri de Planes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Orri de Planes

Property: L'Orri de Planes
Address: Hameau Al Mitg | Planes, 66210 Planes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Planes
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Planes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Orri de Planès is a unique family run eco-lodge that combines comfort, design and environmental consciousness with a friendly, international atmosphere. Located on the Trans-Pyrenees hiking trail (GR 10) in a beautiful natural setting, the Orri offers guests comfortable rooms and delicious home-cooked meals prepared using local and organic ingredients. Other accommodation options include a hikers lodge that sleeps 16 and a small campground with four mini-yurts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing