We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Tam Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aranjuez(San Jose)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
36
32
10
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
32
10
13
14
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Castle Tam for us was the perfect pit stop in San Jose.
24hr check in and security is helpful as often people passing through are coming and going on buses at all hours. The well planned out hostel has an abundance of helpful resources about transport, San Jose and Costa Rica which is a nice touch.

The living area is clean and homely and there are 2 kitchens well stocked with utensils. The wifi is fast and the showers are hot. There are also a variety of different room sizes, from a private single to an 8 bed dorm and everything inbetween.

We just passed through going south, and returned on the way back north but many people we met were staying for weeks. The staff were always helpful with directions, organising transport and making sure we were comfortable. On the the loudest night of the year (the election) I had an early morning and they came and offered me a quieter room. However, on our first stay, the immediate surrounding area was very quiet.

Free breakfast is severed daily and coffee is available all day which is a treat. It is a 3 minute walk to the bus stop to go down town and 5 minutes to the university area which has lots of food and entertainment options.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Simple but homely with mostly friendly staff. Close to numerous buses at a short drive from center. 2 equipped kitchens, tv area, heaps of books to borrow on costa rica... Ideal budget option. But no 10$ a night in san jose is not going to buy you a haute cuisine breakfast included in the price but here it does buy you a couple of eggs and bit of fruit to set you going for the day which we were more than happy with. Very good internet connection and speedy laundry service.

Room Tip: Bakerloo was fine
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonesy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was fortunate to have the opportunity to stay for one month at the Castle Tam in Costa Rica.

1. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and they had a great sense of humor.

2. The room was basic but very comfortable and clean.

3. Two large kitchens that are fully equipped and you can prepare any type of meal.

4. Ample refrigerator space and 2 microwave ovens.

5. The bathrooms have excellent hot water and shower space.

6. The location is fantastic with public transportation to all of Costa Rica just a short walk from your door.

7. The security is excellent and I never heard of anyone have a problem while I was there.

This is a great place to hang you hat if you are looking for friendly people and a user friendly price.

Room Tip: Make reservations as early as possible
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1234brandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The staff was very unfriendly at all times and didn't make us feel welcome. It seems that there are a few guests who have a TV and because the walls are really thin you could here the tv in the middle of the night when you wanted to sleep. Also the included breakfast contains of 1 slice of bread, 1/2 banana and terrible eggs. I wouldn't go here again when I'm in San Jose!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sjors d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I advice all travelers to better stay somewhere else, me and My bf stayed there 2 times in february. First time we felt unwelcome by this Guy that works there, hes literally the worst hostel employee ever, he annoys Every customer by repeting the rules 7 times then he doesnt know anything about customer service, we stayed about 5 nights in a private room, we needed to stay one more and he came to the door at 11 Sharp saying in a robotic voice: i don't know if u can read but u need to tell the STAFF before u stay one more night (check out was at 11) next time got even worse, this dude was like oh u stayed here before rules are the Same, next morning we were looking for him to bring us breakfast so My bf went to the garage to knock on the door and he came super ruse saying to him: i don't know if u can read the signs but u cant go there we have private stuff going on, i mean he is in charge of breakfast and you gotta go and look for him, if u wanna have a Nice time Do Not Go There

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garyhtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews