We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hostel”
Review of Hostel Urbano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Urbano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Hostel Urbano is a great place to stay. I haven't felt as comfortable in any other hostels. The atmosphere is warm, welcoming, clean, and tastefully artistic. It is not crowded, junky or unclean. The staff gives you a tour and helps you in any way you need. Breakfast is included and delicious! Everyone sits in the kitchen like family (and no awkward moments with strangers). The bunks are clean and there is good space to spread out and read or meet friends. I can't wait to return and I will tell everyone visiting San Jose to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelitahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2015

Hola!!

It makes us very happy to know that you felt so comfortable at Hostel Urbano, we love what we do and enjoy helping our guests with everything they need! We make sure everything is clean and comfortable, we provide free breakfast and we offer different rooms such as privates with bathroom or shared bathroom, and our mixed dorm with big locks, so everyone can choose what they are looking for. Also we have a cool pool table, some games, movies, books, and a garden area where you can meet awesome travelers.

Pura Vida, you're more than welcome here at Hostel Urbano!!
Hostel Urbano Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

The outsides first appearance is not all that beautiful, but inside is spacious and clean, and decorated well! The staff are all willing to help and so friendly to talk with and joke with. The breakfast was wonderful and the other travelers that were there echoed to feel of the hostel!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariannadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Hola!!

Thanks for your review! We are glad you enjoy your stay at Urbano! Our staff members love to help all our guest and let them know where they can go to enjoy their stay here in San Pedro and San Jose center (the bars, restaurants, popular events, the costarrican life, and the pura vida life), and another thing that is very important for us is keep everything clean and comfortable :) .Also we have a cool pool table, some games, movies, books, and a garden area where you can meet awesome travelers.

Pura Vida!!
Hostel Urbano Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Great location for exploring San Jose and day trips around. It's located in a pretty safe neighborhood right on the main bus line into downtown San Jose. Bars, restaurants, bank, groceries... everything you need is close by. Not for light sleepers, though, since it is right on the Avenida Central with cars, trucks, lights, horns, etc.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Musiqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Hola!!

Thanks for your review! We love to help all our guest and let them know where they can go to enjoyed their stay here in San Jose center and San Pedro (the bars, restaurants, popular events, the costarrican life...) which is great, because since we are near the University of Costa Rica you can find everything you need, also we provide shuttle services which can make it easier to get to the bus stations and the airport, we also provide free breakfast, and we make sure everything is clean and comfortable :).

Pura Vida!
Hostel Urbano Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Want to come to Costa Rica and spend some days in San José ? Hostel Urbano is just the place you you look for! The accommodations are really CLEAN, 6 stars out of 5 for the Staff attendance! A warm and nice place to be RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE UNIVERSITY LIFE ! ( party, food, shops, just name it... its close). meet nice people and keep your journey as it should be just pura vida!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2015

Hola Luiiis!!

Thanks for your kind words! It's always super nice to have you here as part of the Urbano family!!

Pura Vida!
Hostel Urbano Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It dosen't take more then a minute after entering this place and you will feel what everyone is talking about. This place have something special.

I stayed there several of times during my latest travels in Costa Rica. This was my first time in a hostel and understanding the travelers i met during my stay at this place this was the best hostel they stayed at. People had traveled for months not finding a place like this. I think the key to there success is the atmosphere and there amazing staff. The «boarder» between employee and guest is taken away. Much because most of the staff lives there and work as volunteers. The beds are big and comfy. Lots of space with a comfortable madras. The lockers are huge so you can put all your luggage in there. I never in all my travels experienced a place like this. The perfect place for a backpacker to use as a hub while doing her/his travelling. They will gladly store the luggage for you when you are on the road. Pancakes and fruit was included in the price. Nice big kitchen with everything i needed to do my cocking. Big TV with lot's of movies. In the evening there is lot's of places to enjoy a drink. Next to the hostel you find the University and lot's of bars and places to eat. The backyard is where all the friendships and romance begins. One day every week they have pizza night or italian. I highly recommend this place for all travelers!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arcticblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Hola Lief!!

Thanks so much for your kind words! We always try to help all our guests with their trip and make them feel at home! We make sure everyone is confortable and enjoy their stay at Urbano.

P.s: We miss you!!

Lots of hugs,
Hostel Urbano Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My sister and I flew in and out of San Jose, during a month-long backpacking trip of Central America; therefore, our first and last stop was Hostel Urbano. We actually had a stop over in between these two stays in San Jose on our way to Puerto Veijo. We decided we wantd to stay in San Jose proper and ended up at at 'Hostel Pangea' - it was a serious dissapointment; we were in a room with no windows for $20/pp, with grumpy staff in a roughhhh part of town.

The hostel staff kindly had someone meet us at the airport, even though we had a mix-up re: the landing time, someone was still there. We stayed in the dorm next to the garden, and it was fairly quiet. Other guests were respectful of the others sleeping. The beds were comfy, with clean sheets. The rooms fit like, 12 people, but they do not feel cramped. There aren't many plugs in the rooms, which would've been nice, and the lockers could be a bit better (my sister's had loose hinges and the loop for your lock is quite tight) but they're large and fit all your stuff with ease. It felt safe enough for me to leave my iPhone charging unattended in the room and in the common area, though. We didn't receive a towel on our first visit, which kind of sucks, so make sure to ask for one when you get to the front desk.

The staff was super friendly - they helped us get a cab outside, gave us recommendations for nearby restaurants, and gave us directions to an ATM and the grocery store. They're nothing but geniune, and really seem to go out of their way to help you and make you feel at home. We hardly experienced similar levels of friendliness anywhere else in terms of staff, so kudos! They really make this place shine.

There is a binder at the desk with information re: bus routes to anywhere you want to go. They also sell small snacks at the front desk. I did find it odd that during the night there doesn't seem to be any staff - we left at 4AM to go to the airport on our last night, and there wasn't anyone around; we found at other hostels in Central America there was at least a security guard sleeping on a couch or something.

The wifi was good, the free breakfast was good, the showers were hot and clean. We overall felt safe at the hostel and it was in a nice neighbourhood with lots of resources (mall, ATMs, restos, park, convenience store). The hostel had a great vibe, and the lounge areas were really nice; we spent our last evening watching movies on the couch with some other travelers. The kitchen is super well stocked -we didn't see anything similar on our travels.

Overall, we 100% suggest staying here. This hostel is by-far the best deal you will find in San Jose and the entire experience was nothing but a positive one.

Room Tip: We liked the dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaitlyn_montgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2015

Hola!

Thanks for your review! We love to help all our guest and let them know where they can go to enjoyed their stay here in San Jose center and San Pedro (the bars, restaurants, popular events, the costarrican life...) which is great, because since we are near the University of Costa Rica you can find everything you need, also we provide shuttle services which can make it easier to get to the bus stations and the airport, we also provide free breakfast, and we make sure everything is clean and comfortable :).
We have different rooms such as privates with bathroom or shared bathroom, and our mixed dorm with big locks and we also put more conectors near the beds so you can charge your devices close to you :)!

Hope to have you here soon, Pura Vida!!
Hostel Urbano Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The best part of this place was the staff, otherwise I had a rather lousy experience at Hostel Urbano. The ladies working the desk were super friendly and great about giving directions and instructions for anywhere I wanted to go, and even helped me get a taxi in the morning to make sure I wasn't overcharged.

The main problem was that I was in the upstairs dorm which has the only bathroom upstairs, so not only was the bathroom shared amongst the 12 of us staying on the 2nd floor, but everyone upstairs had to walk through our room anytime they wanted to use the bathroom. There was another room connected to our dorm (it may have counted as part of the dorm, I'm not sure) that was accessed by a door on the far side of the room. The people staying in that room spent the night drinking and smoking and going in and out and in and out of the room. Every time they entered the main dorm we were hit by the stink of cigarettes and drunkenness, the cold air from their open windows, and the light from their room as they left the door open during their out-of-room-forays.

The dorm beds have built-in lockers, but they are super hard to use because the metal loop doesn't stick out very far for you to thread your lock through. Also, the door on my locker was broken and even with the lock on it was possible to stick my entire arm into the locker.

The bathrooms are really nice, though there seem to only be 3 to share (I don't know if the privates have their own bathrooms, but anyone in either dorm has to share the 3 bathrooms). I met a lot of people staying at the hostel because we were constantly queued at the door.

Pros: good hot water showers, towel included, breakfast, awesome staff, close to banks and supermarket, entrance is in the park and off the busy street.

Cons: lack of bathrooms, interconnected rooms with shared entry, hard to use lockers/broken, breakfast is cold pancakes and tiny tiny cubes of pineapple.

Room Tip: Check to see if the downstairs dorm is free standing (i.e. is not the entrance to anyone else's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2015

Hi,

Thank you for this review.

All our staff members love to help all our guests to enjoy their stay in Costa Rica, and help them get where they want to go, so we appreciate your kind words.

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the guests staying at the small room which is also part of the mixed dorm, we are going to make sure this doesn’t happen again. We just want to let you know that we explain to all our guests that they can not smoke inside the room, and also we put signs inside the room as a reminder.

As for the lockers, we had some trouble with some of them, but we fix it with new locks, so hopefully this won’t happen again.

As for the bathroom upstairs, the only guests who can use it are the ones at the 12 mixed dorm upstairs, but in case someone needs the bathroom, guests can ask at the front desk if they can use the two bathrooms downstairs. Also the other two private rooms upstairs have its own private bathrooms.

Again, thank you for this review, everything our guests tell us help us to be better, grow and improve our guest service each day.

Pura Vida,
Hostel Urbano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
1.8 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#57 of 78 in San Jose
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
In the Wind Hostel
In the Wind Hostel
#6 of 14 in San Pedro
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 84 in San Jose
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 14 in San Pedro
270 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#4 of 125 in San Jose Metro
399 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#4 of 84 in San Jose
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Urbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Urbano

Address: In front of the Kennedy Park, San Pedro 645-7050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Pedro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range: £7 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a relaxed, fresh, clean, friendly, nice place to stay in San Jose, then look no further: Hostel Urbano is the ideal place for you!! Excellently located, on the University of Costa Rica Campus area, our hostel provides you with the perfect location surrounded by tons of restaurants, bars, banks, stores, malls, buses, taxis and even the train service!! So go ahead and check out our services and facilities and book now!! Please note: we are #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in San Jose, as per tripadvisor!!! and have had excellence certificate every year since opened!!! as well as hoscars 2015 winners of Costa Rica!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Urbano Costa Rica/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing