We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like being at home”
Review of Casa Areka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Areka
Reviewed 8 April 2014

La Casa Areka was our base to visit Costa Rica, we stayed about 8 nights.
Michael was very welcoming, friendy and was an excellent guide too! The rooms are simple but very comfortable and clean. I recommend it whitout a doubt!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte0186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed 2 nights in casa Areka. The place is well located.I immediately felt comfortable in this place with all the attention given by the owner, Mikey. Mikey is very friendly and when you go to casa Areka, he will treat you like you a friend. The rooms are comfortable and not expensive. It's a very good place to stay in San José, and Mikey offers you his knowledge of Costa Rica if you talk to him about which places you want to visit. I recommend this place! Thank you CASA AREKA!

Room Tip: Talk with Mikey about what you need, he has several options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dct_Tdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed in the Hostal Casa Areka for 9 nights (affectionately called by Venezuelans as "Casa ArePas" by the hospitality of the landlord).

Mickey, hostel owner, was a great guide during my stopover in Costa Rica. Aditionally, the environment feels like if you were in some friend’s house and not in a urban hostal.

Casa Areka has good installations, furthermore, is located in a very strategic point of the City; you can go to downtown walking and it is close to good shops and restaurants: right in front of the Burger King and San Pedro Mall, everything is reachable from it.

Definitely recommendable, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franklin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights and felt like I was at a friend's place. Michael was very welcoming and let me park my car in the garage, even though it meant he had to go through the hassle of moving his own car every night, for me to squeeze in!

The kitchen area is big and clean so it's easy to cook your stuff if you bring food along.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt123456723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stay in the hostal for 3 nights, the owner was very nice and kind. The atmosphere feels like if you were in some friends house. It´s located in a very strategic point of the city, you can go to downtown walking, which is 15 min, or take a taxi or use the public transportation. And there are a few restaurants close to the hostal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazmín V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night. The owner was so nice. I felt like I was at my friend's house. He modified from the local house to the guesthouse. He provided me a small breakfast, bread and tea, that it was better than nothing. There were not a lot of guests when I stayed here. So, it's very quiet at night. Sometimes it's too quiet. However, it's pretty far from the downtown. You cannot walk from the hotel to the middle of the city. You have to take a taxi. Besides, the bathroom in the dormitory was pretty terrible. I had to take a shower as fast as I could. Fortunately, this guesthouse was so close to Burger King. You can get there in 3 min. There was a department store nearby. It needed around 8 min to reach that store.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodidear999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We only stayed in hostal Casa Areka for one night. Michael was very kind and helpfull to us. He came to pick us up at the airport and gave us good tripadvise for our stay in Costa Rica. It was nice to notice that he was honest instead of just selling what he has to offer.
We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. It wasn´t very convenient that this bathroom was situated in the dormroom. So to use the bathroom we had to go into the dormitory.
If you are looking for a basic bed and very nice company, then this would be a good place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ave del Paraiso
Hotel Ave del Paraiso
#2 of 3 in San Pedro
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jade
Boutique Hotel Jade
#1 of 3 in San Pedro
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Mundo En Un Castillo
Hotel El Mundo En Un Castillo
#12 of 13 in San Pedro
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Yoses Hostel
Casa Yoses Hostel
#9 of 13 in San Pedro
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Kibi Kibi
Casa Kibi Kibi
#5 of 13 in San Pedro
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Areka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Areka

Address: San Pedro, Barrio Roosevelt Av. 14 y Calle 61 | 100 mts este y 200 mts sur de la Escuela Roosevelt, Casa #26., San Pedro 10101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Pedro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range: £18 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Areka 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Casa Areka Costa Rica, have better installation, rooms more comfortable and cozy, privates or shared, bigger shared areas, full kitchen for the use of the guests, backyard with BBQ area and bathroom with hot water. Just a 25 minutes from the city center or less then 10 minutes in a public bus. 6 blocks from the University of Costa Rica (UCR) and closer to other universities and langue institutes like ILISA and Maximo Nivel. Close to shopping malls like Mall San Pedro and Multiplaza Curridabat, super markets, restaurants, movies, bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Areka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Areka Costa Rica/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing