We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenic Hideaway”
Review of Gembrook Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gembrook Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Gembrook B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Bernie and Taneka couldnt be more welcoming, the cottages are both beautiful (I had a peek at the Blue Bells one!!!). It was relaxing and far from the hustle and bustle of the city. The Gardens are private and tranquil and The Harem Cottage was just so lovely with plenty of room and all conveniences required to make ones stay as comfortable as possible. Thanks again guys for sharing your slice of "Heaven" with us. Andrea & Gez :) We will be back for more ......

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks so much for remembering to review us on Tripadvisor! We really appreciate you taking the time to submit a review and are very happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Maybe you will want to try Bluebells next time. Cheers, Tineke and Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay in the Harem room for 2 nights in November 2013. Everything was lovely, from the decor to the food, the fire and the spa. Private and quiet, set in a lovely township. Easy walk to shops. Lovely bush walk very close by. Service very friendly and helpful. Thanks for helping make our 20th Wedding Anniversary wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raewmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks so much for your excellent review. We love hearing how our guests enjoyed Gembrook Cottages. We especially appreciate your comments about the little details that we think make it extra special. We hope to see you again sometime! All the very best, Tineke and Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Gembrook Cottages and definitely won't be our last. As you step into your special cottage your are swept away into the perfect combination of peace, romance, excitement and sheer relaxation. All the creature comforts of home and yet all the special touches provided to make you feel like royalty. A must for every couple for any occasion. The owners are so friendly and welcoming and go out of their way to make everything perfect. We have stayed in many different 5 star accommodations both in Australia and overseas and rate Gembrook Cottages as one of the best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thanks for leaving such a good review. You both are great guests and are pleased that you enjoy your stay at Gembrook Cottages so much. We will look forward to welcoming you both again in the future. Tineke and Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The attention to detail blew us away! Such a lovely place to relax and enjoy nature! We stayed in The Harem room two nights but could have stayed much longer! We took a little drive around the area and enjoyed the serenity and beautiful green hills but preferred to stay in the cottage drinking wine and hanging in the spa. It felt like our little cabin away from the city. Simply loved it! We will definitely organise another stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thanks for the wonderful things you wrote. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Tineke and Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was our third trip to Gembrook cottages and i must say we will definitely be back again. We Have stayed in both the Harem and Blue Bells and must admit as lovely as the Harem is Blue bells is our favorite. We stayed Mid week and it was heaven even though the area was very quiet. The owners are so hospitable and the cottages very well looked after, every attention to detail is looked after, from heated towel rails to candles outside near the Jacuzzi.
A Pizza shop was open across the road and the pizzas were the best i have had in a long time.

Cant wait to go back again!

Room Tip: Blue Bells is our favorite with its secluded outdoor Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacey_c00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thanks for the fantastic review Stacey and I agree with you, my preference out of both cottages is Bluebells as well. It's great sitting in the warm spa amongst nature and gazing at the sky. You've both been great guests and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Tineke and Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Perfect spot to celebrate your anniversary! The weather was not the best that weekend, but we had nonetheless an amazing time relaxing at the indoor spa and sitting by the fire! The cottages had incredible little touches that adds to the unique dynamic of the interior! Very romantic I might add! The owners were friendly and very helpful in giving us advice on events/places around the area. There were plenty of places to enjoy impromptu hikes/walks around the area, but best to do it during summer.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mouthshut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for your review. It's a shame the weather wasn't better for you as we knew that you wanted to enjoy the bush walking in the area. Regards Tineke and Bernie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

OMG!!!! This place is just the amazing!!!

My friend had spent the night here and loved it and when I saw photos of the cottages I thought it would be perfect for a surprise birthday weekend for my fiance!

When we arrived it was a little difficult to find but when we did find it we were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming woman. She showed us to our room and when we got to the front door I loved it instantly!!

When I walked in the fire was roaring and soft romantic music playing, instantly felt relaxed and calm. I noticed that a birthday set up was done which just made our trip that more personal and special. There were little surprises in everything you could open from chocolates to masqurade masks! It was sooo good!

The spa outside was perfect. Warm and so relaxing where we spent hours in there drinking the champagne and strawberries that were left in the room for us.

We could not fault this place one bit! Perfect for a very quiet, relaxing and romantic getaway.
Will come back very soon!!

Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for the lovely comments. I didn't think your promise of a return would be so quick.... You're back 1 day later in Bluebell cottage again which is great. Hopefully next time The Harem will be free for you to try.
Good to see you again so soon!!
Tineke and Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gembrook
20.8 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
23.7 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Whistle-Stopover
Whistle-Stopover
#1 of 1 in Cockatoo
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Charnwood Cottages
Charnwood Cottages
#2 of 4 in Warburton
37 reviews
20.7 mi away
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
#1 of 21 in Healesville
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gembrook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gembrook Cottages

Address: 91 Main St, Gembrook, Victoria 3783, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Gembrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gembrook
Price Range: £136 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gembrook Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gembrook Cottages Bed and Breakfast are located in the Dandenong Ranges and are a great base to explore the local Villages and attractions. Conveniently situated at the gateway to the Yarra Valley and are only 1 hour from Melbourne and the Mornington Peninsula. 'The Harem'is an open plan cottage with soaring windows and leadlight door, has an exotic four-poster bed swathed in drapes and veils. Sumptuous soft furnishings in spice tones and the sunken double spa seal the deliciously romantic mood. 'Bluebells' is an enchanting boudoir with antique-crystal bed lights and a four-poster bed draped in silk and muslin with cushions a plenty. Inside you will find a lilac and Mediterranean blue open-plan cottage with stunning soft furnishings, leadlight windows and door with the large secluded indoor/outdoor jacuzzi seen through twinkling beads from the four poster bed. These separate themed cottages have their own private gardens with high gabled tin roofs, cathedral ceilings, leadlight windows/doors, intimate spas, wood fires, four poster queen-beds, air conditioning, LCD TV, DVD, CD players with ipod dock, stunning soft furnishings, kitchens with full facilities, bbq's and outdoor tables. Breakfast ingredients are tucked away, for you to cook at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gembrook Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing