We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gembrook Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gembrook Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Gembrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
“Perfect little get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We've stayed at the Gembrook cottages a couple of times now, and it never fails to disappoint. Both rooms are beautiful, but our favourite would have to be the Harem. Perfect for a cheeky little get away, this cottage gives you the perfect opportunity to relax and unwind in it's indoor spa. Definitely making this an annual get away. Thank you for everything Tineke and Bernie.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaZul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you Anita for your lovely review. You're both great guests and it will be a pleasure to see you again for your annual break.

Tineke and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Traveled at the end of June. Perfect location and a welcoming atmosphere. Firewood at your door and enough breakfast to feed the both of us.We adored our stay and are looking forward to planning our next getaway to Gembrook Cottages.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for leaving a great review. We'll look forward to welcoming you both again.

Tineke and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is the 3rd time staying in the bluebells cottage, this time for my birthday and this time with our 4month old daughter. As usual we had an amazing relaxing time! I can't remember if this was the same as last time but the cooktop took forever to heat up so our dinner took awhile to actually cook! The jacuzzi was amazing as usual and the bottle of sparkling left for us was yummy!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank traveller2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for another great review. We're pleased you came back again, you're great guests and we will always welcome you back. We'll check the mini kitchen cooktop and see if it's working ok. When cooking with this mini cooktop it has a built in safety precaution, so when you use the oven/grill only one hot plate works. It was designed that way for safety reasons by the manufacturer. Hope to see you again in the future. Tineke and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovely location near to cafés, take-aways and Puffing Billy. Owners were friendly and full of knowledge of local area. It is great setting. Loved the privacy of the hot tub which allowed us to feel pampered and relaxed. There were a number of extra touches that we appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Manager at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We try to pass on as much of the local knowledge as we can to ensure our guests have a great stay.
Tineke and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My partner and I stayed in the Harem for 2 nights to celebrate my Birthday, everything was luxurious from the decor and candlelit spa to the wood fire and the 4 poster bed! The little touches such as the birthday balloon left and chocolates were such a nice suprise and the candles in the cottage just set of the romantic scene even more. The breakfast provided was lovely and the fresh bread left was so nice plus there was fresh coffee and tea leaves with orange juice not to mention port which we had with our evening meal. This all provided such a relaxing break for us and was just nice to relax and unwind for the weekend, the town is small and quaint and just outside is beautiful scenery but we didnt bother to explore until after our stay as it was so nice in the cottage! Bernie and Taneka were in touch before the stay and gave us some good tips on places to go! Thanks for making my birthday such a memorable one :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for such a great review we really appreciated it. We're glad that you enjoyed what we have created so much that you just wanted to stay in the cottage and relax, which is exactly what we have been trying to achieve...to make the cottages so inviting you never want to leave.

Tineke and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Bernie and Taneka couldnt be more welcoming, the cottages are both beautiful (I had a peek at the Blue Bells one!!!). It was relaxing and far from the hustle and bustle of the city. The Gardens are private and tranquil and The Harem Cottage was just so lovely with plenty of room and all conveniences required to make ones stay as comfortable as possible. Thanks again guys for sharing your slice of "Heaven" with us. Andrea & Gez :) We will be back for more ......

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thanks so much for remembering to review us on Tripadvisor! We really appreciate you taking the time to submit a review and are very happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Maybe you will want to try Bluebells next time. Cheers, Tineke and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay in the Harem room for 2 nights in November 2013. Everything was lovely, from the decor to the food, the fire and the spa. Private and quiet, set in a lovely township. Easy walk to shops. Lovely bush walk very close by. Service very friendly and helpful. Thanks for helping make our 20th Wedding Anniversary wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raewmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tineke H, Owner at Gembrook Cottages, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thanks so much for your excellent review. We love hearing how our guests enjoyed Gembrook Cottages. We especially appreciate your comments about the little details that we think make it extra special. We hope to see you again sometime! All the very best, Tineke and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gembrook
21.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
15.3 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Heart of Emerald
The Heart of Emerald
#1 of 4 in Emerald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Fernglade on Menzies
Fernglade on Menzies
#2 of 4 in Emerald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
23.7 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
24.0 mi away
Brentwood Accommodation
Brentwood Accommodation
#4 of 21 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gembrook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gembrook Cottages

Property: Gembrook Cottages
Address: 91 Main St, Gembrook, Victoria 3783, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Gembrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gembrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gembrook Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gembrook Cottages Bed and Breakfast are located in the Dandenong Ranges and are a great base to explore the local Villages and attractions. Conveniently situated at the gateway to the Yarra Valley and are only 1 hour from Melbourne and the Mornington Peninsula. 'The Harem'is an open plan cottage with soaring windows and leadlight door, has an exotic four-poster bed swathed in drapes and veils. Sumptuous soft furnishings in spice tones and the sunken double spa seal the deliciously romantic mood. 'Bluebells' is an enchanting boudoir with antique-crystal bed lights and a four-poster bed draped in silk and muslin with cushions a plenty. Inside you will find a lilac and Mediterranean blue open-plan cottage with stunning soft furnishings, leadlight windows and door with the large secluded indoor/outdoor jacuzzi seen through twinkling beads from the four poster bed. These separate themed cottages have their own private gardens with high gabled tin roofs, cathedral ceilings, leadlight windows/doors, intimate spas, wood fires, four poster queen-beds, air conditioning, LCD TV, DVD, CD players with ipod dock, stunning soft furnishings, kitchens with full facilities, bbq's and outdoor tables. Breakfast ingredients are tucked away, for you to cook at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gembrook Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing