We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victory at Mersea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victory at Mersea
Barmouth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Great food, Great Beers, Great Location..........................loved it !!!!

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, had a very enjoyable meal with a few beers then chilled out on the large sofas in the pub. The views of the marina with the mesmerising tink of a lanyard in the breeze gradually eased us into a wonderful relaxing sleep...........a full belly and a few beers probably helped as well !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    70
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
33
102
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have been promising ourselves a night here since we discovered the joys of Mersea so as it was our 30th wedding anniversary and could only manage one night away, we decided to treat ourselves. We feel totally let down by the Victory. We checked in at about 4pm; the member of staff didn't mention booking a table for dinner so imagine our horror when, at 18.40 we were told that the kitchen was closing in 5 minutes. My wife was still in the shower and, as the website stated that food was served on Mondays until 9pm, we had a late lunch and had planned to eat at 8.30, meaning we weren't hungry. We realise that it was a bank holiday but we should have been told about the early closure either when we booked online or when we booked in. We had to drive to Colchester, not quite the romantic evening spent sharing a bottle or two of sparkly that we had in mind, as one of us had to drive.

Now to the room. Although very small, it has great potential and great views from the balcony. However, it is spolit by too many fussy things, such as dried flowers, a kettle that looms over the bed and a teddy on the bed, something that I found wierd and unhygenic, as I doubt it is washed between each guest. Also, the bedding is very mean - the duvet only reaches the edges of the bed when it is flat; once there are two bodies under it, one of you is going to end up with a cold back. There are also insufficient and cheap quality pillows and the bed squeaks unmercilessly, not really condusive to a romantic stay! However, the bathroom is fabulous and both rooms were spotless. Also the breakfast was good with really good coffee and fabulous service, only slightly spoilt by gritty plates and bowls - the lovely waitress did change these when we asked.

Room Tip: Take some pillows from home and ask for a sea view - well worth the extra cost. Also check when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank netty_jeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for one night only as we wanted to visit the local seafood 'restuarants'. Staff were really friendly on check in and check out. We were shown to our room, which was round the back of the pub. It had its own little patio area with a table and chairs. Room was very clean and had all the toiletries you would expect. Proper biscuits with the tea/coffee making facilities too. Breakfast was included in the price; lots of choice too. Had to wait a little for it, but it was cooked to order and we all anted our eggs done differently. We will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDullWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Great pub with accommodation. Found whilst looking for somewhere to stay to visit The Company Shed. So glad we found The Victory. Amazing staff! Lovely pub, really great food and warm, clean, cozy, modern and comfortable accommodation! Little pricey as was £85 for 2 of us for B and B for 1 night, mid week in February, but that really is my only quibble.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest_Traveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Just returned from an overnight stay, excellent greeting shown to room no 1 excellent clean room great views and large bathroom. Had dinner in the evening excellent food. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast i have had in a long while. The location is very good with parking. Highly recommend will go back.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Have been here for lunch a few times. There is parking (which is scarce along the waterfront at Mersea) and lovely views of the boats and marshes and estuary from the dining room.
The food is hearty portions of pub food, with very good fish and chips (local fresh fish) steaks and daily specials. Pity to see sachet sauces on the table. Service cheery.
I prefer the seafood menu with crab salads and seafood platters of the Oyster Shed across the road, but it is very noisy, parking is tight, and even from the stools at the far end the view is blocked in by the boats.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gourmetrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed at the Victory for a two-night late break week before Christmas and can't recommend it enough. Our room (one of th new garden rooms) was a great size and spotless, as was the ensuite shower room, and was immaculately furnished and finished. We were made extremely welcome by everyone working here and the cooked breakfast was to die for. We will definitely be returning here in the future and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and family. Jeremy & Maria

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersea Island
7.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
10.0 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
8.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory at Mersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory at Mersea

Property: Victory at Mersea
Address: Mersea Island 92 Coast Road, Mersea Island CO5 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mersea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mersea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory at Mersea 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victory at Mersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victory At Mersea Hotel Mersea Island
Victory At Mersea Mersea Island, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing