We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Victory at Mersea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victory at Mersea
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really Nice Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Victory Mersea Island while attending a wedding. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom garden rooms (there was only 2 of us but that was all that was available). The room was extremely clean, very spacious, well laid out with the second bedroom upstairs. Lovely bathroom. Warm (the heating came on overnight) - great location. The pub / bar / restaurant is in desperate need of a make-over - very tired looking. On the night we arrived, the restaurant area had been booked for a private event so we couldn't eat there. Didn't bother with breakfast at all during our stay as the restaurant area looked so uninviting. Maybe it's nicer in the summer with the beer garden open? We wandered into town each day and had breakfast in the coffee shop opposite the church. Didn't really have anything to do with the staff apart from check-in and check-out. Fit for purpose but wouldn't specifically travel to Mersea Island to stay here. Some additional feedback on the Victory Website - it's difficult to read it if you suffer with motion sickness - they might want to do something about that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singapore_expats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for you review and I am pleased that you liked our rooms. I am sorry that the main restaurant was closd for a private function, but the bar was still open for food. I am a little puzzled that you found the restaurant "uninviting" for breakfast as it is decorated in a contempory style with modern furniture within a conservatory overlooking the boats and estuary and we regularly get compliments on our decor in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    70
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
33
102
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Decided to treat my husband to a waterfront room. Really nice room with great views. Food as good as usual but unfortunately the breakfast let it down, the scrambled egg on toast came minus the toast.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LODWICKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and your birthday. Please accept my apologies about the missing toast, I hope it didn't spoil your breakfast too much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Having stayed on quite a few previous occasions we were disappointed this time, the breakfast was good (as usual). Although our room was clean and modern, the pub was not, litter outside our door stayed there for the duration of visit, pub desperately needs a deep clean and redecoration.
Also attention to detail and friendleness of staff and owners has badly deteriorated, although we stayed for three nights it wasn't until we checked out that anyone asked if we were ok or were enjoying our stay. I did say that whilst not rude the staff had not been as professional as previously encountered.
The waitress explained it had been a very busy and long season and the staff were stressed and tired.
Hope the winter gives this pub time to return to its previous glory.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
I am sorry that you found the pub and staff "tired". We are planning a refurbishment of the pub over the winter which is why things are looking tired. Unfortunately my husband had an accident at the beginning of July, and has been out of action ever since, thus putting more strain on the staff and myself. Please accept my apologies if things were not up to our usual standard,we tried out best under the circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a pub with a few guest rooms, a large bar and a huge outside area. First impressions were of litter in the car park. Mersea Island had just had regatta weekend and it was the last night of the fair. The fairground was in the main town car park right opposite the Victory. We feared the worst!
The litter seems to be a regular feature but not helped by regatta weekend! The pub is clean but we went elsewhere for dinner only because we were staying for one night and wanted to try local eateries. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the pub car park, the town car park including the fair and with a great view out to the river estuary. The en suite bathroom was huge with a Jacuzzi bath (hate them), a large shower (loved it) and large clean towels. It had an 80's feel about it. Wardrobe space was OK but why, when providing sets of drawers, are they so shallow hardly anything fits?
Breakfast is from 9 a.m. to 10 a.m. We wanted an early morning walk in the sun before breakfast and found all the main doors locked. The cleaner (her first day) helped us find an unbolted door. On our return we were provided with breakfast of cereal, disappointing orange juice and a stonking English breakfast with sufficient toast, marmalades and jams.
It felt like staying in a London pub in Mersea! Like a lot of English pubs cum B&B's it is almost there but lacks something that family run businesses often get right in main land Europe. Slightly disappointing as the owners live on the first floor.
By the way the noisy fair stopped promptly at 10.15 p.m. followed by a quiet nights sleep - even though in the morning the fair was packed away and ready to go!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U3A2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that the fair did not disturb you too much. I note your comment about the doors being locked but obviously we cannot have doors left unlocked due to security issues. I apologise for the litter in the garden, unfortunately my husband had an accident and has been out of action leaving us very short staffed over the regatta weekend, we tried to keep on top of it but with the weather conditions and flooding that occurred, it proved to be difficult.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
1,116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7,395 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Have visited on many occasions,and always enjoyed it,and this time was as good as ever.Food of a very high standard,service with a smile,even when very busy.Lovely sitting outside on a hot sunny day.With the kids enjoying themselves in the play area,they just never want to leave,and we would like to stay as well.Will return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bigbarryEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Me and my partner came here about a month ago and were really looking forward to enjoying a nice evening and meal as we had a couple of times before (although do feel the dishes are slightly over priced) but were very disappointed.
When we first arrived it was very quiet so we thought it was a bonus as we wouldn't have to wait a while for our meals. How wrong was I. Firstly, after being seated at our table, we were left to wait for about ten minutes to even look at a menu, which I had to ask for.....having been a waitress myself, surely you give a menu to a customer when you seat them??
Anyway, customers were starting to come in and make orders for food which we were noticing being served their food before us even though we were the first people in?? So all in all we had to wait 45 MINUTES for our meal. If you're not that hungry I suppose it might not seem that bad but when you have been saving yourself for a meal its a bloody long time! If it had of come any later we would of left. So after waiting this long you would expect a fabulous meal, but just a mediocre cajun chicken and beef burger. I don't like to not support my local business' but I really do feel this pub makes a better bar than restaurant as it is very hit and miss.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosie205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am afraid with the description of about a month ago I cannot check back to see why your service was not up to our usual standards. If you could let me know the exact date of your stay I can find out what went wrong. Did you raise your concerns at the time, as we always do a check back and I am surprised that we weren't given the opportunity at the time to put things right. Please accept my apologies anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our group of 4 couples stayed at the Victory.

It was spotless; any problems solved immediately.

The Victory is not your home and things are not necessarily how you would like them but, d'you know what - everybody does their level best at The Victory to make your stay as enjoyable and homely as possible. All you have to do is ask if you need something or tell them if something is wrong and they will do their best to make your stay as welcoming, friendly and helpful as possible. We did have 2 Garden Rooms and 2 "rooms with a view" but we don't go to bed before 9pm when the children do or 11pm when the bar closes so we all had both a decent and peaceful sleep . Nearly overslept in the mornings though (breakfast between 9am and 10am) for the peace and quiet! The breakfasts deserve 5 star so, in our opinion The Victory at Mersea really is a good place to sink a few - whether it be pots of tea, pints of beer or bottles of wine!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are v. quiet at night - if you want to pay the extra have the sea view - otherwise the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefoxes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure having you all. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersea Island
7.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
10.0 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
8.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory at Mersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory at Mersea

Property: Victory at Mersea
Address: Mersea Island 92 Coast Road, Mersea Island CO5 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mersea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mersea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory at Mersea 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victory at Mersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victory At Mersea Hotel Mersea Island
Victory At Mersea Mersea Island, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing