We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but service needs improving”
Review of Victory at Mersea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victory at Mersea
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just come back from the Victory at Mersea. Starting off with the good things;

1) Room 6 spotless and lovely, perfect family room right next to the playground which was ideal for the children.
2) Location of hotel is excellent, right on the front, on a sunny day it is truly perfect.
3) Food quality is excellent - dinner and breakfast were 10/10, you will struggle to find better.

The bad news and it is a real shame is that there seems to be a naivety about the staff in delivering top service. A waitress came to our table to ask us when eating our main meal if everything was alright and we replied yes which it was, however she walked away empty handed leaving a dirty starter plate with two empty crisp packets and a dirty napkin on it. I also left my ipad charger in the restaurant and went back after they had cleared the table. The ipad charger was still there on the floor under the chair along with a dirty napkin that had not been cleared away. Breakfast time was also a strange affair. Coffee is served by the cup so every time you want a refill you have to ask for one when the waitress is passing, once topped up you then have to get up from your table to get the milk which is one jug for everyone. Surely your own coffee pot with your own small jug of milk would be better? You also have to go to the bar to order your breakfast, no waitress service. We also asked for a high chair at breakfast and were pointed to a corner where they were, ie, get it yourself.

I still would recommend this hotel to people as it is quite lovely but it is just a shame that the staff aren't really trained up to a top class standard. A little more training and effort would make all the difference. This review should not put people off trying this hotel and I too would like to go back one day but I hope the staff training has been improved if I do.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel but feel somewhat upset by your comments regarding service especially on Sunday morning. I would consider providing 4 separate "special invoices" for you was going the extra mile for a customer in anyone's book!!!!. This took me away from the restaurant on four occassions thus I was not there to provide our normal level of service. Saturday night was extremely busy and the staff were leaving the clearing of the restaurant until all the other customers had been served, apart from a waitress walking away from your table empty handed I don't feel your level of service was impacted by the fact that your table had not been cleared after you vacated it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed at the Victory on a Saturday night, arriving early afternoon and leaving after breakfast on Sunday. The room (room 8- allowing us to bring our dog) was spotless. The bed was comfortable and the shower very large. The service throughout our stay, from both staff and owners was fantastic. We had both lunch and dinner in the restaurant on Saturday and so glad we did. The cheese soufflé was to die for, as was the duck I had for main. The food was quick, hot and absolutely delicious. Can't wait to come back, already planning the next trip!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acsrslw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We only stayed one night at The Victory, and I am sorry that it could not have been longer. We were in a "Superior" room, and for once the accommodation fully deserved that description. The bed was extremely comfortable, there was a broad sea view from the windows, and the spa bath (we were in room no 1) was a luxurious delight. Coffee, tea, biscuits and a variety of liquid soaps in the bathroom all added to the pleasure of the experience. They had been good enough to warn us in advance that they were hosting a birthday party in the bar, with live music, on the evening of our stay, but I have to say that we hardly heard a sound, and our sleep was not at all disturbed. Breakfast was freshly cooked, and very good indeed. Warmly recommended.

Room Tip: Room no 1 is definitely one to go for, but rooms 2 and 3 may be just as good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in Room 1 at the Victory - a lovely, large room with an excellent view over the Estuary and a bathroom you could swing several cats in. The Jacuzzi was fun! The room was clean and nicely furnished; we slept well after dining and a twilight walk around West Mersea. The breakfast was excellent and we liked the source information for the bacon, sausages, etc. Although the bar was very, very quiet for a Friday night, we found the staff friendly and engaging.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deMerclesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We always stay at this hotel when visiting old neighbours on the island during the Winter months. As usual, we had a super overnight stay at The Victory. The service and friendliness of the staff was good, as was the breakfast and the cleanliness of the room. The location of this hotel is outstanding, giving a lovely view of the boats and the estuary from the front bedrooms and the restaurant.

Room Tip: The front bedrooms with balcony have a superb view of the boats on the estuary whereas the garden ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynR966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed two nights at the Victory in order to eat at the Company Shed in Mersea and visit Colchester in a more leisurely fashion than a day trip would allow. We stayed in one of their garden rooms at a very good price, since it is somewhat off season in December. Lovely warm, cosy twin room, smallish in bedroom/sitting area, but well designed and equipped Super, large and well appointed shower-room. Very comfortable beds and generous tea/coffee/bathroom essentials provided. Staff pleasant and friendly, owners lovely when we met them on our departure. We would recommend the Victory to like-minded friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Thank you for the review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I must admit that we had aimed to have Sunday lunch at the Oyster Bar but finding that there were no tables available there we thought we'd give The Victory a try & were glad we did. The staff were very welcoming & our table & surroundings fine. The food arrived in good time, piping hot & good quantities. Two of us had the four bird roast dinner & one the Confit of Duck - all very tasty - no complaints. Would definitely come again & recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersea Island
7.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
743 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
2 mi away
Waldegraves Holiday Park
Waldegraves Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Mersea Island
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fen Farm Camping and Caravan
Fen Farm Camping and Caravan
#2 of 4 in Mersea Island
103 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Victory at Mersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory at Mersea

Address: Mersea Island 92 Coast Road, Mersea Island CO5 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mersea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mersea Island
Price Range: £83 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory at Mersea 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Victory at Mersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victory At Mersea Hotel Mersea Island
Victory At Mersea Mersea Island, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing