We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic hideaway near the beach”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oakleaves

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mersea Island, Colchester, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peta F
2 reviews
“Fantastic hideaway near the beach”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a real gem of a condo, it has a perfect location on the Island and everything you can possibly want for a short stay or longer holiday is provided by the owners.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin J
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation in a really nice area”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our first time at Oakleaves and I certainly hope not our last since it provided very comfortable holiday accommodation in a quiet neighbourhood which was handy for the beach, had many attractive walks and good restaurants close by. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was modern but small with a good shower. The living areas were comfortable and tastefully decorated and the small sun trap of a sitting out area very useful. Everything for your convenience down to the tide tables for crossing the causeway were provided. Sue was very helpful with any queries. The only downside was the fridge which it appeared could not be regulated to maintain a low temperature but perhaps this was due to the weather being so hot?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montyW84
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE perfect seaside holiday let”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Sue and her husband have certainly thought of everything within this accommodation, we (as usual) take everything including the kitchen sink! we needn't have bothered - this place was completely kitted out in every way! It looked like a brand new apartment - it was immaculate, very clean and spacious with a lovely courtyard garden which we made the most of each evening - we even had a little barbecue out there too. We would totally recommend Oakleaves to all of our friends, family and YOU - Perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john h
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Second visit, still perfect.”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second stay and everything was as perfect as the first visit. The beach is at the end of the road and it's a great area for walking. The accommodation is clean, well maintained with everything you could need during your stay. There is a lovely courtyard to sit in and it is a real suntrap. The owners are friendly and helpful should you need them for advice. We found the locals friendly as well. Would definately stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Paerfect tranquil haven a short stroll from the beach”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A quiet, beautiful, tastefully decorated apartment with a private patio accessed through French windows off the lounge dinning area. I came to watch the sailing barges racing on the Blackwater but have now fallen in love with Oakleaves and plan to return in the Autumn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Oakleaves is the perfect place for a couple, or single person to stay on Mersea Island”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

When I arrived at Oakleaves, which is in a quiet and attractive tree lined road, I was immediately impressed by its smart appearance. The interior did not lessen that impression. The very clean accommodation is most tastefully furnished. The kitchen is very well equipped and there is a most comfortable dining/sitting room. In addition to a TV, the owners have provided a selection of books and DVDs as well as very useful leaflets and booklets about Mersea Island, places to eat out, and surrounding attractions.

During my stay I met Susan, who with her husband owns Oakleaves, and she was most welcoming and helpful. She had thoughtfully left a fresh bottle of milk in the fridge for my arrival. I have no hesitation in recommending Oakleaves.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindadc20...
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely accommodation in a road close to the beach. The living room/kitchen was a good size, comfortable sofa, kitchen fully equipped with oven, fridge, microwave and washing machine. Patio doors led to a sunny courtyard with table and chairs. The bedroom was a good size with comfy large bed and loads of wardrobes and drawer space. It was just like being home, very comfortable. The owners Sue & Colin made us feel so welcome. The beach is a few minutes walk away and we had a good breakfast in the Seaview cafe close by. We would definitely stay there again when we go to Mersea.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing