We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location - it could be great!”

Review of Fleet House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mersea Island, Colchester, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RVP
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely location - it could be great!”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The bonus with this property is that they will do short lets in the Summer season in contrast with most others locally. We heard from the owner that the plan is to demolish Fleet House and he and his wife will move to a new smaller house on the site. No getting away from it that the rather delapidated garden gate opens on to the beach - beautiful location with magnificent views of the Blackwater Estuary from most rooms especially the bedrooms. It is well appointed with all the facilities one might expect. Comfortable bedrooms and well appointed bathrooms. Cot, high chair available. the downside is the rather overgrown garden with thorny brambles ready to trap the unwary. We also had a problem with ants but there was plenty of ant killer stuff. Fans available to cool rooms, nice conservatory but gets v hot. Bags of living space. Not the easiest place to find as it is tucked away at the very end of Beach Road with onkly the garage visible from the road. Parking is limited to one car. We parked our second car round the corner in a cul de sac. If you want to stay here get there soon before it is knocked down.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape667...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I have visited mersea 2 or 3 times a year for the last 13 years and have stayed in alot of different types of accommodation in East and in west. I can truly say this stay has topped them all! ☺ Celebrations for a 40th birthday were made very special over the may bank holiday for myself and my family. Staying in this lovely house with everything to hand. A sea view every morning. Thank you Victoria. I will definitely bring my family and stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you Leanne, that's very kind of you and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards

Victoria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnricha...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great property.excellent location”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a pleasant and relaxing week in Fleet house. Everything was as described the property was spacious and extremely comfortable. Beautiful bed linen and bath sheets. Great location, very peaceful. Hope to stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mummylish
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mersea Island Break”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely stay in this property over the Easter weekend, joining family and friends celebrating a 60th birthday. The property is clean and spacious and is perfectly located with direct access to the beach and all amenities. You can easily forget the car for the duration of your stay.
However, we have been left disappointed as on our return the owner accused us of ripping a towel and breaking a shelf in the fridge - hand on heart, we did not do this but without discussion, the owner emailed and said she would be deducting £15 from our deposit for the towel. After email discussion, she later accepted that the fridge was most likely broken before our arrival. Bottom line, it is a perfectly located property for a stay on the island but we won't be staying again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
It is unfortunate that this guest interpreted the situation like this. She was advised after their departure via email that a towel (bath sheet) had a significant tear in it and that a charge of £15 would be deducted from the cleaning/damage deposit. The guest did not inform us in the first circumstance after their arrival of a substandard item which I would have expected had the towel been supplied like that. No accusations were made and the conversation took place via email which is available to view if required.
We endeavour to provide and present the house to the highest standard possible and we are vigilant about items provided for personal use.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
debbier16...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed over the Easter weekend and had a wonderful time. The house was exactly as advertised, very clean and spacious. The ability to get onto the beach from the garden was a novel experience for the family. Pity the weather wasn't brilliant but it was great watching the changing tides from the window. I've no hesitation in recommending this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location on the beach.
Liked least: Not a lot to do in the area in poor weather.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelagh C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A wonderful place to stay Amazing location, fantastic house Everything included that you could wish for Beach on your back doorstep, our springer spaniel Brodie loved going out there first thing in the morning and walking for miles The many beach huts along the way were an amazing sight in the early morning sunshine A place you would certainly want to return to

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: It was all lovely, couldn't fault it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing