We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ladram Bay Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
The Kings Arms(Otterton)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elizabeth(Sidmouth)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riviera(Sidmouth)
US$522
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,139)
Filter reviews
1,139 results
Traveller rating
709
269
89
44
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
269
89
44
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspebbles restaurantswimming poolholiday parkfront rowpebble beachwaves barhot tubcrazy golfrock poolssoft playevening entertainmentfish and chip shopfamily holidaytouring caravanbudleigh saltertonon site shopgreen coats
Filter
Updating list...
1,111 - 1,116 of 1,139 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We was really looking forward to staying at Ladram Bay and booked it to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary (which was in July but owing to the death of my mother decided to celebrate later in the year). We booked the lodge which was around £564 and although the lodge was very nice, the beds were so uncomfortable and we had trouble operating the showers, these were reported to the staff but had no joy with them. My husband is 64 and suffers with very bad arthritus and ended up sleeping on the floor. We left the site after 3 nights as we couldn't cope with the lack of sleep and the after care received by the manager is very poor indeed. Lack of public transport to and from the site also needs a mention you have to have a car. Bad lighting leading up to the holiday home we hired. The Manager told me they havent received any complaints before on this home, well we reported the beds being unsleepable in on Sunday and after my husband got upset he said he would look into it straightaway and we left on Wednesday with nothing being done. so no wonder they have received no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psychicsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeeLadram, Manager at Ladram Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

We pay close attention to all feedback from our guests, both the positive and the negative and where we feel that any criticism is undeserved we will challenge and defend ourselves, this is one of those occasions.
We feel the report is not entirely accurate as the complaint against the shower was an operational issue as you mentioned in your report. We did attend this matter twice, the first time you were out and the second time on your return.
The report also fails to mention the extremely aggressive and threatening manner one of our receptionists was faced with before a member of our maintenance team had chance to show the guests how to operate the shower.
After the guests had left they informed us that they had made complaints to a member of our maintenance team about the bed being uncomfortable, had this complaint been directed to reception, it would have been noted and investigated. The remark made to the guests that we had not received any earlier complaints about the beds or indeed about the lodge that they stayed in is perfectly true.
The nearest public transport is a half a mile away and this may have had some influence in the early departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I would say an ideal site for small children being attended by family and not just shunted off to amuse themselves ie an old fashioned hoiday!We stayed with our son and partner and two children 3 years and 6 months resp.We used the pool which was very warm and inviting.Yes a basic no diving swimming pool with baby pool attached,clean and bright with friendly lifeguards.As stated the shop is excellent.Competitive prices for the cafe.We ate at the Otter at Collaton Raleigh...again very good quality.It had a bouncy castle and play area attached.Bicton Botanical gardens a must visit with plenty for young children to do.We did not use the site's other facilities as the weather from 15th to 19th September was lovely and warm/hot and the rock pools were inviting.Plenty of sand further round the coast at Exmouth,a short drive away.This is not a commercial area.It is a friendly resort.For older children there are boats/canoes to hire from the beach.The bay is very sheltered.The staff very efficient and friendly.We will be returning (DV)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

where do i start. this was my youngest first hoilday and i was so upset it ended up like this :) :)
caravan was clean,spacious and could see the sea, we spent alot of time in there due to having nothing to do in the day time unless you wont to drive or sit and drink all day (nice but not with young children) the kids club wasnt open so kids wasnt happy and the soft play wasnt that big so they didnt wont to stay in there very long (my children are 5years ,2 years and 10 months so most of been bad as that age they dont care) the outside play area was ok the amusement arcade (if thats what you call it) was alot in there mostly for adults.
went to the swimming pool once due to it being very basic (just a pool)
the beach was pebble so we couldnt take the pushchiar down there so i took my 2 older children down there just about got down there but you have to go beween all the boats.
the evening enterainment didnt start till late each night and only had 30 minutes of kids show and then 45 mins of show time wasnt that bad but need more as after that just music was being played. on way back to canavan there wasnt any lighting so had to gess what way it was.
and the biggest thing was there were soooooooo many dogs there and the time i spent cleaning the dog mess off of our shoes must of took up most of our hoilday.
as like most site you have to be out by 10 am but they didnt open anything till 11 so a hour of waiting around with only the swimming pool open (most people would of packed up things) they didnt even have the soft play open so thats when we had it and just went home (we were home by midday and paid to go into a soft play with our kids as it was still there hoilday.
so upset by this as we have been to devon lots of times and this was a let down.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lisa82dean84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeeLadram, Manager at Ladram Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our Park on Trip Advisor, we pay very close attention to all of the reports submitted using them as an indicator when looking for ways to improve the Park and its facilities.

We are very much a family park, you only have to read earlier reports to discover this, our kiddies club is open every day throughout the season so we were surprised to hear that it was closed. We also have a soft play area, crazy golf, the arcade, the swimming pool and beach with several local attractions to keep our younger guests occupied.

The swimming pool, including a toddler’s paddling pool, does not profess to be anything other than a basic pool; it is warm, clean and well supervised. It has been discussed that at some time in the future we may build a new pool incorporating slides and other activities.

The beach is accessed via a 4 meter wide concrete slipway which is always kept clear and accessible, it does involve a slope and the beach is pebbled, however at low tide there are sandy areas and some fantastic rock pools to explore. The boats that are stored on the beach are kept well away from the access area.

It is rather interesting to note that this report is sandwiched between two others that could not be more positive in their views that the park is an ideal venue for young children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Myself, girlfriend and 15 month old son stayed at a holiday park for the first time for five days so were slightly nervous as to what it would be like, we need not have worried!

After a lot or research, Ladram Bay seemed ideal in every respect and we were not disappointed.

From the moment we made our booking to the time that we left, everyone was so efficient and could not be more helpful, the level of service was exemplary.

We choose a Budleigh Premier 2 bed which was new for 2010 and it was stunning, immaculately clean, well planned out and so much storage.

The park itself is spotless, the supermarket is well stocked and competitively priced and the rest of the facilities are great.

Although we did not experience the entertainment at night, we went to the bar in the day and it is spacious and well staffed.

It is a great base to visit all parts of Devon and there are so many things to do and places to visit within 30 minutes.

We would recommend in nearby Otterton, Otterton Mill (great food and lovely setting) and the Kings Arms (friendly local and good quality pub food).

Crealy Adventure Theme Park is a great day out for all of the family.

We shall definitely be returning to Ladram Bay, a great holiday indeed

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Positives: Caravan clean, spacious and well equipped. Staff were friendly and helpful. The setting is lovely and the indoor swimming pool is a real asset.
Negatives: The on site shop is expensive although they do welcome newspaper vouchers. The beach shop is even more expensive and the pitch and putt is not worth the money. The site has a huge seagull population. On our first night, the neighbours in the next door caravan left their rubbish outside. At dawn the next day, they attacked it! They clump about on the roofs of neighbouring caravans, waking up the inhabitants before swooping in to fight over the scraps ripping plastic bags apart. On our last night, some lazy pratt decided, that rather than take the rubbish to the rubbish area, he would leave it outside and empty caravan (next to us). Once more at dawn the gulls descended, clumped round and attacked. My daughter was eating outside once, holding an anchovy and looking at the menacing seagulls surrounding her, joked that they might swoop and seize it. She realised how true this was and ran inside. It was a bit like the Hitchcock film Birds!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyMan003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews