We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely one night stay”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Otterton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our room was clean and spacious with free wifi. We had a couple of drinks in the afternoon and then went back down for dinner at 8pm. The menu was varied and we both thoroughly enjoyed our dinners. The waiting staff were delightful and we were lucky enough that the weather enabled us to sit out in the paved terrace with the statues and ornaments. The wine was well priced and my husband enjoyed a few local beers. Breakfast the next morning was buffet style and perfectly adequate. The lovely waiting lady informed us when the freshly cooked eggs were coming out and made sure we wanted for nothing. All in all a very nice stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phonelessinphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

It was great to see you and thank you for your comments. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Arrived at 6.40pm for dinner. Despite less than half full told they were very busy and wouldn't take our order until 7.15pm. 7.15 came and went, finally accepted our order at 7.25pm. Were told it would be 40 minute's before being served. Food finally arrived at 8.20pm. Quality of food definitely not worth the wait. Recommend you drive past without stopping.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We are disappointed to read your comments. We are very busy at this time of year and have now introduced a carvery and salad bar to be able to offer food immediately. We thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely room, clean, lovely decor and comfy bed. The food was first class, and it tasted as good as it looked. I still have memories of the gorgeous raspberry cheesecake! The food was so artistically presented as well. It is obvious that it is freshly prepared using local produce. The staff are friendly and eager to please. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was good as well, and the 'full English,' will set you up for the day. Thank you Elaine and staff, for a memorable stay in this lovely little village.

Room Tip: Room 4 has two lovely big windows, so on a hot day it feels comfortable. View is of the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Myself and colleagues would like to thank you for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I am very surprised at previous review I stayed here on my own this weekend the food was excellent the room was clean and tidy could not fault anything and I am a very fussy man please do not hesitate to book for the price it is excellent value and the food as I said excellent thank you for making my stay great John

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chrissy996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you John for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place appears to deliver so much, but then fails miserably. If you're staying nearby you'll be better placed going to Sidmouth.

The food, unfortunately, can be described as average at absolute best. There is a general lack of flavour and quality. From the taste of the food, a lot is clearly pre-cooked and preheated. Especially true of the steak pie. Meat was very dry and not very pleasent. It also made a very unpleasant reappearance a couple of hours later!! So, I would also question the hygiene standards used within this establishment.

Avoid if you can. I know we will certainly not visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nigs_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I was very surprised to read your review. All our food is home made and our pies in particular are made with the meat from our own farm. The meat is slow cooked in house ensuring it is served tender. Our pasty is home made.

We are very proud to display a rating of 4 from the environmental health and would welcome an inspection at any time.

We found your comments to be totally untrue and very detrimental to our business. It is very suspicious that you didn't bring your concerns to us at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed inThis pub / b&b before but was pleasantly surprised to find the whole place had a makeover and the room we were given had a kitchenette and although no pots pans or crockery ,Iwas able to prepare a small amount of food for my husband who is coeliac (gluten free). This made such a difference to his holiday as although the staff were wonderful and very willing to help,the breakfast ladies found it difficult to understand what food we requested.
Our room was very well decorated and very comfortable and we were able to use the free wifi connection as using a mobile in the village is almost impossible ! We had a lovely holiday and will definitely be returning .

Room Tip: If you have small children or dietary requirements ,room 15 will enable you to prepare basic food a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed for the weekend and my two labs.All made welcome. Nice clean room simply decorated, small shower room. Food fine but limited menu. Dogs enjoyed the sausage they were given at breakfast. Surprisingly modern decor in pub, good choice of ales, great garden on a nice day. I,all be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterton
1.9 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
100 reviews
5.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Royal Glen Hotel
Royal Glen Hotel
#13 of 13 in Sidmouth
136 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: Kings Arms Fore Street, Otterton EX9 7HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Otterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Otterton
Price Range: £83 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Kings Arms Otterton. Located in the beautiful village of Otterton Devon. A stones throw from the river otter is our 18th century 15 bedroom Country Hotel. With our stylish interior throughout, comfortable clean light accommodation, locally sourced quality food, friendly service and real ales this is defiantly a place not to be missed. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Otterton
The Kings Arms Otterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing