We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Otterton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great location in middle of beautiful town. Friendly staff when signing in, breakfast and leaving. Double room a little small, and perhaps a little bit pricey (£75 for a double room). Apart from that ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you for your comments. Our rooms are all different, some smaller than others. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    72
    38
    26
    10
See reviews for
88
124
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed on nights of 2/3 august 2014. Stayed in room 2 with my daughter and 2 dogs. Room was large enough with a double bed and bunk beds, to put up the two dog crates. Bathroom was clean with lots of shower gel/conditioner. It overlooked the garden at the rear of the building.
One single gripe. My daughter and I ate there Saturday night, booking a table for 8.30pm. We were seated at 8.30, our meal order taken ( which was simple as we both had the same items) and we waited and waited for about 40 minutes for the stater to appear. My daughter did complain and the food appeared. I will not fault the food it really was very tasty but with the wait we were too tired to enjoy it. This was the only reason we did not eat there the second night of our stay. We ate one breakfast during our stay which was a buffet help yourself with more than adequate food quality and choice. Again one single moan. The mixed toast we ordered was pretty burnt, so much so that we managed a single piece each out of about 8 pieces offered. The coffee was hot and strong, so was the tea.
Please if there is going to be a delay in service please advise at the table before the client comes looking to moan at you

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nerakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our food is freshly prepared and during busy times, especially in the summer time, there can be a wait for food.
We look forward to welcoming your family and dogs to The Kings Arms soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed overnight in this pub.It did seem a shame that in a quaint, old village, the pub was ultra modern and had lost it's character but it was very busy so obviously popular.
I cannot fault the accommodation. The room was large and airy, the bed was comfortable and the shower room modern with a great power shower.
We arrived around 8.30 and were told we needed to be quick if we wanted to eat. The food was okay but not wonderful, perhaps because of our late order but staff were very helpful. The bar staff offered us samples of ales and ciders to try which was a nice touch as they had several to choose from.
Breakfast in the morning was either full fry up on a help yourself service or toast and cereal. Scrambled egg as well as fried would have been a nice option.
Overall a good stay and at a reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowwer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed tasting our guest ales and ciders that we had available.

We would of been very happy to prepare our free range eggs, however you wanted them , if you return to the Kings Arms again please do not hesitate to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were staying in Otterton and booked a table for nine for an evening meal. We had a great time here, the staff were very good and friendly the food was realy good home cooked fayre and the celler was well stocked with good local ales. We would all recommend the Kings arms and will come back here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I am very surprised by some of the previous negative reviews regarding the food. We stayed in the village this past week and ate at the King's Arms on three evenings. Each time the food was lovely and unquestionably home cooked. The chef is also extremely friendly and a real asset to the place. On the first evening he asked us if we were "ok for a lift" once we had finished our meal. It turned out that each evening he offered a taxi service to diners - particularly those that were staying at the Ladram Bay holiday village. Now that's a service you don't get very often. My husband was also very impressed with the ales on offer. If you're in the area try the King's Arms for good quality, reasonably priced food with friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie_Thomas_Ware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We thank you for your lovely comments and look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our room was clean and spacious with free wifi. We had a couple of drinks in the afternoon and then went back down for dinner at 8pm. The menu was varied and we both thoroughly enjoyed our dinners. The waiting staff were delightful and we were lucky enough that the weather enabled us to sit out in the paved terrace with the statues and ornaments. The wine was well priced and my husband enjoyed a few local beers. Breakfast the next morning was buffet style and perfectly adequate. The lovely waiting lady informed us when the freshly cooked eggs were coming out and made sure we wanted for nothing. All in all a very nice stay, thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phonelessinphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
It was great to see you and thank you for your comments. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived at 6.40pm for dinner. Despite less than half full told they were very busy and wouldn't take our order until 7.15pm. 7.15 came and went, finally accepted our order at 7.25pm. Were told it would be 40 minute's before being served. Food finally arrived at 8.20pm. Quality of food definitely not worth the wait. Recommend you drive past without stopping.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are disappointed to read your comments. We are very busy at this time of year and have now introduced a carvery and salad bar to be able to offer food immediately. We thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterton
5.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
452 reviews
2.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
105 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
5.8 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: Kings Arms Fore Street, Otterton EX9 7HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Otterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Otterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Kings Arms Otterton. Located in the beautiful village of Otterton Devon. A stones throw from the river otter is our 18th century 15 bedroom Country Hotel. With our stylish interior throughout, comfortable clean light accommodation, locally sourced quality food, friendly service and real ales this is defiantly a place not to be missed. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Otterton
The Kings Arms Otterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing