We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Response to magers reply..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Otterton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Response to magers reply..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

it was good to see that you replied to the comments i made, and also acknowledged some of your shortcomings. however i am not one who goes to "gastro" pubs, i like good old fashioned and also tasty foods in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, the week i visited i had also visited other hostelries in Devon, and though your food was good it was let down by the surroundings.
I look forward to visiting again either later this year or early next year to see what you do with regards to your refurbishment!
Might i suggest a trip up to the black hills to a pub called the Catherine Wheel, i believe this establishment puts a marker in the sand and all others can only be judged by it(in my opinion, of course).
Again thank you for taking the trouble to reply!
Regards

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 29 September 2015
Thank you for your comments.

I know that when you arrived on a very busy sunday lunch you were not happy with the table that we had reserved for yourselves. We organised a different table for you as quickly as we could.

When you left I saw you chatting with the chef which would of given you every opportunity to say if you were not happy with your food.

After the event is to late to put things right for you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    52
    35
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Agerage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

we went for the fabulous carvery I read so much about, so off we popped after me raving about it telling everyone what I had read on trip advisor, and tbh I felt it was average its a carvery nothing more or less but no better than a brewers fayre or such like

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank geobryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed... Again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Took family for an evening meal, having not eaten there for some time.
We should have learned from our previous experiences, but took a chance anyway.
3 of us ate from the specials board, the other from the standard menu.
2 main dishes were the scallops... 4 very SMALL scallops lost on a bed of slimy pasta, with a few cherry tomatoes at just under £13 per dish!
The other main from the specials board was an uninteresting overpriced lamb rump.
After placing the order we waited just under an HOUR to be served, with just a "sorry its late"...
The restaurant was not very busy, so no excuses really.
As our guests were paying, it was not appropriate for us to raise the issue at the time.
We left feeling let down & extremely disappointed...
"Never Again"!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank celandyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
466 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good pub food with lots of outsidfe seating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We ate here one evening whilst staying in Otterton. It is a large pub with garden and outside seating area in the middle of Otterton.
We had not booked and were astonished when it quickly filled up with few tables to spare. Many other diners had booked and we could see why.
There is a good selection of 'pub food' with a small number of vegetarian dishes at reasonable prices, plus a specials board including locally caught fish. Service was reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“PERFECTION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

After a walk along the river we decided to have lunch at the kings arms and Wow what a delightful meal it was! My Prawn and Salmon salad was so fresh it tasted as though they had leapt from the sea to my plate! Wonderful service..will visit again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing