We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Pecks Restaurant

Pecks Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Moreton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$58
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pecks Restaurant was established in 1984 and still offers it's famous "Dinner at 8" concept, where all diners start a theatre of food at 8pm, and a sample dish of each option on the menu is presented by waiting staff and described, so that diners need never make the wrong selection. The menu is 5 courses on Tuesday and Wednesday, and 7 courses Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Unusually, and despite an extensive wine list, Pecks still invites diners to bring their own wine, on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evening, with no corkage charge.Pecks are dedicated to achieving the very best, and never stop pushing the standards even higher. All our dishes are freshly prepared by a kitchen brigade led by Head Chef Les Wassall – a Pecks veteran of over 10 years – highly skilled in complimenting classic British cooking with innovative and assured modern touches.In recent years, Pecks has opened at lunchtime, offering an impressive a la carte menu, and a daily plat du jour menu representing outstanding value for money - and more recently for afternoon tea.A firm favourite for discerning diners from far and wide, Pecks celebrates over 25 successful years with a fresh lease of life and numerous coverted awards.The restaurant is located close to historic Little Moreton Hall in Cheshire and below the famous landmark Mow Cop Castle, just over the Staffordshire border. Recently acquired by its most enthusiastic customers, local businessman Andrew Pear and his wife Sue - who liked the food so much they bought the restaurant.They are determined to continue in the vein that has made Pecks the venue of choice for generations of diners celebrating special occasions and the stylish makeover inspired by Sue provides an elegant backdrop to acclaimed standards of cuisine and service.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Organised a party of sixteen people for Sunday lunch, no complaints about the overall experience, however, the starter portions were miniscule the halibut and salmon cerviche consisted of two postage stamp size fish served on a few Rocket leaves and a cherry tomatoe, very disappointing.
I chose the roast lamb dinner, lamb nicely cooked, however, the veg consisted of two tiny carrots and one roast potatoe, one of the party had to request potatoes with her beef dinner. Both wine and beer were very overpriced. Pity because the service and ambiance were excellent

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    93
    62
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced afternoon tea”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just had afternoon tea here and for £20 we were expecting far better. We were a party of 15. The tea was fine but with only 1 strainer at our end of the table and 1 milk jug it was a constant to and fro with those - also a jug of cream had been put out in the same type of jug as the milk which led to much confusion. The sandwiches were fine - just 3 types though - no cucumber ones and apart from the smoked salmon were on white bread. The scones were fruited and sweetened (scones don't need sugar) and as a consequence were very dry and crumbly and were served with a small tray of cream and jam - no butter. The cakes were the most disappointing though as there were no pastries at all.The mini carrot cake was nice as was the mini chocolate muffin. Any afternon tea I've ever had usually has a selection of fruit tarts, macaroons and fancy pastries - items that require a little effort to make. There was also a tiny jar of Eton Mess (amounting to a spoonful) which was very nice and a shot glass of tasteless red jelly with bits of seedy fruit in which wasn't. This was just basic baking that we all do at home and was not worth the money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AliDShrewsbury_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a treat!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband arranged a visit to Pecks as a surprise treat for our Wedding Anniversary. What a beautiful experience. Restaurant and the patio area outside were well furnished and relaxing. Inside the colour scheme and decorations were clearly chosen to impress. On arrival we were greeted by pleasant staff who showed us to our table and promptly offered drinks and cocktails and put our wine on ice to chill. The food itself was as beautiful to look at as to taste. 7 courses with a choice for each featuring a wide selection of foods. I'm not a vegetarian but chose the asparagus and pea tart because it looked devine. I wasn't disappointed! The desserts were very impressive and varied and the coffee and handmade sweets to finish rounded off a truly delicious meal. Definitely a place to go to impress!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giantseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“amazing experience”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We went to Pecks last night for the first time and had an incredible experience. We were concerned with it being quite an expensive restaurant that the staff would be snooty and it would be a bit pretentious. Happily that wasn't the case at all. There was a friendly welcome at reception and the serving staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help you. The food is out of this world you truly get what you pay for with the dining experience lasting until after 11pm if you wanted to linger. We were not embarrassed by taking our own wine but we bought cocktails a little bit expensive but very nice and quite lethal! This isn't someone we could afford to go regularly but is something everyone should try once if they like exceptionally good food.
the Pecks experience is worth every penny!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous...”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We last came here about two years ago and that was an excellent experience then but this was a special birthday celebration and it did not disappoint... The food was excellent, the service impeccable, the surroundings and ambience you couldn't fault... All of the party were wowed.....for those special occasions it really is a lovely restaurant....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pecks Restaurant also viewed

 
Sandbach, Cheshire
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to Pecks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing