We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect and Relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rowan Cottage

Rowan Cottage and the nearby 'Plough Inn'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rowan Cottage and the nearby 'Plough Inn'
The beach is 2 minutes walk from the cottage Modern, well-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Rowan Cottage and the nearby 'Plough Inn'
The beach is 2 minutes walk from the cottage
Modern, well-equipped kitchen
The rear of Rowan Cottage and it's colourful garden
The wood-lined sitting room
Lounge
Traditional fireplace in the Lounge
Oil-fired stove in the sitting room
Double bedroom
Fitted wardrobes in the double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Rowan Cottage
Looking West along the beach to Chanonry Point
The beach is 2 minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
steven T
1 review
“Perfect and Relaxing”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely cottage, light and airy downstairs, cosy and warm upstairs. The cottage is perfectly placed to explore the lovely clean sandy sheltered beach 100m away, perfect for kids. Cottage is also well situated to explore the Black Isle, Inverness and the surrounding area. The cottage is well equipped, very clean and comfortable, a mix of modern downstairs and a cosy warm cottage feel upstairs.
I really recommended this cottage as a perfect family 'get away from it all' type of holiday base. Carol (The owner) thank you for providing a lovely place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachel H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage in this pretty little area ”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed in Rosemarkie as a family of 4 and were really happy with Rowan Cottage. From initial enquiries Carol gave us all the information we needed. On arrival we had more information to see us through our stay meaning we had no need to contact Carol as we had everything we needed.

The cottage is bigger than it looks. There are two decent sized bedrooms with comfy beds and the luxury of two bathrooms - one upstairs and one downstairs. A well equipped kitchen with sunny conservatory as well as two sitting rooms. We only made use of one of the sitting rooms - with a downstairs bathroom one could easily be used as a third bedroom to allow more people to enjoy this lovely home away from home. There is more than enough room for 6 people we thought.

Parking is on a public car park behind the cottage but really isn't an issue at all. Personally we wouldn't have been able to manage without a car but we did see some local buses going by.

It's a stones throw from a friendly little pub and a hop, skip and a jump from the lovely beach. So all in all, a great location!

We enjoyed lovely meals in Crofters restaurant and lunchtimes outside Rosemarkie beach cafe.

We had some friendly dolphins making appearances throughout the day as well as down at nearby Chanonry Point. An hour or two after low tide was the best time to see them- we had more luck with the morning low tides - in the evening they were a little quite this time around! But when they do appear they are magnificent.

We took a trip to Cromarty and went on an amazing boat trip with Eco Ventures who I would highly recommend. We also enjoyed our trip to Fort George and a boat trip on Loch Ness.

Overall a great stay and we would recommend to others and hope to revisit again ourselves in the future - thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ionay1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't better the cottage or location”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Rowan cottage was a great place to stay. Well equipped and very comfortable. Loved the sunny conservatory and the garden was a real suntrap and good place to relax. Cottage is minutes from the coast, community beach cafe and small shop. Lovely walks from the cottage, with great coastal views and many sightings of pods of dolphin swimming in the Moray Firth. Lots to see on the Black Isle and never far from the sea or a village. My visit was in the middle of August, but nowhere was too busy or crowded.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroldors...
Meeker, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely cottage in a wonderful sea town”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Rosemarkie Scotland cottage is walking distance to the ocean. The Plough and the Croughter serve great food. Walk the Feiffer Glen trail to the falls. 15 minute drive to Invernes bus does go by so you can catch it too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thank you Carol for your positive review. I'm glad you had a good time and enjoyed the gentle pace of Rosemarkie and the Black Isle. Thank you for leaving the cottage clean and tidy and for the tip!
I hope you will be able to return to Scotland in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBBO57
GLASGOW
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“SO Relaxing”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Rosemarkie is a lovely place and Rowan Cottage the perfect location. Having a beautiful beach 3 minutes walk from the cottage is a real bonus. The beach provides a wonderful opportunity for an early morning walk. Don't be put off by the rather gloomy exterior of The Plough - 2 minutes walk from the cottage. If you like cask ale they always have 2 pumps on. It was great to have a 'watering hole' so close by after a days walking. Eating out ? - Book a table at Crofters, it's excellent. If fish and chips is what you fancy it's worth the 10 minute drive to the Harbour chippy at Avoch.

And now to the cottage : first impressions count and our first impression was reflected in the width of our smiles as we walked in. The cottage is exceptionally well equipped and really homely. The conservatory is a lovely place to sit even on a rainy day. If you get a sunny day it's great to sit in the garden.

A previous review mentioned problems with the wi fi, but we didn't have a similar issue.

This was our first stay at Rown Cottage, but it won't be our last.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
Thank you for your positive comments, I'm very glad you enjoyed the village and the cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JML30
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a beautiful cottage on the main street of Rosemarkie. It is spacious, has a lovely garden and is always spotlessly clean on arrival. This is ideal for holidays to explore the Highlands. The beach is walking distance, the pub is even closer! Plenty of parking available.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing