We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evening meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Barton Cross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Canon
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A fabulous meal with good old fashioned service.The service is not rushed and the food was pretty special. The finishing touches of the canapés and petit fours gave the evening class. I would recommend this hotel for a special occasion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    25
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
35
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is an hotel located circa 30 mins from Exeter City Centre.

We booked the night before, ie the Friday and stayed the Saturday night so paid over the odds i would expect. £120 inc breakfast.

The hotel is a thatched former farmhouse it appears. The thatch is covered in moss and looks thoroughly uncared for and to be honest, looks like a place that has been seriously neglected.

Brian, the owner appeared welcoming but was a little short tempered whilst explaining the key set up. Not a good start.

The room (number 2) was spacious and had a relatively cheap mini bar which was great.

That was really where the good bits about the room ended.

It really is like walking into a 1980s museum. I imagine this looked very nice in 1985 but today it really is awful.

The kettle is at least 30 years old and takes 10 minutes to boil.

The shower belongs in a museum. It took a good 10 minutes to set the temperature. Then the shower head angles its spray 45 degrees away into the middle of the bathroom. How the cleaners/Brian have not discovered this is truly amazing. It stinks of an unwillingness to spend money to make guests comfortable.

The standard hairdryer provided is again an 80s throwback. Technology has moved on Brian. Spend some money and let your guests dry their hair. We were late for breakfast due to a combination of this and the shower. It added approx 30 mins to our morning. Truly awful. For £120, unacceptable.

Now we come to the bed. Forget 1980s here. Think 1960s. The mattress is so bowed in the middle it's incredible. It's like sleeping on cardboard. Truly awful. Once again Brian, get your hand in your pocket. Invest. Your customers deserve it. Especially when they are paying £120 per night.

The whole place stank of mould.

The breakfast was adequate.

If i could reserve a room near Exeter in hindsight i would have stayed at a Premier Inn or similar.

To be though fair, it was clean.

If this place was nearer £70 per night, i would stay again. To charge the £120 per night is simply daylight robbery.

We didn't eat here. The menu was priced at about £30 per head and other residents seem to have enjoyed it.

Overall, we felt a little ripped off. With a bit of investment it could be lovely but it just feels that the owner is trying to maximise his profits for himself without investing to make it comfortable for guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is tucked away a few miles from Exeter just off the road to Tiverton. The quality of the food at breakfast and dinner is exceptional and I believe it is well known locally for fine dining. The public rooms are well decorated and comfortable. The only criticism I have was the quality of the bathroom in the room I had was not in keeping with the rest of the hotel. It needs updating. Otherwise, I would recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Check out the bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A great atmosphere in a nice little country location hotel with very friendly staff and good menu. certainly value for money with great rooms and quiet location. Nice for a romantic get away or for a relaxing business trip.

Room Tip: get a room with one of the huge comfy beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theepilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Spent a night at Barton Cross Hotel on the way to Cornwall. Pleasantly greeted on arrival by the owner and shown to our ground floor room as requested on booking. A few steps if you have mobility problems but that is what you may expect in old buildings.Told an easier way to the car park would be through the door to the small outside area.This did help when leaving. The room was neatly furnished with tea/coffee making facilities,flat screen TV and free wifi. No walk in shower only one over bath, which is a problem for older people who can't get in the bath very easily.The bed was a fine king size bed,although my wife complained her side was a bit lumpy. I had tested it first and suggested she might like that side!!
The evening meal was excellent.My wife is still talking about the scallops.No problem with the service.Breakfast likewise.
Altogether a very pleasant experience,the only problem we had was finding it.Don't rely on signs on the main road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

A lovely place with all the charm in the world. The evening meal was an event in itself. Come hungry and with lots of time to spare as service is not speedy but it is worth the wait. Rooms are spacious and quiet. Pre dinner drinks were very quaint!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinghambezodis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We recently stopped at the Barton Cross,after a friend had told us about it,a wounderful experince.The food was excellent,we were met by the owner,who took our cases to the room,a very friendly,clean and lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Canon
7.8 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barton Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barton Cross Hotel

Property: The Barton Cross Hotel
Address: Huxham, Stoke Canon, Exeter EX5 4EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Stoke Canon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Canon
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barton Cross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Barton Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Cross Hotel
The Barton Cross Hotel Stoke Canon, Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing