We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Barton Cross Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park View(Exeter)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Queens Court(Exeter)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
56
25
4
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
25
4
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarton crossroaring log firenice pubon arrivalexeter citylovely hotelgood sizeyogurtthatchedcountrysidedevonlonghouse
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Fab food and personal service. Evening dinner excellent (all 3 courses equally good, homemade bread), breakfast was one of the best full English's we have had for ages. Room comfy with good facilities, even welcomed our dog and gave us a room with French windows so we had easy access to outside. The décor maybe dated and quirky and not at all like an executive hotel (if that is what you want perhaps a holiday Inn would suit you best), but we prefer hotels like this with character!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed one night in this lovely hotel. Everything was very welcoming and the owner could not have been more helpful (organising early breakfast for us as it was my daughters graduation). The evening meal was a wonderful experience fabulous food and a great vegaterian menu as well. The family room we had (for 3 adults) was spacious and comfortable. Will definately try and return in the future hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waggles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here September 2013 and had a fantastic time. The rooms do need a bit of cosmetic updating but they're quite retro and cosy feeling. The layout is brilliant for young families. My husband and I were able to enjoy a lovely meal in the restaurant and our bedroom was in plain view and so close we kept popping over to the window of our room to check on our sleeping baby. Definitely worth mentioning that the food was superb. We stayed for an evening meal (really delicious) and also breakfast in the morning which had lots of options and a highchair for bubs. The staff were all helpful and friendly and the place just feels very welcoming and safe. I left something in the room and the manager posted it back to me no fuss and without charge for which I was very grateful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bungalo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

i stayed just for one night in summer 2013. we arrived late at night from cornwall but they were very friendly in waiting for us and giving us directions on the phone. the old wing is simply fabulous. in the morning a gorgeous breakfast and the good advice on some changes on our trip schedule. great

Room Tip: ask for the old wing
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonavTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A fabulous meal with good old fashioned service.The service is not rushed and the food was pretty special. The finishing touches of the canapés and petit fours gave the evening class. I would recommend this hotel for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews