We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Barton Cross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Canon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A warm welcome, cosy ambience, great attention to detail and food that never disappoints. Brian really does get it right! I've lost count of the number of times we have eaten at Barton Cross, and we've also stayed overnight when we don't wish to drive the few miles home. It's been our favourite venue for years.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLS-B777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We've been coming here for many years - we had our wedding reception here and come back for our anniversary meal every year..
We have never been disappointed with the ambience and the amazing food. In winter it is always so nice to walk into a cosy lounge area with a roaring fire. The welcome is warm and it is a great place to just unwind & relax.
The food is gorgeous, all home-made. My husband's steak was cooked perfectly, my venison suet pudding was gorgeous.Having visited many restaurants in and around Exeter 'The Barton Cross Hotel' is fantastic value for money.
We would highly recommend it for a meal and as a hotel to stay in...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Fab food and personal service. Evening dinner excellent (all 3 courses equally good, homemade bread), breakfast was one of the best full English's we have had for ages. Room comfy with good facilities, even welcomed our dog and gave us a room with French windows so we had easy access to outside. The décor maybe dated and quirky and not at all like an executive hotel (if that is what you want perhaps a holiday Inn would suit you best), but we prefer hotels like this with character!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed one night in this lovely hotel. Everything was very welcoming and the owner could not have been more helpful (organising early breakfast for us as it was my daughters graduation). The evening meal was a wonderful experience fabulous food and a great vegaterian menu as well. The family room we had (for 3 adults) was spacious and comfortable. Will definately try and return in the future hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waggles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here September 2013 and had a fantastic time. The rooms do need a bit of cosmetic updating but they're quite retro and cosy feeling. The layout is brilliant for young families. My husband and I were able to enjoy a lovely meal in the restaurant and our bedroom was in plain view and so close we kept popping over to the window of our room to check on our sleeping baby. Definitely worth mentioning that the food was superb. We stayed for an evening meal (really delicious) and also breakfast in the morning which had lots of options and a highchair for bubs. The staff were all helpful and friendly and the place just feels very welcoming and safe. I left something in the room and the manager posted it back to me no fuss and without charge for which I was very grateful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bungalo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

i stayed just for one night in summer 2013. we arrived late at night from cornwall but they were very friendly in waiting for us and giving us directions on the phone. the old wing is simply fabulous. in the morning a gorgeous breakfast and the good advice on some changes on our trip schedule. great

Room Tip: ask for the old wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonavTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A fabulous meal with good old fashioned service.The service is not rushed and the food was pretty special. The finishing touches of the canapés and petit fours gave the evening class. I would recommend this hotel for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Canon
7.8 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,386 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,204 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#8 of 31 in Exeter
973 reviews
3.6 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barton Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barton Cross Hotel

Address: Huxham, Stoke Canon, Exeter EX5 4EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Stoke Canon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Canon
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barton Cross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Barton Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Cross Hotel
The Barton Cross Hotel Stoke Canon, Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing