We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault a single thing.”
Review of Samarinda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samarinda
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault a single thing.”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed at samarinda with my partner in Feb 2013 and had the most amazing stay. We were there for just under a week and didn't want to leave. Our apartment was perfect. Very clean and amazing views. Samarinda definitely has the best location on stradbroke island. The managers of samarinda Jo and Robin Barrass were amazing and would like to thank them for making our stay so enjoyable. We will certainly be returning to samarinda in the near future.

Rosie and Carl

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My family and I stay here every year, renting out 3 to 4 apartments for a week in each January. This will be our last year staying here. We used to enjoy staying here but the last couple of years, and this year in particular we notice the place is no longer clean or properly maintained. I have attached photos of our apartment from January 2013. When we first checked in, we had to ask the manager to come and clean the pantry as it was filthy and had rubbish in it. He came and vacuumed unwillingly. The management is also ridiculous, in our group of 3 families we had one couple that was given a 3 bedroom apartment and myself, daughter, son in law and 2 grandchildren were given a 2 bedroom apartment (we had booked 3 x 2 bedroom apartments, but they ran out of one), you would think they would have had the common sense to put the larger group in the larger apartment? Anyway, a family tradition is to be no longer sadly as we can no longer justify the price of over $1500 per apartment for such shabby and dirty conditions.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere on the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jody0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin B, Manager at Samarinda, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on your Stay at Samarinda .
All your comments have been noted and the problems have been corrected.
Jo and I have been managing Samarinda for 9 years and we work very hard with our owners to try and make sure that the cleanliness and maintenance of the apartments are kept to a high standard and it is disappointing that you did not find it to your satisfaction.
We can assure you that we will work very hard to ensure that we maintain the highest of standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great views, close to the beach but in need of a refresh, I.e, lick of paint inside. Great for families due to the location, near beach &, shops. Complex has a pool & BBQ area which is well maintained. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

OK so Point Lookout in June should be whales, weather and walks. Not this time. It was wild weather, wind and waves. But the unit was luxurious and comfortable and we took the opportunity to just relax. This was our second visit and it won't be our last. Great managers Jo and Robin added to the enjoyment.

Room Tip: All units have views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kelpiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment and the best thing about it was the amazing view! We were facing right out towards the ocean and it was just beautiful. The main bedroom also had this amazing view!
Its 3 star I think so don't expect it to be posh but its very nicely done out and very clean.
Its walking distance to the beach and to restaurants. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Von72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Lookout
1.2 mi away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
0.0 mi away
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Point Lookout
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pandanus Palms Resort
Pandanus Palms Resort
#2 of 3 in Point Lookout
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Islander Holiday Resort
The Islander Holiday Resort
#7 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
61 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
#3 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samarinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samarinda

Property: Samarinda
Address: 1-5 Samarinda Dr, Point Lookout, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > North Stradbroke Island > Point Lookout
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Point Lookout
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samarinda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Samarinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing