We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in the middle of Morelia's historic downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hosting House Congreso
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in the middle of Morelia's historic downtown”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

If you want to get the best of your time in Morelia, try to stay in the historic downtown. There are many options and we wanted to try this nice hotel just a couple of blocks from the Cathedral. We were very surprised to find a very comfortable hotel, with great rooms with cozy furniture and a superior service. Free parking is a great plus. You can awl from there to all sorts of interesting places to visit. I recommend this hotel very, very much. Our rooms faced the main street and noise from outside might be a concern for some people. Despite of that, we enjoyed our rest and left with this great feeling of wanting to come back very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room available as there are some rooms that are very, very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepearias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    36
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
41
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The location of Mansion Real is ideal that it is smack in the middle of down town Morelia and about a block away from the Catedral Morelia. The problem is that because it is sited on the main road running through the city, the traffic noise is incessant and really gets to you. And it is not just during rush hour but carries on throughout the night. The two nights we spent there were the two worst sleeps we had during our stay in Mexico. And this was despite our getting a room which didn't face the main road but onto the side road.

Other than that the hotel is a relatively friendly and comfortable hotel and which represents reasonable value for money. There is cable TV in the room although the TV image has been somewhat degraded. Free WIFI in the rooms and lobby was very much appreciated. Breakfast is simple continental- fried eggs, toast, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. Security in the rooms seems reasonably tight with electronic key card.

Reasoable value for money hotel, but don't stay here if you want a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for room round the back and as far away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muluvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We loved the place and the breakfast, we stay just two days but we for sure suggest staying there, cozy, clean, and very close to the Morelia Cathedral! we booked one night using despegar.com is cheaper than booking there but we love the hotel that's why we decided stay one more night. Small room but is enough to sleep there when you use the room just to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HildaMSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I really reccomend this hotel, what once was house of the Archbishop. The lobby is fantastic, the breakfast (and specially the coffee) is outstanding. We had a problem with the internet but it was solved the next morning. The staff is great, warm and helpful. Rooms are spacious, beautiful and with a lot of light.

I would really recomend it, because it is more like a boutique hotel, with less rooms than Virrey de Mendoza and is in the same block as the Juaninos Hotel.

Furniture is colonial and beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SightRater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#11 of 65 in Morelia
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 65 in Morelia
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casino Morelia
Hotel Casino Morelia
#7 of 65 in Morelia
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Mision Catedral Morelia
Mision Catedral Morelia
#20 of 65 in Morelia
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosting House Congreso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosting House Congreso

Property: Hosting House Congreso
Address: Avenida Francisco i. Madero Oriente 94 | Centro Histórico, Morelia 58000, Mexico (Formerly Mansion Real Morelia Hotel & Suites)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosting House Congreso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star colonial was originally the Episcopal Palace of the Bishop-Virrey Don Juan de Ortega y Montanez, then donated to the Order of Friars Juaninos, the building was converted into a hotel in the late 1800s. Guest rooms are designed in a colonial and modern style and are equipped with plasma screens; A/C; electronic safe and most have a balcony. Features: restaurant; service cafeteria; bar; meeting room; free parking near hotel and Valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hosting House Congreso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing