We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cafe in the hotel real...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hosting House Congreso
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cafe in the hotel real...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

he best coffee in morelia and arguably the best and freshest mexican food as well.

the restaurant is located in the courtyard with stone pillars with marvelous sense of history. not easy to find.. you have to go about a half block from the place las armas down toward the tarrasco fountain on the right side. there is a sign that says cafeteria. it is not a cafeteria. the food is mexican fare but cooked excellently and always fresh and clean with the kitchen visible behind a glass screen. service is unobtrusive and downright elegant with white shirt waiters with black aprons. it is to me the best place to have a coffee, read a paper and just take in the food. the coffee is made in an espresso machine and an americano is from fresh beans and not a nescafe in all the other places. the milk is warmed and hot.

highly recommended and the prices are surprisingly low for the quality.

Room Tip: i did not stay at the hotel. the restaurant however is worth a detour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    36
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
40
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

When travel in Mexico, I always try to find some of those beautiful, elegant, boutique-type small hotel housed in a traditional building. They could be called Casa, Villa, Mansion or whatever. This mansion hotel is one of them, and it is very good in terms of price, location, facility and service.

-Located very close to the central plaza. No problem to walk back even at midnight. Coming from bus terminal, taxi is around 35-40 pesos.

-I got a loft unit on the 2nd floor. Downstairs is a sitting area, and upstairs a big bed, with spiral staircase. A pleasant surprise. Bathroom is spotless and elegantly remodeled. The bed is comfortable, with duvet comforter and nice linen. Just don't know why they put 9 pillows on it. The room is facing the main street, but seems quite sound proof. I had no problem with the noise.

-Not all staff can speak English. The manager on duty did, and he's very helpful and friendly. You can also book the butterfly excursion through the hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Morelia.

Room Tip: The loft on the 2nd floor is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cissy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loreto, Baja California Sur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

we made online reservations for this hotel and were not disappointed - price, location and the hotel did not let us down! Beautiful old stone mansion converted into a stylish hotel. All modern amenities, nice bathrooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rentals-Loreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Great location in downtown Morelia, at walking distance from almost everything.

The hotel is nicely decorated although in some aspects not so functional, more for couples than for business. It was also quite hot when we slept there, and the location of the air conditioning machine was not the best (almost pointing at the bed), so it took us a while to set it up properly so we could sleep fine.

Otherwise the bed was super big and very comfortable, and we didn't have any problems with street noise during the night. There was some loud music coming from some nearby place during the day, though, but it didn't affect our sleep at all.

The staff was also polite and everything went fine with them.

Summarizing: great location, nicely decorated (it looks quite luxurious), decent price and -minor nuisances aside- good overall experience. There are probably better places in town but I also wouldn't mind repeating this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GammaCentauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed one night in October '12. The rooms are decent enough with high ceilings and big plush beds (the kind that come with a silly amount of cushions and pillows). There is air-conditioning, wifi and cable although the channel availability isn't great, and the cafe in the courtyard/lobby seemed fine although breakfast is not included and Vips (American style diner) is right next door.
Unfortunately the valet parking is not great, as such unloading bags was stressful and someone left the radio in my car on meaning the battery drained in the night and then wouldn't start in the morning- I got charged for someone to give it a cable start and we were delayed about an hour- not great.
The staff were also fairly attentive but not exactly bending over backwards to help.
In all it was just ok, reasonably priced and right next to the Cathedral, but nothing special.

Room Tip: I wouldn't say in a room facing the main road due to traffic noise, the others are ok though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelmurphy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We moved from the Turotel, which I would rate as excellent, only because we wanted to be close enough to walk to all of the historic places. We looked at the rooms in a number of hotels near the cathedral, and they were drab and over-priced, but as soon as we saw the rooms in Mansion Real, we took them - they had the wow factor - modern bathrooms, flat-screen t.v.s, a spiral staircase to a loft bed, also with a flat screen t.v, and 20-foot tall french doors. The walk-in price was higher than the advertised internet price, as we chose a suite at the rear of the hotel so that we wouldn't have the noise of the traffic on the main street. We paid approx $80 for each room, which did not include breakfast - the only let-down. This hotel won't work so well for older people, as it has a lot of stairs - a huge, grand staircase to the rooms, and then, if you get a suite, there is the spiral staircase to get to the bed, with the bathroom being downstairs off the sitting area. We loved the location, just a couple of minutes to the cathedral, and it was quiet because we were not facing the main street. On Sunday evening, we were thrilled to watch a free Mexican folk dance performance in the park beside the cathedral - a colorful and exciting highlight of our trip. The hotel has a restaurant, and I enjoyed a huge cappucino for 25 pesos. They also have other meal specials, but we chose to eat at one of several vegetarian restaurants we found close by. One word of caution: when we checked out, a hotel employee took our suitcases to a cab, and put them in the trunk before we even had a chance to establish the price of the trip to the bus station for our trip to San Miguel de Allende. We were charged 100 pesos to the bus terminal, which was a significant overcharge. So hold on to your bags, and call your own cab so you can establish a price BEFORE your bags are inside the cab.

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars extra and get a quiet room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

If you want to get the best of your time in Morelia, try to stay in the historic downtown. There are many options and we wanted to try this nice hotel just a couple of blocks from the Cathedral. We were very surprised to find a very comfortable hotel, with great rooms with cozy furniture and a superior service. Free parking is a great plus. You can awl from there to all sorts of interesting places to visit. I recommend this hotel very, very much. Our rooms faced the main street and noise from outside might be a concern for some people. Despite of that, we enjoyed our rest and left with this great feeling of wanting to come back very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room available as there are some rooms that are very, very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepearias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Juaninos
Los Juaninos
#12 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#10 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mision Catedral Morelia
Mision Catedral Morelia
#22 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gertrudis
Hotel Gertrudis
#19 of 67 in Morelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
#5 of 67 in Morelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosting House Congreso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosting House Congreso

Property: Hosting House Congreso
Address: Avenida Francisco i. Madero Oriente 94 | Centro Histórico, Morelia 58000, Mexico (Formerly Mansion Real Morelia Hotel & Suites)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosting House Congreso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star colonial was originally the Episcopal Palace of the Bishop-Virrey Don Juan de Ortega y Montanez, then donated to the Order of Friars Juaninos, the building was converted into a hotel in the late 1800s. Guest rooms are designed in a colonial and modern style and are equipped with plasma screens; A/C; electronic safe and most have a balcony. Features: restaurant; service cafeteria; bar; meeting room; free parking near hotel and Valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hosting House Congreso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing