We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location was great...nothing else was!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Express Morelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Express Morelia
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Dubai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Location was great...nothing else was!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel is very basic. We had a room on the ground floor which was basically a horribly windy hallway. I have never stayed in a hotel room without a window before and I have to say, I'd rather not repeat the experience! It felt very claustrophobic. The walls are obviously very thin as we could hear every single word people said walking down the hallway past our room. The beds and pillows were "Mexican hard" and pretty uncomfortable. Breakfast was really basic, just toast and some fruit.

The reason to stay here is the location. It is right on the Main Street opposite the town square with the gazebo and cathedral which are beautiful. There are lots of restaurants in the area within walking distance. But if possible, stay somewhere else in the same area as this hotel is not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelchickuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaMorelia, Gerente at City Express Morelia, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios, le queremos invitar para que regrese nuevamente a la Ciudad disfrute de la Iluminacion de la Catedral los sabados con juegos pirotécnicos y conozca nuestra nuevas instalaciones y desayuno caliente, Morelia le espera con los brazos abiertos!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    40
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
27
25
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

My guidebook (thank you Lonely Planet) didn't indicate that this had long since joined a chain and described this as the city's 'best midrange hotel' - they were wrong! The hotel isn't 'high design' or even minimalist - it is bare. All that said, I had a view of the main plaza & cathedral and the room was clean.

The entrance/lobby is not conducive to a good experience and the staff weren't the most helpful I met in my 5 week stay in Mexico. I ought to have booked-in next door (and will do so next time).

I didn't take advantage of the much-maligned (on this site) hotel breakfast, so can't comment. Had breakfast at Restaurant Lu next door - most enjoyable.

Room Tip: With a view of the plaza/cathedral (if you can't find another hotel with an equal view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is obviously a budget hotel, but we didn't expect to get a room with no windows! Actually, there was a small strip of glass about 6 inches wide at the very top of the ceiling, but that was it. The room smelled musty, probably because no air ever gets in to it. It's located well, opposite the cathedral and gardens, but that is its only advantage. The breakfast was also poor, coffee from a vending machine and bread wrapped in plastic to toast yourself, along with a few pieces of fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has a balcony overlooking the cathedral and gardens. Otherwise, expect no windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caz1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

This hotel really only shows the best in the photos, Something that you will not get.

Our room was small, without an opening window, which seemed to give to some sort of interior patio. Room was smelly of humid and something else, and dark. Shower was ok, but the washing sink was inside the room, in a tiny space making washing difficult job to get over with.

Corridors were long and plain, and very noisy. All noices were magnified and could disturb one´s sleep easily.

breakfast was very plain and in dark corner in the corridor not facilitating many persons at one time.

Whay was the worst was that veen that Mexicans generally speaking are lovely people and accomodating, this hotel seems to have employed the worst of the kind. Reception staff seemed rather unwilling to hep us to get the room and gave impression that she would have been happier seeing us to walk away rather than stay. She even took a phone call in between one of our questions when checking in.

This hotel duly is a "budget" hotel quality, hoever the price does not reflect this and becomes an expensive stay with sour taste. If you know RyanAir from Ireland, this is something similar in Quality.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EcofriendlyHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

Formerly the Hotel Vallodolid, thiis is now a CityExpress hotel, sort of a Mexican Motel 6 with an attitude. The rooms seem to be clean although very small and sparsely furnished. The former hotel lobby has been rented to a fast food operator; the reception area is now a long, skinny room, containing a small registration desk, that was probably intended to be a baggage room. For some reason the management thinks that this facility is worth about 25% more than the very nice Best Western Hotel Casino located next door.

Words cannot express how happy we were that they had also lost our reservation. The staff at the reception desk didn't seem very disappointed either.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_happy_traveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Actually, there no longer is a Hotel Vallodolid in Morelia. It is now a CityExpress hotel, sort of a Mexican Motel 6 with an attitude. The rooms seem to be clean although very small and sparsely furnished. The former hotel lobby has been rented to a fast food operator; the reception area is now a long, skinny room, containing a small registration desk, that was probably intended to be a baggage room. For some reason the management thinks that this facility is worth about 25% more than the very nice Best Western Hotel Casino located next door.

Words cannot express how happy we were that they had also lost our reservation. The staff at the reception desk didn't seem very disappointed either.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_happy_traveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chihuahua, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

Despite of what I read here, I decided to stay at the City Express Morelia (Hotel Valladolid). It is now part of a small mexican chain, of budget priced bussiness hotels, so I had no great expectations. Check-in was fast and the guy at the register was very friendly and corteous. They had my reservation, so I lost no time. They told me the hotel has no parking (as it is very common in Morelia) but they have an arrangement with a nearby parking, for just 50 pesos a night (10 pesos less than the regular rate), which I think is a good bargain. As I read here, I asked for a room with a balcony. It was located on the 3rd floor. There are just a few rooms per floor and there is a very nice living room just after the elevator. Room is, as I imagined, small and "minimalist" (or should I say, monacal?), but well appointed: clean, nice, WITH A CEILING FAN AND ALSO A MINISPLIT UNIT. View was spectacular!!!! And, as for the bathroom, besides being a little bit too small, it had everything one can need, except a hair dryer (which I don't use, by the way). Hot water was HOT and they have new showers with a very good pressure. They also have free internet and some tables and chairs at the "portales" which is also very nice.
Mine was a good experience, though, and I'm lookin forward to stay here. I knoe there are better hotel rooms in Morelia, but not with this view ans at this price. By the way, the only noise I heard came from the adjacent plaza, with music 24/7, which is a nice noise, too.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contrerasfmario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casino Morelia
Hotel Casino Morelia
#7 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#8 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 67 in Morelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
#6 of 67 in Morelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gran Hotel Morelia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Express Morelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express Morelia

Property: City Express Morelia
Address: Calle Hidalgo 245 | Col. Centro, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Express Morelia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic downtown of Morelia for either business travelers or vacationers we count on 60 standard rooms with courtesy breakfast, air conditioning as well as heater, emergency fire system and in house power generator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your City Express Morelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing