We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Montana Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Montana Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Best placed I have stayed at in Mexico. The service, setting, suite generosity and layout, gardens and views were divine. My only recommendation would be better or brighter lighting in the rooms. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good but ask for better lighting if it is too dull. Also request help with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelandwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    26
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
45
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

By far the best hotel I've stayed at in Mexico. I really enjoyed my stay in Morelia on business and I want to return to this wonderful hotel with my wife. The setting is magical with spectacular views of the city from each of the spacious rooms. The hotel is beautifully landscaped and has antique stone sculptures incorporated into the lovely terraces and courtyards. The food was delicious and the views are incredible from the excellent dining room. I felt very secure and safe during my whole visit to Morelia and the staff and service at the Villa Montana are first rate.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvaGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, n.y
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

While my husband and I were returning to Mexico, we were not willing to stay right in town. I enjoyed the hotel despite the weather of continual rain. The staff at the hotel was
varied between extraordinary helpfulness and a bit disorganized. The whole time I found the staff to try very hard to please us.
We loved the room with it's beautiful decor and fireplace.The flat screened T.V. didn't hurt. I enjoyed their heated pool which I used in between rain storms. I would go back.

Room Tip: Each room is different and we were able to get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myrabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

This is an unusual hotel
It is located a little outside Morelia on the hills and it has the feeling of the summer Palacio
The rooms are incredibly beautiful and each has provided hospitality to the most important people of Mexico and abroad
You feel the importance of the place as you walk around
Staff is knowledgeable, discreet and welcoming
There is a nice swimming pool and the gardens are great

The spa is nice too with a great lady who does fantastic massage

thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Morelia is a beautiful place and this hotel just makes it all the more enjoyable. The staff was helpful and more than accommodating, the grounds are worth exploring and very peaceful, and the view from the terrace takes in the entire city of Morelia, and at night, when the 20 churches in the town are all lighted, the vista is outstanding. Beautiful Mexican tiles in the bathroom, massive beams in the ceiling and comfortable sitting areas, (plus all the amenities of modern life) make this a really excellent value. We ate at the restaurant two nights, but made the mistake of going elsewhere on the third night. The arrabbiata was to die for, and, if you've never tried beef tongue, this is the place to do it: delicious, and not the least bit scary-looking,
We hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SORBA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed for a few days in this outstanding place. It is like a different home away from home.The whole atmosphere is relaxed and absolutely great.Food is excellent, staff very courteous and friendly, not overrun and bustling,very quiet and clean, definitely nothing for the plastic and stainless steel fan.
For the gentleman who got "robbed" : You must be a absolute numbskull if someone is able to haul $ 10,000 of equipment off and you are less than 20 feet away.And for the swimming pool man: Show more respect to others,this it's a restaurant not a beach cabana.Enjoy all the food and drinks you like served directly at the pool.
We will stay here for the next time.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanDiegoCopperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

This hotel is like a little world of its own. There are many paved walkways and gardens between individual rooms so it feels very private. We and friends were in rooms 123 and 124 which are next to each other and have a little paved terrace type area overlooking the pool. It was very nice and quiet. They do an excellent weekend breakfast buffet with Western hot and cold breakfast foods (eggs cooked to order etc) and also a wide variety of warm Mexican dishes. The place is very upmarket and accordingly very quiet (ie not packed with guests). There is a fabulous open terrace overlooking the lights of the old town centre where we had margueritas. The only downside is that because the restaurant is open to the public and is very posh, they look a bit snooty when you walk up in your casual gear from the pool and order drinks, because you are sort of walking into the middle of a fairly formal setting. Beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are nice,our ones had tubs and Neutrogena toilettries. I'd recommend it to people who need a spa break or some real 'get away from it all' breaks, but actually i felt very removed from the real Morelia which is so charming and delightful i would have liked to have stayed in the historic centre.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cristinahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morelia hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 67 in Morelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
3.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon Morelia
Hotel Horizon Morelia
#3 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#8 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gran Hotel Morelia
1.6 mi away
Hotel Casino Morelia
Hotel Casino Morelia
#7 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montana Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montana Hotel & Spa

Property: Villa Montana Hotel & Spa
Address: Patzimba 201 | Colonia Vista Bella, Morelia 58090, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Montana Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Villa Montana Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Montana Hotel Morelia
Montana Hotel Morelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing