We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent starting point in Morelia - Great location, beautiful patio, good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de la Soledad
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“An excellent starting point in Morelia - Great location, beautiful patio, good rooms”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Walking distance from anything you would ever wish to see in old Morelia.
A beautful patio - lush nice plant and flower arrangements, very nice original fountain in the centre.
Makes you feel as much in colonial Mexico as it can get.
Breakfast is good and staff are very friendly.

Rooms adequate to very nice, though the bathroom a bit below standard (there could be more electric outlets in the room and bathroom), very small shower cabin. Good bed.
Double glazing windows reduces street noise considerably, though some is still audible.
Excellent price to quality ratio.

The fireplaces are now a mere decoration as open fires are no longer allowed downtown (hotels on the hill a bit removed from downtown might still have them, though, it that is what you are looking for).

If you come by car: the hotel has a valet parking service; it can take ca 10 minutes until they get your car from the hotel's garage, but that is perfectly OK.

Room Tip: Parts of the hotel are currently being refurbished. Some rooms may look better, have been slighty m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    79
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
84
118
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I loved this hotel: the ambience, the architecture, the room, the amenities, the service, the food. Beauty and craftsmanship was on display in every corner. I would not stay anywhere else in Morelia and I would go out of my way to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a newly renovated section furthest from the entrance on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixtapa, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was not our first time at Hotel de la Soledad, we loved last time and even more this time. The hotel is undergoing renovations but we see and hear nothing. We had a newly renovated beautiful room on the main floor, one of the most comfortable in the world. Other than that, the locatiion is perfect, the staff highly professional and the food exquisite. Morelia is lovely city and Hotel de la Soledad a destination in itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbird054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Pricey hotel in beautiful building with great location. The staff are friendly and professional. I suggest going for a drink or dinner. The courtyard music went late into the night and then started again at 8am - and we heard it all from our room. No fans or air circulation, so temperature was warm and damp with no window. For the price, not an enjoyable night of sleep.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank N0pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I was really impressed by this hotel and of all the places I stayed in in Mexico this was my favourite. The hotel has a beautiful open air courtyard which is where we had our breakfast each morning. The standard of breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit, fresh bread, pastries and different styles of eggs. Staff were very helpful and service was prompt. The rooms are not overly spacious but they extremely comfortable, you could just sink into the bed every evening. The bathroom was spotless and modern with rain head shower. I also loved the toiletries! (Not an essential part of a stay, but they were still worth mentioning!) A big plus for La Soledad is the location, it's right in the city centre. A fabulous place to stay, couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deehurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Hotel de la Soledad is loacted just a block from the main plaza in Morelia. The new section of the hotel is very comfortable and exquisitely designed. The main garden, which includes the restaurant and bar, is a quiet respite from the city. The service is excellent and the price reasonable.

Room Tip: The new (rear) section of the hotel is beautiful. Even though our room faced the street in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is a charming oasis in the center of the city. Located just 1/2 block off from the cathedral and Saturday night fireworks, Hotel de la Soledad was conveniently located for the attractions that we wanted to take in on this trip to Morelia.

Unfortunately for me I had gotten a 24 hour stomach bug and was not able to get out and about, but had lots of time in the room. The king sized bed was so comfortable with high quality (ironed) bed linens from where I watched an english-speaking movie channel. Not exactly what I wanted to do while I was there, but I couldn't have been more comfortable than if I was at home.

As other reviews have mentioned, one of the great features of the hotel is the beautiful courtyard which turns the place into a quaint oasis to eat in the restaurant, sit down and read a book, or just enjoy the garden.

The hotel staff were so attentive and helpful with many suggestions of what to do. My husband and friends went out for a beautiful dinner and we all watched the 9:00 pm firework show that take place every Saturday night.

My only regret is that we only got to spend one night here. But we will definitely be returning and staying at Hotel de la Soledad again. Have already recommended it to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davecV9189TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.0 mi away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#9 of 65 in Morelia
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Montana Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casino Morelia
Hotel Casino Morelia
#8 of 65 in Morelia
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Soledad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Soledad

Property: Hotel de la Soledad
Address: Calle Ignacio Zaragoza No. 90, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Morelia
#1 Family Hotel in Morelia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morelia
#3 Business Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Soledad 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XVII century colonial building decorated with a vast collection of works of art, paintings and furniture and antiguos.Modernas Charming rooms furnished with fine marble details, onyx, wood and quarry, retaining its essence colonial.Galardonado I have one of the colonial patios most beautiful of the former Valladolid. Located in the heart of the historic center of Morelia, near the most representative attractions of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Soledad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Soledad Morelia
De La Soledad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing