We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de la Soledad
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Meson de los Remedios(Morelia)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Gran Hotel Morelia(Morelia)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$186
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Juaninos(Morelia)
US$95
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estefania(Morelia)(Great Value!)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portico(Morelia)
US$46
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
274
84
17
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
84
17
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotellovely courtyardromantic settingblown glassincredible experiencecommon areas arebirds singingevery cornerinner courtyardthe main squarehotel offershistoric citystreet sidestreet noisecomfortable bedsstone wallsamerican breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had stayed at the La Soledad a few years ago and it was a nice, very well located hotel and a wonderful, colonial and historic city.
They since started renovating the hotel. We stayed in the renovated rooms, which are beautifully done. I believe it is well on its way to being a deluxe hotel.
We were 3 adults and were given a very spacious room with 2 queen beds. the wall above was beautifully done with light to enhance it.
The bathroom was very modern with a slanted sink of light cream colored onyx which could be lit.
I highly recommend it. It is 1/2 block from the main street and the Cathedral.

Room Tip: believe rooms in the back are nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calicantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I last stayed in the Hotel de la Soledad in 2007 and it wasn't a very pleasant experience. In the ensuing 6 years ownership and management of the hotel has changed and some serious, and much needed, renovations have been completed. All I can say is WOW, what a major change, all of it good.

The rooms have been upgraded and modernized and are bright, clean and most of all comfortable. Bathrooms received total overhauls and now feature beautiful stone work, rain shower heads, wall mounted double sided mirrors that light, and lots of room. The beds are cozy and certainly conducive to a good night sleep; a major departure from some of the rock hard mattresses found all over Mexico. The new beds at the Soledad are made up in what appear to be high-count bed linens and sport an abundance of pillows in various sizes, shapes and firmnesses.

Service at all levels was outstanding. It really seemed all the staff were working together as a team to ensure that guests had to best experience possible. The public areas have all seen substantial renovation and the staff did everything they could to help guest enjoy them, whether it be at the morning breakfast buffet or providing refreshments to beat the afternoon heat. If it's an issue, there are enough people on the staff with English skills so that any problems can be easily and quickly resolved if necessary

On a recent trip with friends I had not been looking forward to staying at the Soledad. So glad I let my friends overrule my concerns as this turned out to be a real gem. The only reason I didn't give it a "5" is because some of the interior rooms tend to be quite small, and the outside rooms that border the street tend to be noisy. There isn't much the owners can do about either of those 2 situations, but they can detract from the overall quality of the stay, especially the street noise.

The Soledad is centrally located and within walking distance of most major attractions tourists want to visit. The new ownership and massive renovations make it the best and most logical place to stay. It's a charming, lovely and very well run hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiningDiva619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The walls are thick the feeling is old Mexico and it is close to everything. We had a great stay and would certainly return for another visit. It is a very short wealk to the cathedral and you can see the church from the second flootr and quite nice at night when being lit or already lighted. There is a very nice area for drinks or casual conversation in the courtyard. The staff was very helpful in making arrangements for adventures.

Room Tip: 210 is avery nice king bed and a small sitting room. We were very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigstitchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We loved the Hotel de la Soledad... It has a very unassuming street facade but you step through the entry way - filled with lovely glass work - into a courtyard filled with trees and statuary and birds. The rooms are built around the courtyard. It is delightful.
We were travelling with our daughter and her beau. Originally we were booked into the older rooms. They were lovely, quaint, clean and really very charming. However, ours was a corner room on the main floor. Very noisy. So we opted for one of the more expensive but recently renovated rooms at the back of the hotel. That bathroom was like a fairy land... And although we didn't really spend a lot of time in the room it was worth the upgrade.
The hotel is in a perfect location for walking to local museums and restaurants. The desk will give you directions to the tourist information booth around the corner and they in turn will give you a map with all the historic sites clearly marked.
The staff was great. Thank you Julio for all your efforts in having my phone returned to me. I was lost without it.

Room Tip: Room 114 on the main floor is a corner and very noisy. We opted out for one of the more expensive but very lovely rooms at the back of the hotel. Make sure to ask for a room with a window!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraveljaneAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

this cute hote has wonderfully finished rooms. This is a historic building 1 block from the Catherdral and the centre of historic Morelia. A very good and caring staff. Breakfast included is of good value. We took a side trip to the Monarchs and the tour the hotel uses is the same as that advised in Trip Advisor. We had booked online ourselves and it was a very well organised outing. - beware it is 3 hrs travel each way to the sanctuary and lots of " topes" on the way. We had a junior suite - loved the decor. I would concur with all the positive reviews so far

Room Tip: book a cheaper room then the reception staff will show you the available rooms and offer an upgrade for much less than we would have paid thru expedia.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadowManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews