We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous and pricey”

Ranked #10 of 43 things to do in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cultural center is a gathering place for artists and musicians and offers a variety of classes.
Erongarícuaro, Michoacán, Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous and pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

I love this place. It is like a museum that holds a collection of the best of the best Michoacán has to offer in the way of artesanias. But do not expect to get a bargain. Pay what they ask and take home the real thing. Or do like I do, and just look and enjoy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chazdews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to learn.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

At the Casa de Cultura you can learn to dance, play guitar, play the piano, paint, draw, or learn several other instruments. My girlfriend is currently taking drawing classes with Maestro - Prado Velazquez.
She is having a wonderful time and I am so amazed and impressed with the multitude of children and adults who come there to learn and improve on their talents.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdublu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto vallarta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful display of native crafts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

the display of native crafts during th fesitval week wa amazing..........our only wish was that we had gone right when it opened as so much had already been sold.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank enriqueanddomingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012


An amazing display of the works of artisans from the region, including the unique handmade ceramic pineapples of many different designs and colours.
The clay is extracted by hand near the villages of San José de Gracia and Patamban, the only places in the world where these pineapples are made. We loved so many of them - but could only bring home one in our luggage!
Upstairs are many shops with items fro sale, including glassware, jewellry, guitars, etc.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank BC_HowLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a real showcase of art and artisans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

this place is endless, every corner you turn has wonderful surprises in store. There is so much to look at from some of the most talented artists and artisans in the country. Upstairs are shops also that you can purchase items from all the surrounding towns that specialize in their own arts such as pottery, weaving, Catrina dolls....a MUST see!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cultural House (Casa de Cultura) also viewed

 

Been to The Cultural House (Casa de Cultura)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing