We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable - no frills”

Hotel Refugio Agustino
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Refugio Agustino
Ranked #30 of 49 Morelia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2014

HOTEL INFO:This hotel is clean and comfortable - it will meet your basic needs to rest before going out to explore the beautiful city. Nothing fancy, but nice. Hot coffee available in the morning near the reception area.

ROOM CHOICE: However, not all rooms are created equal. Ours (#7) was in the back and up the stairs with a nice sitting area and relatively comfortable bed. We had hot showers in the morning. The kitchenette has a microwave, but no fridge. Our friends stayed in a different room on the second floor and couldn't get hot water in the morning. So ask for the best available room at the time of your reservation.

SHOPPING: While in Morelia, don't miss the opportunity to go to Quiroga - a quaint town with several streets filled with amazingly inexpensive crafts (especially wood and leather products).

DINING: Meson Agustinos is a great restaurant just behind the main cathedral. Delicious breakfast, yummy hot chocolate and beautiful ambience at a very reasonable price. (A similar breakfast on the main square was almost twice as much.) Try the Huevos Agustinos or Enchiladas Agustinos which both include delicious, spicy, shredded chicken.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky-2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

There has already been so much said in the other reviews, I won't be wordy. I was reserved in a larger room at the back, #7, but was happily accomodated when I requested being moved to another available room. I selected Room 1 right at the front and corner of the building. I'm a city person and live in a loft in San Francisco, so I was very much at home in that unit, and very pleased. I enjoyed it all; the simple breakfast each morning brought to me, the location being close to the Zocolo, but not on it, and being in such an interesting old colonial building (and I am not a particular fan of colonial Mexico). I stayed at the Alameda, right on the Zocolo, 2 years ago, and was not as pleased. I like my independence, and I don't desire servants running around me constantly, to serve. Also, Bannessa couldn't be sweeter. God willing, if I return to visit Morelia again, I have a home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The personnel here are very nice and do their best to make you feel welcome and your visit a pleasant one. Our unit was clean and the king size bed was comfortable and it is only a short walk to the zocalo. This could be a pleasant place to stay for some folks..

The two (2) street front units and baths are adequate, but small and a bit claustrophobic, and although there are quiet periods, the street noise is overwhelming, both night and day. Neither
is inviting for seniors because of the stairs up to or inside the units. One is cute, with the bath and a small dining table and sink downstairs and bed upstairs, but the stairs down to the bath from the upstairs bedroom could be treacherous at night. The only windows are right on the street.

The other unit, where we stayed, is a narrow room up a steep and narrow flight of stairs and windows that open to the pleasant courtyard and reception area below where the help talked and watched TV until late. The bath has a small window also that opens toward the street. We were unable to determine how to operate the miniature wall TV, no instructions were given and it was too late to want to deal with it. The cables and the receiver hung from the wall unit in mid air unless placed on the window sill or a stool. Although the windows were open all night, the room remained warm and stuffy, and with the windows closed it was worse. There is a small fan, however.

We looked at another downstairs unit with a small patio that was unavailable, but off the street and appeared to be very nice and a much better choice.. There was also another interior door downstairs and another flight of stairs, either of which could lead to other interior units. The entire space is not very large.

Day parking is on the street, if a space is available, and in a garage across the street at night free of charge, but, the car must be out by 9:00 AM or a fee is required. We took everything out of our car and left it on the street with no problem.

There is no breakfast, although I believe that it is planned eventually. They are apparently still working on the conversion of this space to a fully operable B&B, but they are not there yet.

If you don't mind putting up with the street noise and buying your own breakfast, this little hotel
is worth considering. We would consider giving it another try, but only for a interior unit downstairs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racnron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We recently stayed three nights in the Hotel Refugio Agustino. We chose Habitacíon # 7, a “suite”, renting for $550 pesos at this date (considering that it’s the season of Day of the Dead, I consider it a good value.) There's a pleasant, covered patio seating area near the reception desk just after you enter.

The Hotel is a converted Spanish Colonial building, with considerable charm. It’s very nice but there were a few small flaws. There are modest but charming Colonial decor touches throughout: wooden beams, brick ceilings, walls of cantera stone, and brick arches. All in good taste, without being overwhelming. Our room was a “suite” consisting of an ample bedroom with a king bed, a very long, well made dresser, about 3 meters in length, better than average lighting and ample wall switches; a small “kitchenette” area with a stainless steel sink and drainboard, a microwave oven and a small cupboard; a tiny breakfast table and kitchen stools. There were no refrigerator nor any drinking vessels or dishes, other than a couple of glasses. I think that if we had requested them they would have been freely loaned. We had ample closets and storage space although the closets are peculiar in that the hanger rods are at right angles to the usual rule.

The bed linens are above average in quality and we slept comfortably. There is some ambient noise through the patio doors, but it wasn’t bad, and after all, noise is almost inescapable in Mexican cities.

The bathroom is small but adequate, with a modern flush toilet and lavabo. There were a couple of minor deficiencies: the vertical stainless steel pipe of the lavabo is not mounted firmly and wobbles a lot when touched. Another, minor detail is that the towel hook above the sink swivels as it was not firmly fixed in place. Not a big problem though. The attractive shower is just off from the toilet area, in an unroofed stall under a translucent skylight. The tiled walls and floor are new and very clean. The hot water took about 1 minute to arrive, but when it did, it was forceful and plentiful. In fact, the shower, along with the comfortable king sized bed are among the highlights of suite #7.

A really nice feature to Suite # 7 is the small, private patio, accessed by attractive wooden sliding doors. There’s a small table and a couple of chairs. It would be a nice place for breakfast or afternoon drinks. (You can also dry your socks and undies out there by draping them over the patio furniture.) You’ll have to bring in your own food, as there’s no food service in the hotel. But there are many food establishments nearby, including a juice and quesadillas stand next door, an afternoon and night taquería across the street, and on the corner of Calle Abasolo, a Happy Go convenience store.

However, considering the large and uninsulated expanse of the sliding wood and glass doors accessing the private patio, I would not want to have this suite in the dead of winter.

For me, the big flaw in an otherwise lovely small hotel was the lack of Internet connectivity. Wireless Internet is advertised as being available in the lobby area. However, when I was given the password and I tried to enter it in my mobile device, it wouldn’t connect. After some time, Banessa, the friendly receptionist, told me that the router was broken, in fact, “burned out”. At some inconvenience, I had to go to other wifi hotspots to do my Internet tasks.

The standard rooms are compact but appear more than adequate. They are arranged for the most part on two levels, a small sitting room and kitchenette below and a bedroom loft above, accessed by broad wooden steps. The first standard room I looked at seemed to have little headroom in the sleeping loft. When I stopped by in August for a quick look at the hotel, the upper loft level was a little stuffy.

I would not choose a room that faced the street, because of the probable noise.

The standard rooms are priced at this time at $500 MXN and the suites at $550. Normally, the rate for our room was $500, but it had been raised slightly for the Día de Los Muertos holiday period. Not so bad, considering what the rate could have been.

Overall, the Hotel Refugio Agustino is excellent value in a three star, moderately priced hotel. I would have given it an Excellent value rating were it not for the Internet issue, which I would hope would soon be solved.

The location is about 2 blocks down from the main plaza. I would stay there again if I needed lodging in Morelia Centro.

Room Tip: Suite # 7 is on the ground floor and further back from street noise. Rooms facing the street will t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prefieran las habitaciones que no están del lado de la calle, el ruido de la gente afuera puede ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arkicin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 67 in Morelia
378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Gran Hotel Morelia
0.6 mi away
Casa Castillo
Casa Castillo
#20 of 49 in Morelia
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Only Backpackers Morelia
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morelia
0.9 mi away
Hotel Estefania
Hotel Estefania
#50 of 67 in Morelia
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Refugio Agustino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Refugio Agustino

Address: Calle Aldama 277 | Colonia Centro, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morelia
Price Range: £29 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Refugio Agustino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Refugio Agustino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing